Citroen DS4 and DS5 set to debut next week

Citroen DS4

It’s confirmed – as speculated on Monday, Naza Euro Motors has announced that it will be unveiling the Citroen DS4 and DS5 in conjunction with the opening of its Citroen Glenmarie 3S facility next Tuesday.

The two Different Spirit models are the first Citroens to be introduced by NEM following its appointment as the official distributor for the brand here, and both vehicles will be petrol versions.

Citroen DS5

The DS5 variant arriving here will be a THP 156 version, the Prince 1.6 litre twin-scroll turbo mill offering the by-now familiar 156 hp and 240 Nm of torque, paired to a six-speed automatic transmission.

Meanwhile, the DS4 will also be a 1.6 litre job, with 163 hp and 240 Nm for output numbers, again with a six-speeder auto gearbox. As in the case of the 408 Turbo, the increased output is likely the result of a revised turbo, changes to the ECU mapping and reworked pistons in the EP6CDTM.

Both cars will be showcased at the exclusive DS Salon housed in the Citroen Glenmarie facility. We’ll have more on the cars on launch day.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nighttrain on Feb 20, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Eh? How come I’ve seen this DS4 months ago? Cherry red in Temerloh, and silver in Ampang.

• think of it as a relaunch of the model under a new distributor. most probably, the specs will be different too from the earlier version retailed by brooklands. launch day will answer the speculations on the spec of the cars.

• AVH® on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:46 am

Who is the distributor now for Citroen? It keeps changing every other year. This is the main reason why people don’t buy Citroen in Malaysia. There is no focus. The distributors are all bunch of clowns. Citroen is such a superb brand overseas. They need to come down to Malaysia and set up shop instead of getting all these crony companies to distribute for them. These companies don’t have the heart and soul to make the brand a success. The dealership is amongst, say, one of many businesses the crony has. So, he gives it very little attention. The attitude is this, “if fail, fail lah”. there is no heart and soul involved. The same with Fiat. What a wonderful and great brand but managed by people who don’t have the heart and sould to make the brand a success.

• kadajawi on Feb 21, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Brooklands was their distributor for 5 years or so. Sales were… not so good, and PSA thought “Well, Naza is doing a rather decent job with Peugeot, let them do that magic with Citroen too”. However if Naza really just wants to import the DS line of cars I expect them to do even worse than Brooklands.

We will see, hopefully Naza is smarter than that, and hopefully they’ll make use of Citroen and Peugeot being so similar under the hood. They could use the same 3S centres that already exist for Peugeot to do Citroen too… but of course they won’t, for reasons I don’t understand.

• kadajawi on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Wait a second, where did my reply go?

Brooklands was a distributor for Citroen for about 5 years, but they didn’t do well. PSA probably saw that Naza did a decent job, so they gave them the chance to sell Citroen too, perhaps in the hope that Naza makes use of the fact that Citroen and Peugeot are so similar underneath the bonnet. Apparently Naza doesn’t understand that though… otherwise they could use the same 3S centres for both brands.

• yep, i remember under the late Tan Sri Yahya things were looking up for the Citroen brand but since then it has been lukewarm, lets hope Naza can bring it up again.

• Maserati on Feb 20, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Rubbish car. Reviews are bad . And why would someone buy this ? Price is gonna be high too. So i cant see this selling decently

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 69
    • Petrolhead on Feb 20, 2013 at 10:53 pm

I guess your cup of tea would be the Preve hatchback, not too expensive and also will sell in a decent rate

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
    • Alpha on Feb 21, 2013 at 12:49 am

The reviews are bad?? If I’m not mistaken, many automotive reviewers love the DS-models. Even TopGear gave good reviews for them. The DS4 is a good alternative to the Mini and the DS5 is good enough to stand on its own again the competitors in the UK.

I’m a fan of Japanese cars namely Honda. But if a car is good, then it is good.

