Volvo XC60 T6 introduced – 306 hp from 2.0L, RM316k

XC60 T6 - 2

Earlier on, we reported on the imminent arrival of the Volvo XC60 T6 when a brochure detailing the car was revealed online. Now, Volvo Malaysia has officially opened the order books for the car, with prices starting from an introductory RM315,888 (on-the-road without insurance).

The XC60 T6 is powered by the all-new Drive-E 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder mill, with 306 hp at 5,700 rpm and 400 Nm of twist available from 2,100 rpm to 4,500 rpm – up 61 hp and 50 Nm from the T5 variant. An eight-speed Geartronic automatic gearbox sends power to the front wheels, and it’s all good enough to get the 0-100 km/h dash done in 6.9 seconds.

Upgrades over the T5 version include 18-inch Pan Alloy rims shod with 235/60 tyres and an eight-inch Adaptive Digital Display. The latter, first featured on the Volvo V40 T5, employs an active Thin Film Transistor (TFT) display unit to project information to the driver. Three themes are available – Elegance, Eco and Performance.

The variant gets a new ‘Sensus Connect’ infotainment system. Among the functions available are cloud-based services, an improved navigation module with 3D maps, Tune-in internet radio – with 80,000(!) channels and voice control for the infotainment and navigation functions.

Safety systems include a new Pedestrian and Cyclist Detection system, which helps to avoid collisions by scanning the road ahead for individuals who may stray into the path of the vehicle. Should that happen, the car will emit a warning and will apply full automatic braking if the driver doesn’t react in time.

There’s also Driver Alert Control (DAC) and Lane Departure Warning (LDW), as well as Road Sign Information, City Safety, an enhanced version of Volvo’s Blind Spot Information System (BLIS) and Cross Traffic Alert – the latter uses radar sensors at the rear of the car to warn the driver of incoming cars when reversing out into the flow of traffic.

Five colour options are available, and these are Twilight Bronze, Ice White, Electric Silver, Seashell and Ember Black. Optional accessories for the variant include an Iron Stone exterior styling kit and also 20-inch Diamond Cut or Iron Stone Alloy wheels.

The Volvo XC60 T6 comes with Volvo’s 5+5+5 coverage plan, which translates to a five-year/100,000 km warranty, five years of free service and five years of access to the Volvo On Call roadside assistance programme.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• cerato gods on Oct 27, 2014 at 5:51 pm

i totally i love this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • Premium SUV on Oct 27, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Battle against the likes of BMW X3 and Audi Q5, although it is more powerful than the X3 and Q5 but the BMW X3 still beats the Volvo and Audi in terms of driving dynamics and looks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 50
      • tokmoh (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 1:15 am

BMW X3 fugly like shit, and interior feels cheap like Proton with its crappy plastics (you’re just blind to see this because of the badge). Volvo anytime better looking, understated elegance at its finest, exuding quiet confidence.

Driving dynamics? Nonsense, it’s not even important at this point. These cars are made for families, not for track nor off road. Therefore, you’d rather comfort, and that’s exactly Volvo’s forte. Volvo’s comfortable seats, with built-in child booster seats, ensures superior comfort and safety no other car can offer.

Comfort, practicality, safety, power, fuel efficiency, value for money, after sales service, all aspects that Volvo is superior than the Germans. You must be desperate 2″ that needs those German badges to compensate your insecurity to dismiss the Volvo. Don’t get butthurt this Chinese car is better than your darling, it’s made for people who have strong self confidence, greater intelligence to decide the better car for their wallet, and the best protection for their loved ones.

Meanwhile, BMW Malaysia still no balls to offer warranty over 2 years, good luck when Banyak Masuk Workshop, it’s gonna Banyak Makan Wang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 87
        • Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:23 am

Take. My. Like. ALL OF IT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
          • tokmoh (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:30 pm

It appears we’ve rustled many German fanboys’ jimmies lol. Butthurt, jangan tak butthurt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:12 pm

It appears so.

Wow. Such overreact. So fans. Much fun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • turboman on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:22 am

You are absolutely right. Other than so called driving dynamics, bmw has nothing else to offer nowadays. Creaky interior, lousy seats, cheap plastics. Even their famed 6 cyl engines are gone, replaced by rattley and diesel sounding 4 cyl in the 320 and 328i. F30 doesnt handle as good as e90. Im not 100 percent sure of their claimed superiority in driving dynamics anymore cause the merc, volvo audi and lexus have improved their handling to the point of almost parity. Tested the audi a4 2.0 recently and goodness gracious was it fun.

