New Subaru Forester 2.0 XT – bookings open, RM190k

Subaru_Forester_preview_003

We’ve heard about the fourth-gen Subaru Forester fairly frequently lately. Ads started appearing on our sister site oto.my and then we saw it in the flesh at JPJ Putrajaya. The two occurrences could only mean that a local launch is imminent – and we can now confirm that it indeed is, in the third quarter of this year.

Motor Image held a public preview of the new SUV at its PJ showroom over the weekend, and the order books for the model have officially been opened. Final prices are not out yet, but an introductory offer of RM189,800 has been revealed for the sole variant, the CBU Subaru Forester 2.0 XT.

This is no ordinary mummy’s taxi. It uses a turbocharged, direct injection 2.0 litre boxer engine with 240 PS and 350 Nm of torque, enough for a 0-100 km/h time of 7.5 seconds and 221 km/h top speed. Subaru’s signature symmetrical all-wheel drive system is present, paired to a Lineartronic CVT transmission.

If you’re wondering why it doesn’t match the earlier-reported 280 PS output, that’s because that engine spec is only available in Japan. US models gets a different state of tune (253 PS) while the rest of the world – us, Singapore and Australia included – gets this 240 PS version. The 350 Nm of torque is identical everywhere.

In top 2.0 XT form the Forester is equipped with paddle shifters, three-mode SI Drive (Intelligent, Sport and Sport Sharp – the latter simulates eight-virtual ratios), X-Mode off-road settings with Hill Descent Control and a square-cut front bumper that’s unique from the non-turbo models.

Standard kit includes 18-inch wheels, auto xenon headlamps, sunroof, Keyless Access, eight-speaker, 440W Harman/Kardon audio system, electric seats and powered tailgate. Airbag count is seven, if you must know. For the full equipment list, check out the official spec sheet in our live gallery below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• shawal on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Crv 2.4 will be round that price range oso …and its ckd … without premiun audio, less power n torque , no real off road credentials , old engine , slower , no electric tailgate….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
    • shawal on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Also no panoramic sunroof , xenons and so forth , shubbe similar to thr thai spec model tested earlier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Its already dead with cx5 new pricing. Subaru is already half dying, now CX5 so cheap, its a nail to the coffin. Subaru better close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
    • Too expensive! but i really like the exterior of this car!

• No LED DRL’s like other manufacturer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • frenzyaustin on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Subaru is the most underrated brand in Malaysia and probably the world. They made some really good car but sell very terrible here. Subaru Legacy really catch my heart the moment I saw it. It might not good looking as Mazda 6 but better than a Camry, but the moment I sat on the driver seat, it instantly became my second favourite car after M6 in the segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Sounds good. Dear Subaru: u should have included leather seats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • glaze on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:42 pm

yeah for this price tag should have come with leather seats and GPS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Love that powerful boxer engine, but at this price point, i wonder of the Ford Kuga would be a better choice. But then again we don’t know how much the Kuga will cost yet…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • sam c on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:41 pm

nice ugly suv !!

• foxtrot on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:57 pm

take this engine & put it into the VX

• tishaban on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Damn, no 0-100km/h in 6.4 seconds? That’s a big letdown :D But interior space from the specs looks very good, more legroom than pretty much any SUV/crossover out there.

A very good car for the money if you want the performance even if the newly announced CKD Mazda CX-5 takes the crown for best overall value.

Good job Subaru/Motor Image!

• PauKaya on Jun 04, 2013 at 11:09 pm

funny i never found the ckd cx-5 to be of really good value considering its not much cheaper than the cbu cx-5

• teelim on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:15 pm

CVT? hmmmm… :\

• tishaban on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Hafriz any word if Motor Image will bring in the Subaru Eyesight option for this Forester? Autonomous braking and adaptive cruise control are very useful safety features.

http://www.subaru.com.au/about/eyesight

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:19 pm

None yet. What you see here is what you get, for now at least. Even if it does get offered as an option, very few would fork out the substantial extra for it, methinks.

• Modesto.hann on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Subaru has put too much attention on performance and handling for this non mass produced SUV, both on and off road. they have forgotten to make it more handsome.

• Richard Foo on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Went to motor image. showroom. in P J during lunch time. Saw the forester xt and it is a beautiful. car indeed. With all the features and a powerful engine it is value for money. Will seriously consider
    to get one.

• Awful front look I must say. How can Subaru came out such design?

• Lazza on Jun 04, 2013 at 11:06 pm

Back mid seat is too hard & boots too small

• Samantha Loo on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:23 am

such an awesome car. but have fun trying to convince crv owners to change to this. those exterior looks kill everything. pretty sad.

• old models look much better!

• jaywat on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:45 am

Subaru has never tried to be something else they re not, their unpretentious design, focus in engineering and effort to make the car runs better won them the hearts from subaru owners.

• My view:
    I have driven Subarus in my life with exception one year with a European marque ( no name mention), IMO, subaru engineering is so up to the mark , with its symetrical AWD , turbo charge engine, boxer piston, reliability, albeit strange proportion design. No complains so far, planning to keep and upgrade to a new one.
    ….And it saved my life to during slippery road condition…thanks to its 50:50 AwD system . Unique car indeed.

• Lazza on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Hi Paul, y don’t u upgrade the site to some membership points system where it’s listed the persons vintage or reputation? Too many salesmen here…

• legacy bp5 on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Watchout the new forestor project by japanese team ; http://foresterlive.com/

• always talk about safety..2 air bags no enough laa..now comes with more safety… dont care about manual aircond..no touch screen..no leather seat and so many…hahahaaa…go and buy guys..this really a good car..