Audi A8 facelift unveiled, to debut at Frankfurt 2013

Audi S8

Audi has taken the wraps off the facelifted Audi A8 range, which will make its public debut at Frankfurt 2013. There’s the A8, the A8 L and the S8, with various different engine choices. The most obvious change you’ll notice from the exterior of the car are the new front and rear ends. The most prominent feature of the front are the new Audi Matrix LED headlights, which are now standard on all models with a V8 engine.

In Malaysia, we only get a single variant of the A8 which is the long-wheelbase model with the 3.0 litre V6 TFSI engine, so the headlamps might remain an option here. The headlamps feature a new sequential turn indicator which we’ve previously covered. Watch it in action here.

Audi A8 TDI quattro

On the rear, the car gets a new chrome strip running across the back, which also extends into the design of the taillamps. The LED taillamps are now flatter, and the redesigned rear bumper now houses two rhomboid tailpipes. This look is carried on all models except the Audi S8.

Both the Audi A8, S8 and A8 L feature a revised trunk layout for better space. For the long-wheelbase A8 L, Audi has stretched the car’s length and wheelbase by 130 mm over the short wheelbase variant to increase interior space.

Audi S8

The baseline Audi A8 uses the 3.0 litre TFSI V6 engine which produces 310 hp, an increase of 20 hp over the pre-facelift model‘s 290 hp. There’s also the 4.0 litre TFSI V8 engine that does 435 hp. For buyers of oil burner models, there’s a 3.0 TDI with 258 hp as well as a powerful 4.2 litre TDI diesel engine producing 385 hp and 850 Nm.

The flagship is the A8 L W12 quattro, which uses a 6.3 litre W12 engine producing 500 hp. It also has cylinder deactivation, allowing it to run on six cylinders under low-load conditions. For those who want a sportier version of the A8, there’s the Audi S8, which tunes up the 4.0 litre TFSI V8 to 520 hp.

Audi A8 L W12 quattro

The Audi A8 hybrid continues on with the facelifted model range, pairing a 2.0 litre TFSI engine with an electric motor to produce a total system output of 245 hp and 480 Nm of torque. Its lithium-ion battery mounted at the rear allows 100% electric driving up to 100 km/h for about three kilometres. Fuel consumption for the A8 hybrid is rated at 6.3 L/100 km. If this model is introduced in Malaysia, it will qualify for duty exemptions like the A6 hybrid since the combustion engine is smaller than 2,000 cc.

New driver assist features include Audi active lane assist, which makes slight steering adjustments when necessary, a park assist system with a 360-degree view display that handles steering when parking and a heads-up display, which projects vital info on the windscreen. The night vision assistant is also improved, now being able to recognise larger animals in addition to pedestrians.

After the facelifted A8, A8 L and S8 debut at Frankfurt 2013, it will go on sale in Germany in November. We’ll keep you updated on the introduction of the A8 facelift here in Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Adam Hao on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:08 pm

another 2013 Mercedes S-Class competitor.

• Actually it is Mercedes Benz who is playing catch-up. Things like the reclining seat with footrest was in the A8 before the S-Class introduced it.

With that said, however, Mercedes Benz has no doubt done a better job with their luxurious limo in comparison to Audi and BMW.

• Car Check on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:12 am

That is not correct, you are forgetting the Maybach. They were the first to have the reclining seats long before the A8.

• I belong to a group of people that always mistakes an A8 for a pre-FL A4, especially from the rear, so is that new facelift is certainly welcome, not much, but still enough to draw make it more difference. The new W222 S-class seems to have given Audi more motivation to develope the interior further, looks amazing thou looks more modern contemporary art than the W222s European opulence. Okay, your move Munich.

• Jimmy on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Good, and better than just ottoman alone.

• rifle on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Hey, notice that the rear end especially the taillamps is identical to that of Preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • I really hope they will release the A8 hybrid in Malaysia. I will definitely get one of those if it is less than RM 400k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • kiddo on Aug 22, 2013 at 7:34 am

u sound like a rich bastard like that. Can u really afford?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • dun medan on Aug 22, 2013 at 10:59 am

you jelly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Dude, there are many ppl can afford RM400k car over here in paultan forum. Dont perceived everything based on your own perspective. Rich doesnt mean he is a bastard. Luckily ur dad isnt rich, otherwise ur dad is a bastard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • X man on Aug 22, 2013 at 4:46 pm

brader john i am sure you cant afford this. otherwise you wont have time to bash people here….save your time to work harder for your A8 better bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Nope, i cant afford.. Yet.. But my F10 is much expensive than A8 hybrid if it sells at rm400k. Doesnt matter, i expect u to say something like” nah, u dont own one”. Its ok, i expected to get lotsa thumb down from jelly ppl.

• nice interior and rear design..but the front just looks like a volkswagen -.-

• Apamau on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:03 pm

If the A8 hybrid were intro here, do u think a lot of takers ? and will it be under power, i believe A8 is much more heavy than A6.

• The body of the A8 is made of aluminium…

• It will be so laku until u will think ppl buy for the sake of ‘hybrid’ coz its cheap. not because of its tech. like wat is happening now to A6 Hybrid.

• BMW BEST on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Walao…I think if I have a chance to sit into this flagship, after that when I step out and get back inside my FLX I would definitely think my car is a POS…

• kiddo on Aug 21, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Pronton breve should copy A8 outlook, and tune the turbocharged engine like V8. Then they will sell like durian in local market….just my six cent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • i think this is the best Audi has done in terms of exterior design in years. way better than pre-facelift and almost all models, except R8 and A5 coupe. love it, especially the S8!! those rims are the killers!!

• dream on to own a S8. Im not saying u cant afford but its our ‘desert-quality’ fuel which cant be used in their new 4.0 tfsi. Threfore, Audi isnt bringing in S6, S7, and S8.

• Jaybond on Aug 22, 2013 at 9:12 am

Nice facelift job – a vast improvement over the awkward and unfinished looking lamps of the current A8..

• Casioguy on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:19 pm

My friend’s long wheelbase A8 in Singapore could not go up some of the curved ramps leading to car parks in some shopping malls due to the extra length. Since Euromobil may bring only this version to Malaysia, do note that this could be a problem here too

• Dude, if u hvnt realized. Singapore car parks are damn small. Even my F10 finding difficulties when i wanna park inside hotel equatorial at orchard road. Basically their indoor and outdoor parking has a very small space oni cater for small cars.

• johnny boy boy on Apr 05, 2014 at 11:40 am

should just go to valet parking. u will look more gentlemen. don squeezeeee with small car.