But I’d have to agree that it’d be hard to sell these French beauties due to Malaysians being more inclined to other brands.

I think the price of the DS5 will be something near the price of a VW CC, Volvo S60,entry level trims for C-Class, A4 and 3-er. Might be a wee bit lower if they want it to at least have a decent amount of sales.

• kadajawi on Feb 21, 2013 at 3:18 pm

The DS5 was reviewed to have a great design (yup) and a great, well built interior, even if space at the 2nd row is a bit bad (tall people will hit the roof). However the steering is said to be lifeless and detached from the road. Which would be perfectly fine and even good if the ride was typical of a big Citroen. Magic carpet ride. However it isn’t, it is on the back breaking side of things. As such it doesn’t make any sense at all, a car like this that focuses on luxury and comfort needs to have a comfortable suspension too.

Of course reviewers who think cornering at 200 km/h is the most important thing in the world won’t fault it, but in real life I don’t think that is so important. You wouldn’t think a Rolls Royce with the suspension of a go kart would be right either, right?

• there are people who dont want to be seen in the ugly same old shit boxes everyone drive,
      they want to be different, people who can appreciate art, the people who drives these things are ice cool.
      You want value for money? get a kancil, or walk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • maserati-the car is excellent-i bet you have never owned nor driven one before, let me guess, youre a Camry owner…

• encik boss on Feb 20, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Anyone know estimated price for both models?

• It’s a real shame our local diesel is still so low standard, if not they could bring in the 2.0 diesel-electric DS5 Hybrid4 here which will be qualified for the tax exemption.

I bet the DS5 will turn heads more than a ferrari. It just look so unconventional in a very cool and futuristic way!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • jackysiong on Feb 20, 2013 at 8:20 pm

When the citreon come to sarawak? How much for the DX5? Is DXS coming to m’sia?

• aiks…no ds3? ds3 was the popular one rite?

• intermilan on Feb 21, 2013 at 12:16 pm

i think they wont bring it (yet) as a CBU DS3 will not be price competitive. it will be a very hard sell compared to DS4 and DS5.

• Chris on Feb 20, 2013 at 11:15 pm

I’m so fond to have chosen DS4 as my dream car !! got this “French Beauty” a year ago from Brooklands and mine was the 1st in Malaysia. This car, I would say it’s mind boggling to have been a premium class,top notch quality from inside out yet with a reasonable price.
    I would personally recommend this car for those who want prestige and dynamism “but” not too much of practicality due to its constraint in the back space.But it still suits well with modern family with small kids. Nonetheless, it has no problem sitting 3 adults comfortably. Go for a test drive and you will be dreaming of this “Goddess” ever since. By the way, DS means Goddess in French and it truly is. Don’t listen to those negative remarks on this car. Be unconventional and be bold to go for it since it is backed by a at least a better distributor “NEM”

• how about spare parts and maintanace??any problem with egs gearbox

• start-a-figt on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:26 am

since it is Prince engine.. should not be a problem if engine related.. only if others involved..

can’t wait to see the pricing and im really envy looking at DS4 in my housing area!

if i can afford.. i will choose this DS4… but I can’t, so 3-ser is my only horse in the stable right now..

• egs no reported problem globally compared to dsg gearbox. Spare parts share many with Peugeuot 3008, 308 , C4 etc -so no issue

• try first la between dsg and egs..
          you’ll know which one is the egg

• Sudah try lah- dsg many machotronic issues all over the world- I know which one is the “egg”

• Pug1038 on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:45 am

Before we even consider the spare part and maintenance, let’s focus on the engine….
    It is THP prince engine like Peugeot 308 Turbo, so my advise is stay away…
    Am owner of 308 turbo.

• xenogearz™ on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:24 am

I’ve heard of complaints and problems regarding the Pug 308 Turbo engine too. How come it is unreliable? Didn’t the engine win the Engine of the Year award in the past?

