SPYSHOTS: Nissan Grand Livina facelift undisguised!

grand-livina-fl-01

Yesterday, we showed you spyshots of the facelifted Nissan Livina X-Gear undergoing testing in Malaysia. Today, we have spy pics of the Nissan Grand Livina facelift without any disguise, snapped by reader Shamsul Emry at the KLIA cargo area – thanks mate!

This is the rear end the taped-up purple X-Gear was trying to hide – the facelifted Livina range (five-seater X-Gear, seven-seater Grand Livina) features longer tail lamps that eat into the tailgate, as seen in the initial set of leaked pics from China.

Compared to yesterday’s spypics, we can now clearly see how the refreshed Grand Livina will look like, without the SUV-style body cladding the X-Gear wears. The tailgate Nissan emblem sits on metal here, not a raised plastic base like on the X-Gear.

Shamsul’s handiwork also shows us the facelifted Nissan Livina range’s new face. Compared to the current Livina, the headlamps are now in a sharper triangular shape, while the chrome grille is in a sweeping V-shape with a flat base. Once again, it’s similar to what we’ve seen from the Chinese leaked pics.

This silver unit is most likely a foreign-made unit arriving for local testing or other internal purposes, and not a product of Tan Chong’s Serendah plant. We’re speculating a year-end debut for the locally-assembled facelifted Grand Livina/Livina X-Gear.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• huiyoo on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:33 pm

something wrong with this design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Untunglah bagi mereke yang telah beli generasi satu, with murano-like grill.

• Obama on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:44 pm

I can design better than this!

• Sam Loo on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:29 am

Nissan in Malaysia got no more RV. Nissan caters to the older generation and all the old granpas are dying. Younger crown only want Toyota or Honda. You buy Nissan, your RV will drop so fast, you don’t know what hit you!

• Brayokmok on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Nothing to shout about….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Mean Machine on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Better looking than the earlier ones but facelift is just we get nowadays!

• NISSAN on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Current model has a better look

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • sudonano on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:38 pm

back looks like angry birds?

I see keyless entry button on the boot lid. Not bad. Hopefully it will be in our CKD model too.

• NISSAN on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:39 pm

how about interior design?

• asdfghjkl on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:46 pm

FAIL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • New Forte rear lights.. nearly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • AVH® on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:54 pm

I’ve seen many school-run mums running around in grand-lavinas nowadays. They like the fact that it’s quiet, simple, easy going, sedan-like driving attitude of the grand lavina while able to sit 6. So basically the statement nobody cares is wrong, it just Dose’t attract the petrol head like me, in fact it’s more if an anti-petrol head car.

But to be honest, I like tha current grand-lavina, rather feminine and motherly look, this one is waaay to serious looking. Wonder will all the house-wife love it?

• AVH® on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Oh just to add, if you see this username but the comments are rather arrogant, bashful and negative comments, like someone loss his job and the world is against him,
      That’s NOT me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • OMG…Ugly like hell. MPV with sedan style front lamp and the rear lamp. weird lah…Still prefer the old 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Front looks good… behind~??? Why like this la…

• amustapha on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Im Nissan Crazy..so its look okay to me

• Meesai on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Ehh…Am I the only one see the back look like the face of Buttercup from Powerpuff Girls??

• NissanRainy on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Pricing wise must be disappointed….

• any kind soul could share the interior?
    is it same as current version?

• Suksat on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:16 pm

new tagline ‘pemanduan ibarat sedan, lampu belakang seakan sedan juga’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • superman on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:17 pm

what an ugly car, seriously a proton Exora Bold is far more prettier and nicer to look at. this looks like an abortion of a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
  • Looks like facelifted avanva / innova.

• please, avanza is far more beautiful than this junk.
      don’t compare toyota with other car, u don’t contam toyota brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • it looks good, gonna get this for my wife in Q3 or Q4 this year.

any improvement for the interior? steering controls, an armrest, more storage places, split folding 3rd row seats would be great

• New model is supposed to be improvement. This car is ancient…what facelift. A car co that is not trying.

• Why the design so like not completed designer drink sake while doing his job……Looks like Toyota Innova & Avanza……

• Well, I find the rear end of this facelift rather dull or unattractive. Current one looked nicer and more elegant. Front end is not bad thou.

• start-a-figt on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:17 pm

who cares?

it’s cheap, seat 7, easy to drive and it’s not korean nor malaysian.

good for those who on budget but need to seat 7 people, not really keen to drive but rather force to drive, doesn’t want to buy local nor rather be seen in korean car..

yups its a great recipe where almost all the poeple who bought this doesn’t read paultan and they do have money to buy a car rather than sit on this site and make comment.. like me :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Yuzdi8 on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:41 pm

The 3rd row is meant for kids only. Not enough space for adult legs. U know wat I mean.

• seancorr on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Love the shot with the no parking sign dead in front of the car =]

Anyway the front loos so Nissan so no fault there but the rear design looks so China inspired!

If they can maintain the price and intro new goodies like keyless entry and curtain airbags that would be awesone.

• klingon ship on Feb 26, 2013 at 6:20 pm

As a parent with 3 kids, this is the cheapest entry for japanese mid MPV. In future, most petrolhead will by mid size MPV too when they have more than 2 kids.

• motorhead on Feb 26, 2013 at 6:44 pm

Beauty is subjective? Don’t just talk craps.. You have money to buy or not? If not, shut the hell up. Looks is SUBJECTIVE. I like it. Its looks more masculine than before. You have problem with it? Design your own cars then.

