Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 to premiere in Geneva

VW golf gti mk7 1
UPDATE: Official VW promo video of the Mk7 Golf GTI released – view it here

Volkswagen has announced that its new Golf GTI Mk7 – previewed in concept form in Paris last year – will make its official debut in Geneva next month, and for the first time the hot hatch will be available in two output tunes, a Stage 1 standard 220 PS form as well as a Stage 2 GTI Performance version with 230 PS on call.

Both guises will be equipped with an Euro 6-compliant EA888 2.0 litre TSI lump, and aside from the different power outputs will have an identical 350 Nm maximum torque. In terms of performance, it’s as reported previously, the standard GTI doing the 0-100 km/h sprint in 6.5 seconds and having a 246 km/h top speed, while the GTI Performance manages the same in 6.4 seconds and 250 km/h. Splitting hairs as far as numbers go.

Kit for both includes a Stop-Start system, 17-inch Brooklyn GTI wheels and 225/45 rubbers, traditional red-painted brake calipers, two chrome tailpipes and a sport suspension. Also on, special side sills, a diffuser and smoked LED rear lights as well as LED licence plate illumination.

Inside, there’s the familiar tartan pattern in a scheme called Clark, and the cabin features a black roof-liner and red ambience lighting, while GTI-related cues include a sport steering wheel, GTI gear shift grip and instrument cluster, special trim strips and stainless steel pedals/foot support. Standard body colours for Europe will be Tornado Red, Black and Pure White.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• amirad on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Hope it comes in manual. Well, just hoping.

• AVH® on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:01 pm

VW in Europe is a low class car. But here, they people think its MB or BMW status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
      • Wuhuu on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:27 pm

I’m a vw owner and i certainly never think that way. It’s the owners of bmw or merc who feel threatened by vw’s presence here in msia bcoz vw can offer a good driver’s car that can match the performance with much less money. Or worst still – It’s the people who never got the chance to own a vw car (for whatever reasons ) who are envious towards vw who have won the hearts of many msians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
        • BlueV12 on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Not really actually, VW is known as a peoples car. It’s at the same range as Toyota,Nissan and Honda but of course with higher built quality and provides a better driving exp. Merc and BMW on the other hand are under the premium range, which is of course a different range alltogether.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • The GTI is a low class car in Europe?

Where do you have this information from?

• Sorry to hear that…i know how u feel bcoz some VW tailgating u or change lane without signal lights or maybe u meet very rich and a bit lc VW owners or even own a VW but face problems so u type ‘ VW in Europe is a low class car ‘ LOLX hahaha sorry lah VW in M’sia is premium brand and VW luxury cars like VW touareg and Phaeton r expensive than some premium car like BMW and other cheap brands.

• Ah Beng on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:00 pm

VW is people’s car, not low class car. It is at least higher quality than the so called global car by P1.

• Overseas on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:38 am

I would otherwise call it just another conventional car. In the US and UK its commonly seen driven by students. Our multiple car tax couples with weak ringgit has pushed it into the luxury mark. On the financial aspects, I have seen friends back here stressing and struggling themselves to the hang for the sake of portraying so called public image or wants to be seen as successful by their peer and friends

• amirad on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:25 am

Yes. Baseline polos and golfs are the bread and butter cars. Not the GTis and Rs. Even the UK folks say GTis and Rs are expensive and yet they are earning much more than us.

• Rich students :) oh whatever even P1 & P2 r luxury here…

• In Europe , they(men and women) prefer manual. Apparently here people are handicapped….that’s why they prefer Auto.

• kadajawi on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:36 pm

As usual, VW Malaysia will take opportunity to raise the prices even further and punish the people of Malaysia more. VW Malaysia, why are you all increasing your prices every year? Your cars are SO cheap overseas. If this market is so important for you, why launch in Geneva? Why not launch in Malaysia since you are screwing the rakyat so much of money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • blame the government for the tax, not the vw company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • berombon on Feb 27, 2013 at 6:40 pm

well, if you or anyone else cannot afford it, too bad lar..save up more otherwise, there is always the proton and perodua for you and the rest yg tak mampu tu. Shout, rave and rant all you want but if you do, then definitely you are not the intended target customers for VWM.
      Sorry bro but that’s facts of life lar..