• you are the owner of a 308 turbo with 4 speed auto 140 bhp? this car comes with 2013 155 bhp, my advise is the cars engine is very good …but some owners dont take car of their car well….and then blame the car

• totti on Feb 21, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Well, not easy for citroen to sell with the problem engine which is same as 308.

To sell well, need to price the DS4 below RM 110K with 5 years free maintenance warranty.

• kadajawi on Feb 21, 2013 at 3:21 pm

I believe previously the DS4 was priced at 150k, the C4 at 130k. Something like that. 110k is ridiculous, perhaps for the C4, but not the DS4. (Though it would certainly help of course).

• Totti- For conti premium cars like DS4 dont dream it will sell below RM 110k, if it does ill buy you one.

• intermilan on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Personally, I don’t believe they could and want to sell DS4 below RM110K (even if they could).

Brookland, the previous distributor, sell DS4 at ‘relatively’ cheap price (than what it normally should be priced). And they claimed to be able to do this by not spending on marketing etc.

Naza, given their intention to project an upmarket image and brand position for Citroen will most probably choose to price it as expensive as possible.

Old sage formula:
      High price = perceived high quality/exclusiveness.

Anyhow, we’ll know for certain soon enough…

• The engine is the same used by mini and BMW- I don’t agree it’s a problem engine but owner don’t take care is the real issue.

• Pug1038 on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Efficiency of ths engine won the award.
    But in the long run, other spare part may fail the main engine like turbo high pressure pump, valve cover crack, timing chain slip, carbon build up due to direct injection method etc etc.
    I am not sure how far Peugeot and Citroen share their spare part esp in DS line.
    Having said that turbo car is fun to drive esp high torque comes in low rpm.

• In the long run, any car which is not maintained properly or abused will have problems even with BMW or Porshe engines..the lesson is know how to maintain and take care of the car

• Pug1038 on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Indeed true enough. Let’s just hope Naza can improve the brand further by providing good after sales services, stock up more spare parts and open more 3S centres in the future.
        This is how T and H brand operate in bolehland and this is how we Malaysian accept T and H low spec car with high car prices.

• jacksonkua on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:57 pm

Tentative OTR price for DS Line are as below:-

DS4 – (Dsign version) Auto – RM164,990.
    DS4 – (Dsport version) Manual – RM170,990.
    DS5 – Auto – RM195,990.

Let see….

• intermilan on Feb 22, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Taking DS4 as an example, this indicative pricing is way way higher than Brookland asking price.

Emmm…

• kadajawi on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Naza probably wants to spend on advertising, so yea, prices may very well go up.

But 165-170k? Yeah right… Passat it’ll be. Or top up a bit for an Octavia RS.
        196k for the DS5? Slightly more reasonable, but it’s still just a fancy Peugeot 3008 with an ordinary to stiff ride quality, in this segment you simply expect more, especially from a Citroen. The aircon seems to be not strong enough for Germany. If it is not strong enough there, how about here?!

• nighttrain on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:23 am

Real beauties.. personifies the modern times we live in. So stylish. Hey, I just made the tagline for these models!

• Hi, Anthony. Why the HP output of DS5 is lower than DS4?

DS5 156hp vs DS4 163hp??

• I suspect the ds4 I’ll be priced between rm 150-160 k….mark my prediction….

• singh on Mar 07, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Citreon is a good car i have been using citreon since 12 years ago started with the Mpv then Citeron Picasso.
    Only thing i dont like is there is no proper sales service centre to support customers on maintaining thier car as well provide competative pricing for parts.Hence this will be my last citreon that i will drive due to the market value is so bad after the car already age about 5 years.compare to all cars on the road citreon have the worst sale value i am very upset of this .
    I hope citreon can provide a good trade in value for its customers.

• Singh-dont be too upset. In Malaysia unfortunately resale value mindset prevails…other car makes are also affected, not only Citroen, I sold my 5 year Ford on the cheap, my friends iswara 2nd hand value is almost scrap