Renault Megane RS 265 Trophy introduced, RM244k

renault megane rs 265 trophy 01

TC Euro Cars has introduced the Renault Megane RS 265 Trophy Edition in Malaysia. The car, a homage to the Megane RS Trophy that set a new 8’08” lap record for a front-wheel drive production car at the Nürburgring in June 2011, slipped in quietly to join the RS 265 Cup in the local lineup.

Like the RS 265 Cup, the RS 265 Trophy Edition’s 2.0 litre four-pot turbo has 265 hp and 360 Nm for output numbers, and performance figures are identical, with a 0-100 km/h time of 6.0 seconds flat and a 250 km/h top speed.

Unique to the Trophy Edition is the Liquid Yellow i.d. metallic paint, reborn from its original use on the Clio Renaultsport 182, V6 255 and on the R26 and R26.R – it’s the only shade available for the car here.

renault megane rs 265 trophy 03

Other kit includes gloss black 19-inch Speedline alloys with red rim outlining, shod with Bridgestone Potenza RE050A tyres, and ‘Trophy’ red decals on the F1-style front blade and doors. To mark the edition, each car will come with a serial numbered plaque.

Elsewhere, features include Recaro seats with yellow seatbelts and detailing, Renaultsport Monitor on-board performance tracking and all the usual Renaultsport-derived goodness, including stiffer springs, dampers and anti-roll bar and grooved brake discs, a mechanical limited slip differential, Brembo brakes, as well as the innovative PerfoHub independent steering axis front suspension set-up.

When it was originally announced, the RS 265 Trophy was supposed to be a limited 500-unit run globally – guess there’s no sense in limiting a good thing, eh? The RS 265 Trophy Edition goes for RM244,252, on-the-road without insurance, which is about close to a RM10k premium over the RS 265 Cup.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jaybond on May 15, 2013 at 1:50 pm

TC Euro Cars should also try to bring in the more mainstream cars like the latest petrol-powered Renault Fluence (not the ZE version) and the latest Renault Clio.

• Jimmy on May 15, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Renault is a dead brand in Malaysia. When you drive, do you ever see a Renault? Except for the loser kereta mayat Kangoo, you can never see a Renault. Buy this and your RV will be RM100,000 the next year. Nobody wants renault lah. Tak cantiq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
      • neutral on May 15, 2013 at 7:13 pm

actually megane RS is selling quite well in Malaysia…but overall renault not selling as many cars because they only have one showroom in the whole of Malaysia…correct me if i’m wrong. Megane RS is gaining cult status among Malaysian motorists. In fact Malaysia is the fourth largest market for Megane RS in the whole of Asia Pacific.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • I have seen a RS250 in white colour on the road. Definitely got road presence IMO. I never thought of seeing one in the flesh because being in sarawak, new renaults are really rare

• Johnny on May 15, 2013 at 1:57 pm

This machine sure smoke my Preve! :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Alphawolf on May 15, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Agreed that TCE should bring in more cars, not the unsaleable “Korean” Koleos or Laguna Coupe :(

Bring in the standard Megane and Clio, and priced them around the Pug 308/208 range..

• mystvearn on May 15, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Buy the RS250, paint the red rim a bit, maybe change the badge at the back, and maybe the front LED lights and you can fake people into thinking that your car is the trophy edition.

Or better still, buy the 250, and use that spare change on tyres and fuel

• Abg Long on May 15, 2013 at 2:54 pm

we just want a cheaper cars for average Malaysians and also mid luxury cars :)

• BlackBJQ on May 15, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Obviously not for the fainthearted..

• carazy on May 15, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Good performance car, but its still lack of umphh to me, FWD vs RWD.. I’ll take 86 anytime with this price range.. no offense Megene fan ya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Sorry, but in terms of track performance, the Megane beats the 86 hands down…

• _xXx_ on May 15, 2013 at 6:10 pm

owg2 kat mesia ni mcm semua berpendapatan RM15 ribu sebln….

• bukan semua..tapi ramai je..
      not that they target to sell each to every malaysian…in other country everyone driving this car?

• _xXx_ on May 16, 2013 at 10:09 am

ramai??? I seribu lima ratus sebln je sampai LHDN pun malu nk mintak tax dr aku…

• simsim on May 16, 2013 at 11:04 am

Bring in Clio RS and price it at 120k, I will be bank’s slave for 7years.