• tebuan on Feb 26, 2013 at 6:59 pm

This is not a facelift but a forcelift…due to market forces

• KillBox1Alpha on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:01 pm

It does not look any better undisguised.

• Nissan strength is their after-sales service. I don’t think this mpv is better than Kia Carens 2013.

Had the Kia pricing nit very far dearer than the current one, I’ll opt for the Korean. More balance mpv

• wow…nice inferior design

• Ahmadfaris93 on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Sweet mother of Japanese ugliness !

• m.kia.co.uk/new-models/new-carens.aspx

Wait this Korean before you decided for an MPV.

• Macam tak propotionate saja.. aduhh…

• PotongLover on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Exora looks better as well as the price…

• rhasmodin racman bandrang on Jun 26, 2013 at 7:29 pm

before my mentality is same like yours but after using exora for 3 years i add on money just to release my previous bulky ,heavy ,lazy on uphill exora and exchange it to grand livina & the result is very satisfying no wonder nissan is the no.1 car in japan i should listen to my friend earlier before buying my crappy exora it causes me lots of money just to release it..drove nissan then you will know peace!!!

• musalmah endot on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:25 am

1st time saw I thought this car can go on water like boat! fugly.

• Jambuck on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:13 am

Nissan screwed Nissan.

• Well, the exterior looks more masculine and the price range is so affordable

• The design is better than the old one. It gets better eventually

• rahman on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:53 am

In fact by looking at it, I think I should get one. The tail lights looks great and trendy.

• I will choose X-gear over Vios TRD, simply because X-gear wins in terms of ook. Though both are outdated in technology, but I will immediately save 20k when I own it, and this equals 3-4 years petrol consumption. Many people praise for its decent handling, out of their expectation, many thought with this price tag, handling had to forgo and give way to better appearance.

• Looks and designs can be very subjective, but leads down to the reliability of the car. The reliability of Nissan cars are amazing.

• Malik on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Hey, it’s true Wong. Don’t compromise reliability for great designs (which I feel the Nissan Livina X-Gear still looks amazing).

• it’s not a new nodel launch, its a facelift. I feel it caters for young and old. The facelift looks great. Great job!!

• mohdarif on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:44 pm

exterior nampak elegan dan maskulin. Sesuai untuk semua golongan umur. Harga memeng berpatutan dengan teknologi dan design. berbaloi untuk memebelinya. Ruangan dalaman kereta luas (legroom).

• I feel the Grand Livina is looking more competitive in market now. with its distinctive exterior and multi winning awards. This is a great car.

• Great looks..

• motorhead on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:54 pm

I like nissan’s engine. Their aluminium engine rev easily. All new models are good. Salesman oso good.

• rhasmodin racman bandrang on Jun 26, 2013 at 7:43 pm

cause nissan is the super hero car brand in japan not toyota not honda not mitsubishi its NISSAN !!!who made R30,31,32,33,34 and the latest godzilla R35 so to those people who hates nissan do your homework dont just simply talk cause lots of people is laughing at you for being ignorant as if you are expert hahahaha…NISMO,IMPUL,CALSONIC,RENAULT,HITACHI,DATSUN these might help to those people that has lack of infomation research !!! research!!! research!!!

• GL Lim on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:42 pm

I like the design of this car. Great!!

• motorhead on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Nissan lines quite feminine before.. Even the names are feminine.. Livina, almera, teana.. At least now we have more masculine design. The new livina will be in my radar. Almera also in my radar.

• Sosoli on Mar 01, 2013 at 5:21 pm

The design of Grand Livina looks great!!! Nice one..!!

• horlick on Mar 01, 2013 at 5:51 pm

The new Grand Livina design is better than the older!!!

• Can’t wait for the arrival of Grand Livina facelift. Looks Great!

• ahmad on Mar 02, 2013 at 11:47 am

exterior grand livina elegant la..

• Nissan new car… thumps up!!

• grand livina is a nice car. nice looks and nice to drive as well.

• neo1point3 on Apr 16, 2013 at 5:50 pm

I wish nissan use 2.0 engine instead of 1.6 /1.8
    It is underpowered and I cant imagine how to overtake fast. Everything else is good except engine and aircond…but didnt buy. Found better value which is local mpv turbo

just my 2 cent

• CS Teo on Apr 21, 2013 at 1:11 pm

I think the current design is better than this one.

• Norman on May 27, 2013 at 8:08 am

Seriously can’t make it..Look what happen to the 2nd gen Toyota Wish sales.

• ardan on May 29, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Selling now in Indonesia

• rhasmodin racman bandrang on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:38 pm

in japan nissan is the no.1 car brand and the most reliable car so to those people who gave bad comment and comparing EXORA common do your homework and wait as far as i know proton is proton a trial and error brand not recognize as stable manufacturer so shut up!!!

• rhasmodin racman bandrang on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:15 pm

i am a nissan fan but seriously, i prefer the current design just came from indonesia and saw it…the only thing that made it interesting is they install x-tronic cvvt on the transmission means more power, more smoother and more speed and more responsive transmission.. the engine still MR 16DE and MR18DE which features renault,calsonic and hitachi on some parts..

• shapQ on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Wait for impul version. More refresh than older version.

• yusri on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:34 pm

at this moment,I still prefer the first generation of Livina…