Denza – first electric car by Daimler, BYD for China

Ab Ende September kommt der rein elektrische DENZA in China zu d

Denza, an all-new electric car jointly developed by Daimler and BYD for the Chinese market, has begun rolling off the production line at the Shenzhen BYD Daimler New Technology plant in Shenzhen. The company is the first Sino-German collaboration aimed at developing and producing electric vehicles for the domestic market. Denza is the first car that Daimler has engineered from the ground up outside of Germany, according to Hubertus Troska, member of the board of management of Daimler AG for China.

The car features a lithium-ion phosphate battery which is framed by an aluminium case and located underneath the body – the safest location to place a battery pack in a car. Driving range on a full charge for Denza has been quoted at up to 300 km, a distance which more or less reflects a range of an average car on a full tank of fuel.

Customers can charge the Denza with a 22 kW wall-box connection in less than three hours, with the option of using a standard household power outlet. Individuals who value interior space will be glad to know that the Denza has a wheelbase matching that of the Mercedes-Benz E-Class. Trunk volume is listed as 460 litres.

All of this is paired to a China-NCAP (C-NCAP) five-star rating – a first for an electric vehicle. Deliveries will commence at the end of September 2014, distributed by an independent dealer network. Customers in China can look forward to subsidies that help further lower the price of entry such as free licence plates in cities like Shanghai and Shenzhen and a 10% purchase tax exemption.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Everyone is coming out with its electric car while Proton is embracing VVT engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Ya ya ya…

• Gargantia on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Even some say china brand shit.

But at least their moving forward and to Green environment.

Protong moving (………..)
      MAA and MAI even worst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • never heard of Proton EV back in 2011 or its concept since 2009? lol typical bashers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:17 pm

When something is heard, but not seen. We call it LEGEND, or RUMOR.

Talk and press release are cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
        • never seen? lel..

http://paultan.org/tags/proton-electric-car/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Quoted from the article you shared “In September 2012, Parliament was told that Proton would begin selling electric vehicles by 2014.”

Now already September 2014, Proton can’t even launch its B segment hatchback. Electric car is for 2024 right?

If a car maker is daring to lie to parliament, why it will be honest to you and me normal citizens?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Not all concepts turn out to be for production, even in production unit, it’s mostly be toned down.

So many Legends and Rumours from auto makers!

Loled

• 1. Proton is embracing VVT engine
          – Then u heard Proton have ev’s

2. When something is heard, but not seen. We call it LEGEND, or RUMOR
          – u realized proton do have ev’s. Try to find other points to bash… Mehhh….

• frossonice on Sep 12, 2014 at 10:14 am

If Proton build electric car, will you buy it then? I guess no since you’re so hell bend on demonising Proton in anyway possible. So what is the point criticizing Proton for not producing electric car.

You might as well question you beloved Toyota why they are not producing electric car here because at least you can buy it even if they put 24 double A batteries in it.

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:22 pm

The rear design of the production looks like potato.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:35 pm

the concept look much nicer..especially the backside..the production look not nice at least to my eyes..

• alahai on Sep 11, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Denza the next xiaomi..

• Low Budget on Sep 12, 2014 at 11:59 am

CAn buy buy Xiaomi online at http://www.mi.com/my/ got to wait at least 3 weeks before delivery, looks like buying a Japanese cars, got to wait longer.

• please come to MY!!!

• kalam on Sep 11, 2014 at 4:44 pm

If the car come to Malaysia. It will be at showroom or auto show only. People are not ready yet. Maybe after the COMOS program is successful , Malaysian will start to like electric car.

• german car lovver aka Jian on Sep 11, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Looks nice though cannot stand China build………………especially with an electric car

• v6 cruiser on Sep 11, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Spoted toyota camry, altis, innova old model steering..

• Josh Ling on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:19 am

it’s unique enough, that i can say, but it really borders on too weird and china-ish for me.

i’d rather they make it looks like a proper sedan, hatchback or coupe, than this “neither this nor that” look. i don’t know, i just don’t get it. probably is due to the market taste or something.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 12, 2014 at 1:59 pm

at least china already got tesla…here? apa pun takde….bmw saya bocor hari hari