It might still be slightly behind a 3 series, but that gap is seriously small and only felt when you are doing something crazy. To gain that small improvement at the cost of a lousy interior and pathetic 2 yr warranty? I d say thanks but no thanks.

Most ppl are blinded by the badge thinking its a BMW and it can do no wrong. This coupled with massive discounts via pre reg thats why they are moving lots of cars a year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 22
        • Anakjambi on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:33 am

My goodness, i can sense a lot of hatred in you my young jedi. Cool it dude. Life is short and enjoy while u still can.
          On 2nd thought, are u jealous of not owning the sheer driving pleasure of BMW X3???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
          • Sounds like his girl friend got tackle by a BMW owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
          • tokmoh (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Aku dok jilat Volvo ko tak tengok, pikir butthurt tak pakai BMW plak.

X3 is not sheer driving pleasure, an E30 M3 is. Nothing to jealous when the Volvo is much more superior in many aspects, and E30 M3 is more superior as a driving machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
        • Kasi you satu like

• Right before the X3 can feel anything, the Volvo already in the longkang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
      • Antonio Rugrogeuse on Jan 04, 2016 at 7:19 am

No way the BMW X3 is better than the Volvo X60.The x60 ride more comfortably and the steering is more precise whereas the steering if x3 is very vague and the ride is just like a japanese suv because you will like floating in thin air.X60 driving dynamics is miles ahead of the x3.Compared to the latest x60 t6 It will eat the x3 for breakfast.

• So my Macan 2.0 can fight with this or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
      • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:56 am

Both cars are not competitors. Macan costs well over RM100k more and has good handling that belies its size & height. Proper competitors will be the Audi Q5 (has better traction thanks to Quattro AWD system with rear bias), and BMW X3 (uninspiring to look at but a gem to drive).

• turboman on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Volvo is competing with Toyota, Honda and VW, not even Audi standard. So don’t try to compare Volvo to Porsche and BMW, it is a different league.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 36
          • turboman. real on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:31 pm

The weakness with the commenting system here is any joker with ill motive can pretend they are some one else. I did not say that volvo is equivalent to honda. Some imbecile did with my name.

test driven a s60 t5 before and despite its fwd config. Its quite fun to drive. Compared to e90, not as great but the cost of creaky interior and short waranty is too much to bear.

buy wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
          • Tahar on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Toyota , Honda and VW are not premium brand to compare with Volvo.

Audi and BMW brand are also not big deal and incomparable to Porsche brand too..

Volvo is a premium brand whereby it will compare with most premium brands and not comparing to non premium brands like Toyota, Honda, Mazda or Nissan .

If you think otherwise then perhaps your mentality is in question or most probably living in a third world standard.

Volvo is looking forward for more young professionals and yuppies ownership and not for any tom dick and harry ownerships without affordability

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
          • Audi Owner on Oct 29, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Right Volvo is about the same with Toyota and Honda, try to compare Volvo to BMW or Porsche is like comparing a ‘Chicken’ to a ‘Phoenix’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
          • Right on.
            Comparing Volvo to Toyota is like comparing a horse and a cow. Toyota lack premium tag.

BMW and Audi are ladies car and most of all a lot of BMWs can be seen left on road side table due to malfunction. Audi is not great either as it will loose a lot of money upon first resell out.

• To be precise

Volvo is competing in the premium market whereas Toyota and Honda is competing the mass or executive market.

Toyota and Honda is actually competing with Proton , Perodua , VW ,Nissan , Mazda , Ford and so on

Silly to say Volvo is competing with Toyota as both are competing in different income brackets.

• R Design on Oct 27, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Ya, nice power and price also good. Also got best service and warranty package among conti brands.
      Salesman say got only 10 cars left for this year. More stock only coming next year.

• Macai on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:12 am

Much safer car than Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:25 am

Why even mention Iriz…? It’s like a Western food party and you suddenly bring in mee kolok. Sure, it’s nice mee kolok but you’re missing out on the theme of the party.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Macai on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Sure they are different category, but isn’t safety the main priority of cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • zaimie on Oct 28, 2014 at 11:38 am

Macai…. please be smart if you want compare somethings.

• Macai on Oct 28, 2014 at 2:21 pm

When Iriz meets Volvo on the road, who do you think will survive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • zaimie on Oct 30, 2014 at 11:31 pm

macai.. macai.. ayoyo!!! I know, u don’t like iriz. that’s why you just compare the iriz with this Volvo. why not.. this Volvo u compare another model such as kia picanto, Hyundai getz, Suzuki swift? Even I love Volvo, but I never said our cars is bad.

