Hyundai i30 3-door – full gallery of the sportier sibling

Hyundai i30 3 Door-04

We showed you the three-door Kia pro_cee’d two days ago – now have a look at its sister, the Hyundai i30 3-door. Unlike the Kia, there’s no fancy name here, just i30 3-door. We first saw this three-door version of the C-segment i30 in September last year, but Hyundai has just released a big batch of fresh pics, so here you go.

The Czech-made three-door hatch joins the five-door and wagon versions in the i30 range, and was designed exclusively for Europe. There’s a new grille with mesh insert and unique design fog lamps with LED DRLs, while the profile is more sporty thanks to a sharply raked beltline, more angular glasshouse and longer front doors.

The latter – 170 mm longer – also provides a wider aperture ahead of the B-pillar, making access to the front seats easier. Rear seat passengers enjoy good space, with 38 mm more hip room than the five-door and only 21 mm less shoulder room. Other external and internal dimensions are carried over.

Hyundai i30 3 Door-07

In addition to the existing 17-inch alloys, the i30 3-door also offers exclusive 16-inch wheels and a new orange themed interior trim. The latter includes contrasting orange stitching on the steering wheel, gear shift knob, upper dashboard and door armrest.

Interestingly, Hyundai says that the new i30 has proven to be popular with fleet managers and company car drivers. From the sales target of 120,000 units per year, the Korean brand forecasts a 50:50 split between fleet and private sectors.

This popularity is thanks to Hyundai’s Five-Year Triple Care programme (five-year warranty with no mileage limit, five-year roadside assistance), plus lower total ownership cost, improved fuel efficiency, lower CO2 figures and a lower insurance classification compared to the previous-gen i30.

Full gallery of 40 images after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Varman Gunasaegaram on Feb 20, 2013 at 12:16 am

Do you guys think this might one day be available in malaysia ?

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 12:40 am

Well, the previous version was sold here before, so it’s likely.

• sudonano on Feb 20, 2013 at 11:33 am

I asked my Hyundai dealer last week. It seems that the management is planning to bring in, but they are worried of the price, if the govt. asks it to be placed at a price nearing the Sonata (130-140k) then its unlikely it will make it here. Even i20, there are plans to bring in, if they can price it at around 70k since the i10 is 50+k and the Elantra is about 90k.

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 12:46 am

Gone is that fluidic design and that melted interior to make this ….. a great looking car. Compared to the insanity that is the Sonata, Veloster and the Elantra. Simpler and neater, in my eyes, this is what a good looking Hyundai suppose to be.

But I can’t help but feel that now I like Hyundai’s design more than Kia’s design, as opposed to last time where it was vice versa. Feels like Schereyer and Kia has lost his edge with all the uncanny similarities and too many curves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • GTR 2.0 on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:14 am

Same here. Since Schereyer been asked to be head for both, hyundai and kia, hyundai’s design getting better and better.

• Schereyer managing both KIA and Hyundai now.

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:15 pm

But that is a relatively recent news, Schereyer was in the design process when the new Kia Cee’d, K9, K3 and the facelift Sorento came out. With this Santa Fe and this I30, I think Hyundai is edging Kia for looks.

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:43 am

The Toyota salesman will soon come here and bad mouth the Koreans too. But we all know that even a 2010 Camry cannot even fetch RM85,000 in the market. Now everybody in this forum also knows that the Korean RV and Toyota RV is more or less the same in the real world. Yes in ads, they ask for RM110,000 for a Camry 2010, but in reality, mana boleh dapat?

So finally the cat is out of the bad. Toyota RV is dropping so fast, the salesman are going online to bad mouth all other brands, VW, Honda, Hyundai etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • The put RM110,000 is because Malaysian are very good at bargaining. Everyone always have a higher price there so they can have more room to bargain.

But one thing that cannot be denied (even if I don’t like it), the japanese has better service center and parts availability than the Koreans (about 1 year ago?). I hope I am wrong.

• Roger Tan on Feb 20, 2013 at 12:55 am

Sigh…this is the one I really want from the current Hyundai range, but alas, we can only hope that it is brought in…

• frill on Feb 20, 2013 at 8:30 am

Is this chassis same with kia pro ceed’s?

• confused on Feb 20, 2013 at 8:37 am

I wonder why Azlano has not been sacked yet..

• Fagly on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:02 am

The very reason why Proton keep on producing ugly cars at high cost???

• looloo on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Proton has no capital nor market as big as giant automakers like toyota, honda, kia, etc. The metal also needed to be sourced outside

• Fagly on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:00 am

It is very sad that Proton keep on saying nicely-designed car is very expensive to produce!

• sepul on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:08 am

Yes, this form of design is expensive. The problem is Malaysian vendors is not brave or capable enough to do such complicated design into production.

Anyway, it is a shame that apart from Mazda, Suzuki, and Subaru, all Asian car makers reserve the best models for Europe only.

• i saw this in perlis last CNY break..with singapore license number..very eye catching and mouth watering i would say

• ben yap on Feb 20, 2013 at 12:09 pm

no turbo & DSG? turn off la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Turbo means that the engine will have to face more pressure, which roughly translate to a better engineered engine to avoid wear and tear. Also, I believe NA engine are still more reliable. DSG, I don’t know much of it’s reliability, but there are many VW owners complaining about high cost of maintaining and fixing it, which should be true because it’s waaaay more complex than most gearbox on the road. And please, Manual plus NA, is not only more reliable, but way more fun to drive.

• petrolhead on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:06 pm

fc of bigger cc NA engine is no no when your daily travel is through heavy traffic jam. turbocharged engine is more desirable with higher torque on lower rpm, greener too

• dugong on Feb 20, 2013 at 4:20 pm

The interior built looks on par with lexus even. amazing…

• dugong on Feb 20, 2013 at 5:29 pm

The interior built looks on par with lexus even. amazing…..

• Philip on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:54 pm

@dugong, buy one and show me which part of the interior is on par with Lexus.

LMAO, don’t turn us into clowns.

• winson on Mar 11, 2013 at 9:35 am

even Volkswagen Chairman impress with I30 quality ..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_3sYEl3njc