Hyundai planning sedan based on i10 platform

i10za

Hyundai is planning a small sedan based on the next generation of its i10 city car (current-gen hatchback pictured). The Hurriyet Daily News reports that the car is set to be produced in Turkey, where the Korean carmaker is building a new R&D facility.

50,000 units of the second-gen i10 hatchback and sedan should start production at the Izmit factory by the end of the year. Hyundai is set to invest US$1.1 billion (RM3.35 billion) in the northwestern Turkish province of Izmit to turn it into a base for small car production. About 30% of the investment has been completed so far.

“We will begin to produce new and bigger versions of the i10, which will be set between the i10 and i20,” Hyundai Assan (JV between Hyundai and Turkey’s Kiblar Holding) chairman Umit Karaarsalan told the Hurriyet Daily News.

“As part of the same platform we can easily produce a sedan, so as soon as we release the other model we will begin to work on sedan production.”

The next-gen i10, according to various media reports, is set to debut at the Frankfurt motor show in September, with a range of petrol and diesel powerplants available. Indian Autos Blog says Hyundai is spending US$300 million on its Chennai factory to set up a flexible engine plant and a new press shop facility, most probably in preparation for i10 production.

The Izmit plant may look after demand from the European markets while the Chennai plant may produce for the Asia Pacific and African regions.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• _xXx_ on Jan 07, 2013 at 11:51 am

sam loo, show time…spit on the kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 7:14 pm

I always encourage more people to buy kimchis, coz the aftermarket trade is far more profitable

• Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 10:25 pm

ya right….i wanted to buy a 2nd hand i10 middle last year. a 2009 model was asking for 28k. No matter how much i bargain the used car dealer wouldn’t go lower than 27k saying it is still under warranty (5 yrs). The price was holding up pretty well. and not 50% drop a year like in your dreamland.

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 12:43 am

Trade in Price for kimchis is easily 30%-50% lower than selling price. Penetrate your dumb skull please

• Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 2:04 pm

You must look like water fish (sohai) that’s y ppl offer u 50% lower trade in than market when average it is 10%-15% only.

• Mat Global on Jan 07, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Hyundai i10 1.25 cvvt is the best city car right now.
    Good handling and comfort for a small run about car.
    I just add one to the family fleet of cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • iLoveFord on Jan 07, 2013 at 8:27 pm

My friend cousin’s 2 i10.. 1.1L..

both engine become so noisy after 2 years..@@

I wonder if it’s their driving problem style?

omg.. I dun even see any myvi with such issue even after 5 years.. …but that 2 i10 become like that..

• Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:37 pm

i10 2011 Model now can trade in for RM20k thereabouts

• aiyo, now oni wan to do to sedan…

• Mat Global on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Dun over underestimate.The old Hyundai Getz still fetch reasonable used values and quite popular among secondhand buyers.Though,lesser than the Jap.
    Hyundai i10 is well praised by ‘What Car’,Auto Car and Carbuyer of U.K.
    Locally,Autoworld,Live Life Drive, Car Guys and our Paul Tan,all give thumbs up A1 ratings.
    But the biggest tester is we the potential buyer if we want to buy the car.
    As always,you can choose to thumb down for my honest comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 10:33 pm

i agree…my cousin’s 2006 1.4M getz was traded in for RM24.5k last year when he upgraded to the elantra. He bought it brand new at only 50k 5 yrs ago. RV about the same as myvi. But the getz is much more solid and beautiful than fugly frog myvi. Much more fuel efficient too.

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 12:45 am

I am sure the dealer showed him the Hilux.

Too embarressed to tell you the truth. No used car biz owner will let you sell for that price.

• Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 4:28 pm

nope…i followed him there. The Sales manager just open the star newspaper and offer to trade in at 2k below market price subject to inspection. Not all dealers are scammers like your camry salesman that want to bcome overnight millionaire and chop ppl all the time.

• I bought my 2006 Getz 1.4(a) over a MYVI and have no regrets what so ever. Have been using the car till this very day and currently playing the role of a 2nd car in the family as a spare car. Completely reliable and refinement levels of this little car is way beyond my expectations and just love it’s point and squirt acceleration in city driving.
    Highly recommended for those looking for a solid and reliable ride with moderate budget.
    This car totally transform my views on Korean cars and I personally think that this was the ground breaking model that solidified Hyundai’s brand as a competitive and capable motorcar producer in international markets.
    Hyundai have not look back since and those consumers who are still living in the past will be missing out on these new wonderful innovative vehicles for the current times.
    These are just my humble and honest opinion. TQ

• Jilbaber on Jan 08, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Can’t imagine that rear round shape extended for boot space..it gonna be ugly like 207 (no offense)..unless whole body built from scratch

• Mat Global on Jan 08, 2013 at 6:29 pm

I don’t think it will look desireable in the form of sedan.Tell Hyundai to just stick to hatchback designs for all the i10 and i20’s (Getz new model).

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Tell Hyundai to learn from Toyota and Honda. Then maybe in 10 years time they will catch up

• Barry on Jan 28, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Wanna ask the owners of the i10, especially the one with the Kappa engine : what is the real fuel consumption of this car which I understand comes standard with an auto (4-speed?) gearbox? For mainly city driving, mixed (50-50) and long distance.