Peugeot Exalt Concept detailed – 340 hp hybrid power

Peugeot_Exalt_Concept_002

After the early peek yesterday, the veil has been lifted off the Beijing-bound Peugeot Exalt Concept. We now have full details and an official gallery of the radical four-door coupe Pug. How is it radical, you ask? Check out “Shark Skin” textile bodywork and raw wood interior!

While the earlier Onyx Concept featured copper body panels, the new design study goes a step further by having hand beaten bare steel bodywork, which apparently mimics classic French vehicles from the Twenties and Thirties. Adds quite a bit of drama to it, that’s for certain.

The rear end is covered in the aforementioned “Shark Skin” textile, which has positive aerodynamic properties to actively cut the drag on the concept model. No real sharks were harmed in the making, don’t worry.

If anything, the Exalt’s interior is even more left-field. The small steering wheel (which is hardly round anymore) is trimmed in leather and a natural wool-based fabric, while two touchscreen displays are hidden away out of sight within the wood centre console.

A set of seven toggle switches control the various functions, including a black light system built into the headlamps, which reduce visibility issues during the transition between day and night. There’s also a “Pure Blue” air treatment system that uses bactericides and fungicides when the vehicle is not is use.

It’s not all just for show either, as there’s a working plug-in Hybrid4 powertrain under all the fancy metal- and wood-work. The bonnet houses a 270 hp turbocharged 1.6 litre petrol engine from the RCZ R and 308 R Concept, which is then matched to a 50 kW electric motor mounted at the rear axle for a combined output of 340 hp.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:48 pm

The only thing wrong about the entire car is that someone went and spilled red paint all over that fine arse…..otherwise, Its one beautiful mademoiselle. The interior is even more stunning, as of now, I can think of only Volvo and BMW(the i3) using wood this good for the interior, siplistic and full of zen!

Well done Peugeout, well done…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Read the third paragraph. As long as its functional, its fine with me.

• rifle on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:54 pm

agree with u..furthermore, it looks certainly different from other cars..for me its a good thing..unique n rare.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Could’t it be at least painted in a similar colour to the front? or maybe black…..it looks very off balance seeing such contrast in color, it is almost like Two-Face from Batman.

I won’t go against it because it is functional and I have a preferencee for funtion over form, but the majority of the car is design form first as far as I can tell.

• Hemi 426 on Apr 12, 2014 at 8:34 am

This is a concept car,at times they would indulge in different design applications or studies to accentuate the cost for production(if the model get’s the go ahead)

On another,Peugeot have done an awesome job on this Exalt,i really hope it makes production,sans the rear red color and the enormous amount of wood it’s using now.Nice ride though.

Cheers

• So many wood panels inside. 21st century Flintstone car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Ibrahim on Apr 12, 2014 at 3:38 pm

If there is carving, it’s not zen. He he.

• Alamak,
    The 2 front seat & middle arm rest macam jamban jati !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Jimmy on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Cantiq.
    And innovative.

• The overall look almost similar with Mazda 6

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 5:09 pm

pui.. piece of sampah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Allen toyota subang on Apr 12, 2014 at 8:40 pm

This car is only bodyshell…. No engine… Whats the beauty in that…..CAMRY GX… Evoking emotion… Finesse…creature of comfort….

• Phrase on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:56 am

The name typeface remind me of exora. haha

• fuji roubaix on Apr 14, 2014 at 11:26 am

Anti termite solution needed if garaged for too long. Half paint like that for whatever skin concept be the reason, looks like Tenuk…

• rchoo on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Just wait for the launching, if the price is right, i will buy another Peugeot. This car is too awesome in performance and looks (interior and exterior except maybe the rear not so perfect), otherwise immaculate.

Buying Peugeot is worth the money in Malaysia, at least the 408 and 508.

• TonyS on Jun 23, 2014 at 10:43 am

We’ll see more shark-slayers and less sharks in the future just because of this concept