Lotus Evora ‘Sports Racer’ – kitting it up

lotus-evora-sports-racer-edition-1

Lotus has come up with a new Evora variant called ‘Sports Racer,’ and this one dresses up the mid-engined 3.5 litre V6 vehicle in a unique exterior colour scheme and optimised matching interior. The car also comes as standard fully loaded in terms of specification.

Four colours are on the palette, these being Aspen White, Carbon Grey, Nightfall Blue and Ardent Red. Contrasting accents of gloss black feature strongly, seen across the roof, front splitter, rear diffuser and side sills.

Further black elements include black rear badging, black door mirror pods and gloss black forged wheels with a choice of either red or black brake calipers help give the ‘Sports Racer’ a more dramatic look.

Inside, the 2+2 seating option is standard, as are gunmetal dashboard panels. Elsewhere, the black leather ‘Premium Sports’ seats are trimmed with red contrast piping and stitching, with Venom Red leather with black contrast piping and stitching available as an option. As for the dash, doors and centre console, these reveive a liberal dose of Slate Grey SuedeTex with red contrast stitching.

Meanwhile, the kit bag features a host of optional extras as standard. Heading the list is the ‘Sports Pack,’ which provides switchable sports mode with sharper throttle response, increased rpm limit and sportier setting for Dynamic Performance Management (DPM), as well as a sports diffuser and cross-drilled brake discs.

There’s also the ‘Tech Pack,’ which incoroporates upgraded speakers and stereo system, DVD player, seven-inch WVGA touchscreen display, USB and Bluetooth connectivity, a tyre pressure monitoring system, cruise control and rear parking sensors. Rounding things off are electric power-fold mirrors and a reverse camera.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why there is no Lotus official dealer in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • lotus is sold by proton…official showroom in proton excellence centre…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • blackbox on Dec 20, 2012 at 10:16 pm

There is. Just go to Proton HQ beside Kesas highway, there they showing all the lotus cars. In fact, the new showroom around 1 utama is going to ready soon.

• unforgiven on Dec 21, 2012 at 1:01 am

Why wanna talk about Proton? Proton is just like selling drugs/ganja to the people, doing illegal business. It’s not a clean business if you know the people behind it, unfair competition, corruption, protectionism, and many more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 74
  • Sam Loo on Dec 20, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Lotus is a dead company. Nobody even buys Lotus. The company might as well close down. We Malaysians are keeping a person in coma alive. Its time to pull the plug and let the patient die in peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 71
    • kenot la, then proton no more “engineered by lotus” anymore. although that’s plain bull shi*t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
    • Abraham Tawi on Dec 20, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Sorry, I beg to differ. Lotus maybe dying but certainly not dead as I have visited both their showrooms and servicing area. I was also invited to one of their track days at SIC. So yes, they are still operational.

However, it may not have a lot of market share compared to lets say Toyota or Honda but there are always still a customer base, large or small.

Regards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • MycarMylife on Dec 21, 2012 at 8:59 am

For every P1 car we My people buy we are dumping our Rm into Lotus to keep some one’s ego alive and a car we cannot afford in My , what freakin’ show and slaves All OF US.!! Merry Xmas ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Leonon on Dec 20, 2012 at 7:37 pm

I’m guessing you know not much about the company at all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • lotus is a very pure sports car that’s supposed to be affordable but due to tax structure here the cheapest elise is also 239k with special tax break. hopefully there’re plans to ckd or file as malaysian owned product and one day we might juz see an elise priced below 120k….one day….juz one maybe this wishful thinking wud be a wish come true…..i’d b the first to line up to sign the dotted line

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • Kalun on Dec 20, 2012 at 6:48 pm

The sport pack or aka Proton R3 satria neo.
    This is lame! But toyota engine that is car is using is not that impressive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • helang on Dec 20, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Haha, why dead? Even nismo doesnt have good instruments to tune r35 and turn to be a good handling sport car. Well, their expertise still a major contribution in automotive industry. Good sports car sometimes cannot be interpret into sales. Can anybody flicked profit of porsche from which source??? Of course lah from their suv

• Proud Malaysian on Dec 20, 2012 at 10:00 pm

wait for it…. Lotus Flagship is coming soon.. Ur wish is about to come true….. Voila!~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • why no one buy Lotus? is it very expensive???

• Hadi75 on Dec 22, 2012 at 3:11 am

Yes….in Boleh 1malaysia land it’s expensive……so is every other imported cars…..

• So this is the results from the billion “borrowed”

• gOOsh on Dec 20, 2012 at 10:42 pm

sape kata takde orang nak beli company lotus… kalau proton nak jual, dah lama orang beli larrr…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Expatriate VN on Dec 20, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Ya lorrr, I sudah tunggu cukup lama nak beli Lotus dengan harga GBP 1.00 termasuk itu Jaguh Kampung No. 2 dengan harga RM 1.00!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
  • Jimmy on Dec 20, 2012 at 10:43 pm

There are many good alternatives in Lotus price range.

• Fishbrain on Dec 20, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Wtf is wrong with you guys, this is a car review, and not one of you even comment about the car but about all the bs like you know so well how a car manufacturer like. So you know, f1 champions won with a lotus before.

For goodness sake, even you say the car is fugly, also not so bad…

In my opinion, it’s a great looking car.

Stfu guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
    • gen y on Dec 21, 2012 at 7:36 am

Well said. These idiots are here for the sole purpose of bashing. Nothing else. When people talk about car, they condemn the company, govt. Dumbos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Jebon on Dec 21, 2012 at 12:45 am

Lotus company as a whole is more than just a car. Even skyline r35 chassis was designed by lotus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • gOOsh on Dec 21, 2012 at 9:16 am

evora cantik arrr…

• black on Dec 21, 2012 at 4:38 pm

ya lor..like my friend at uni..but she already engage..i hope she choose a wrong guy, and suffer her entire life..nuff said.

• DewaSemut on Dec 21, 2012 at 10:16 am

Nice car… but still can’t wait to see upcoming all new Lotus Esprit… errr… is it coming? :P

• Abuya on Dec 21, 2012 at 10:37 am

This is not for ordinary people like us. And we wont buy it! Why discuss you like, dislike, put curse, add flavor, this and that.

• mozufa on Dec 21, 2012 at 11:02 am

Evora is good car…no enough money to buy it..
    hopefully Proton will build sports car same design as Evora and sell it at reasonable price to buy by smart guy.

• MatLimMutu on Dec 21, 2012 at 12:38 pm

3.5l engine, v6 and bla bla bla..lotus is so expensive, people cannot afford.. they shud hv like small engine, pasang it here, reduce the price.. design lotus is already superb.. for me lah.

• Bat-a-man on Dec 21, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Lotus Evora?? I thought it’s a Proton Exora….LOL.

Lousy name…change it lar, but the car design doesn’t looks attractive…very boring in fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • MeaSedis on Dec 21, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Sport+racer, what a name! Anyway instead of loading with stuffs such in the GTR for race/car telemetry, they put stuffs normally associated to city driving. Identity crisis Lotus?

• Azlanoh on Dec 22, 2012 at 9:01 am

Lotus must sell 1 million of Evora to settle the RM1 Billion hutang bank. Truth hurts.

• Cosmo Artemis on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:23 am

Are you on drug mate? Or just a simply moron?

RM1 bil divide by 1 million unit is 1000. That is a price of RM1,000 per unit of Evora. If you don’t know or just simply want to give ‘comment’, please do your homework.