• massive under-steer…
    should b 4×4 or AWD…
    hurm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • R Design on Oct 27, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Dude, you sudah test drive ka? If not, stop talking nonsense. This car uses torque-vectoring system to prevent “massive” under-steer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Porsche guy on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Wow.. this car just about fully cover everything…with tons of equipment and also the warranty. The price is also quite okay..definite car for an upmarket soccer mom..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:20 pm

300 HP, 400 Nm. All to the front wheels.

Most powerful sub 400k SUV. But I can’t imagine the wheelspin lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • nabill (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 6:58 pm

i bet they made the throttle softer to counter the torque steer , or a longer 1st drive ratio…

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 10:37 pm

I agree with nabill. There are ways to manage the mountain of torque on this T6 configuration. Limiting the engine’s response in the earlier gears brings to mind the Ferrari California T that I had recently read about which had torque limited through the gears with the peak torque only being allowed to come in on the 7th gear.
      I don’t know for sure but a longer 1st drive ratio is already kind of a norm for Continental cars, isn’t it? If someone knows more about this, please enlighten me (us).

• Gaviny on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Sweet, ok Volvo time for v40 to get these engines now

• R Design on Oct 27, 2014 at 11:03 pm

V40 engines are ok, it is the S60 and V60 engines that are really ancient and really need these Drive-e engines.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 27, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Volvo once again shows the proper way to spec a car here in Malaysia but sadly this price is only an intro price and not the actual one….

• Dont worry, actual pricing is only 10k more.. I have spoken with the SA. Normal pricing is around RM 325K.
      Im planning to book this. But if it has sold out, I will wait for the actual pricing one. Just 10k more, still justifiable. Wanted to buy Macan but paying RM460k for a 2.0L isnt very rational at all.

• Jaybond on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:19 am

So Volvo Malaysia, where’s the Facelifted Volvo S60 ?????? When are you going to launch this car?

• SA at federal auto glenmarie told it’s next year and booking will be open soon by end of this year or early january

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:06 am

These cars make tow truck operators happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 38
  • tishaban on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:22 am

Pricing is good for those specs, only RM28k over the XC60 T5 so either the T5 is overpriced or the T6 is underpriced :D

Warranty for just 100k km is lame though, even BMW with their crap 2-year warranty covers unlimited mileage. Most people hit 100k km within 3 years. To me this is essentially marketing speak and shows how little Volvo Malaysia is willing to invest to support their customers.

Having said that though the family XC90 was reliable during 6 years of ownership but then again I’ve heard horror stories as well.

• AMG F1 on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:02 pm

I am certain the warranty is unlimited mileage. The 100k km limit is only for service. Will call up dealer again to double check.

• Levin on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:08 am

Correct me if i’m wrong, but it looks like there’s a supercharger in the engine as well. It should be a twincharged engine. From the engine photo, can clearly spot a roots type supercharger mounted to the engine.

NEW: XC60 FWD (225 kW) Drive-E engine
    Sporty in-line 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine
    Supercharged and turbocharged with launch control
    400 Nm torque from 2100 – 4500 revs
    Smooth and dynamic
    Brake energy charging
    Eight-speed Geartronic transmission

• Josh Ling on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:21 am

is this car a CBU or CKD like XC60 T5?

• TheDean on Oct 28, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Usually, a tuned-up turbo mill will require either very, very expensive parts or more frequent servicing. At 300hp and 400Nm from a mere 2L, I wonder which scenario this Volvo takes.

• I’m sold, a 300hp suv built like tank? I’m booking it now

• Agree, Iriz tak mau, ini mau

Volvo > Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • bro, why are you comparing a luxury compact executive suv with a b-segment city car? Doesnt make sense lah

• tricycle on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Everything with this car is great except for SUV with FWD? With 300hp? How does it handle on bend? Torque steer?

Please bring the AWD volvo Malaysia for SUVs with 300++hp.

• niterunner99 on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Hmmm…should buyers just wait for the new XC90 instead?
    Don’t end up like the Merc C class buyers…buy previous model, then new facelift shows up 1yr+ later…wah fed up man!

• XC90 is a d segment suv while the xc60 is a c segment suv. Two different SUV.

Next gen xc60 using the spa platform (currently been used on the new xc90) wont appear until 2016-2017. For now, volvo will be pushing out the drive-e engine for all current model.

Unless you’re planning to buy a S80, i recommend you wait next year. I hear that volvo will be launching the next gen s80 somewhere in 2015.

• Regina on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:58 am

I love the designs of Volvo cars and the cool electronic features it comes with.

I just wish they would redesign that horrible centre console button layout, it’s extremely unattractive.

• Stamp on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Im being picky here.
    There’s no bloody reverse camera in this RM300k car. What a shame to Volvo Malaysia!