• Ah Beng on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:37 pm

P1 is people’s car. It’s the G that is screwing the rakyat.

• Ah Beng on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Sorry, P1 should be screw people’s car.

• Read that in Malaysia car prices are the highest in the world ….

• amirad on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Don’t worry. No need to rush. Be patient. VW will give discounts kaw2 for year end sale.

• kereta lembu on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Are you sure VW is raising the price deliberately or its our G that’s causing the price increase. Remember how the Passat CC and Polo GTI prices shot up? Now, back to the car…its nothing to shout about and the interior is well, too outdated for my liking.

• what a boring VW car…NEXT PLEASE…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • teelim on Feb 27, 2013 at 3:34 pm

I think the Stage 2 is a lame excuse to charge more. Don’t get me wrong, I like Golf GTIs but I just don’t understand what VW is trying to pull off here.

An “upgrade kit” with only 10hp more? The Ford Mondeo and S-Max was given a bump from 200hp to 240hp with much less fuss.

• steeringwheel on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:01 pm

wahlau… the steeringwheel yucksss..

• steeringwheel on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:01 pm

wahlau… the steering wheel yucksss..

• Joe Radzif on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:09 pm

same look…
    hm…

• A bit off topic: While Satria Neo was launched during the mk5 Golf era, the Golf has revolved two generations ahead. While proton still sells the aging Satria Neo :/
    If Proton came out with Satria Neo with improved performance and quality, I can be the first in line to book for it.

• I absolutely agree…remind me again, was there even a midlife refresh?

• amirad on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Satria gti of the 90s used to be my dream car. 1.8 litre engine, momo steering, recaro seats, lotus handling…ahh.. those were the days. Now its time for the real gti… for the mid life crisis.

• Ah Beng on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Better than the ‘sporty’ CRZ.

• Merc = Real Conti on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:37 pm

DSG problem resolved or are we going to be guinea pigs again??? . VW cars are over rated..

• David on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:16 pm

BUY FORD FOCUS ST BETTER!!!!!

GEARBOX AND ENGIN 100% NO PROBLEM

• VW MAN on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:11 am

VW had started long ago, had at least 70 years of automobile engineering and sales experinces > compared to our National Pride P@#*ng which is still relatively young about 28 YEArs only !!!
    Please dont compare Germany and Malaysia, its unfair- quoted by our Dearest Kampung Official

• Rakyat on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:00 am

Give them 20 years and they are still crap. Even a small kedai has already become a supermarket. VW created the golf mk1 a long time ago.

• Rakyat on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:11 am

How much this cost if tax free?

• VW is a people’s car..tats means all people shud b able to own it..our gov made it premium..dem!

• vw polo 6R GTI on Mar 03, 2013 at 2:43 am

I hope vw Malaysia will bring in the 2 doors too.

• Alan Wong on Mar 04, 2013 at 9:32 am

Personally, I think 18″ rims, 225/40 tyres would be much preferred over the 17″, 225/45….

• Malik on Mar 29, 2013 at 11:12 am

I prefer the old mk6.. Looks much cleaner. Ordered mk6 gti early march, but till today didn’t receive car. Evidently all GTI widtheld at port, pending tax increase. Fingers crossed.

• rama rakesh on Mar 31, 2013 at 11:37 am

All cars are cheaper in other countries. Only we have to fork out so much down payment towards securing a long term loan. Car costs 147k onwards in UK with their tax and sales commissions etc etc guarantee. Here its said to be about 250 k when launched.

How to buy??

• Wake up ppl on Apr 07, 2013 at 1:33 am

Yeah it is going to be around 250k… I wonder how much the new R going to cost…..