formula e

The running of the 2014 Formula E Putrajaya ePrix has been moved from its original October 18 date to a month on – the second round of the 2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship will now take place on November 22.

The change comes at the request of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak through his office – due to other agenda commitments, the PM is unable to attend the race on its original date and has requested the event to be rescheduled, to which the series has agreed to the postponement.

“The Prime Minister has been fundamental to the FIA Formula E Championship racing in Malaysia and, following lengthy consultation with the FIA and the local motorsport federation, Formula E has decided to honour the request to reschedule the Putrajaya ePrix,” Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag said in a statement.

Formula E Putrajaya circuit layout

The 2.56 km-long Putrajaya ePrix course is located near Perdana Putra, which houses the Prime Minister’s Office, and will use much of the main high street, running along buildings such as the Ministry of Finance. The temporary track will feature 12 corners.

Ten teams, each with two drivers, will go head-to-head in the Spark-Renault SRT_01E full-electric single-seater racecar. The race will be held over a single day, on Saturday, in order to minimise disruption – the flow will see a free practice session, qualifying and 60-minute race followed by a live music concert on the day.

The other Formula E race dates remain as before – the season opener takes place in Beijing around the iconic Olympic ‘Bird’s Nest’ Stadium on September 13. After Putrajaya, the series moves on to the Formula E Punta del Este ePrix in Uruguay, held on December 13.