Mitsubishi Pajero facelift now in Malaysia – RM291,178

mitsubishi-pajero-facelift-malaysia-1

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has introduced the Mitsubishi Pajero facelift in the country. This is the second time the fourth-gen SUV has been updated since its introduction in 2006, never mind that the car itself is a heavily-revised version of the third-gen model, which had been around since 1999.

The updated seven-seater features a new full-length grille bordered by two large vertical chrome bars. The front bumper has also been reshaped and feature LED positioning lights. At the back, the spare tyre cover and rear number plate garnish have been redesigned.

Enter the vehicle (via a redesigned key fob) and you are greeted by metallic trim on the central air vents and woodgrain on the passenger-side dashboard and steering wheel. New central touch-screen, too.

A rear-seat entertainment system comprising a nine-inch display with two wireless headphones is now fitted as standard, along with leather seats, a powered driver’s seat and auto single-zone front air-con. Second- and third-row passengers get their own roof air vents, with independent control.

Mechanicals? Status quo – a 3.8 litre MIVEC V6 sends 250 PS and 329 Nm of torque to all four wheels through Super Select 4WD and an INVECS-II five-speed auto with Sport Mode.

The 4WD system features four selectable modes. The safety arsenal comprises six airbags and Mitsubishi Active Stability and Traction Control (M-ASTC).

Fully-imported (CBU) from Japan, the Mitsubishi Pajero facelift is priced at RM291,178, OTR without insurance (no price change from the pre-facelift). A three-year/100,000 km warranty is offered, and Warm White Mica, Eiger Grey Metallic and Cool Silver Metallic colours are available.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 6:30 pm

off road king

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • karam singh on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Ugly,, ewwwww
      offroad – Range Rover … muahahahahahaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Obviously (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Range Rover. Hope you got enough in the bank for when it breaks down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • sudonano (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Actually, quite the contrary. I found my asian car purchased the same time as my Range Rover to have endless troubles (I call it endless possibilities) than my Range Rover bought new. In fact, the newer Rangies are very reliable, all I had to do was the regular service, and fill it up with petrol and rotate tyres.

• RM300k for Japanese car on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:05 am

Something is wrong with Malaysia. Something is really wrong when a normal cheap priced car like this in Japan is priced RM300,000. Something is seriously wrong.

In small towns, that is the price of a whole house.

What is MOST important is where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up!

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 62
        • Obviously (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:55 pm

@sudonano,

Interesting. May I know how many years old are both of your cars now? Because that seems to contradict UK’s Warranty Direct data with Range Rover being one of the most unreliable ones there. Of course, they didn’t just factor in the reliability. They factored in the cost of repair as well, which was what I was getting at.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:01 pm

My Range is a 2013MY car, and my Asian car is a 2012MY car. Both were bought new, direct from their respective official dealers in Malaysia.

In terms of repair cost, the Range’s repair costs was no more than a comparable German marque, I had some things repaired at my cost when an ass hit it cause the person was texting while driving (bodoh tahap bangang la that one). But as for general reliability, knock on wood, the only warranty claim I had was door seals. Not a single rattle, squeak or broken electronic gadget. I’d say it is nearly as reliable as my German car, though in terms of as a highway cruiser, since it is a Range, the upright stance tends to cause a bit more wind noise compared to the curvier Germans, but I like the fact that while everyone in KL and Selangor slows down in the rain cause of floods and slippery roads, the Range just goes, floods? Drive through it! Slip? The Terrain Response makes sure it doesn’t wheel spin.

But most of all, the interior finish was what sold me over the Germans when I was looking for it. The leather is so so so comfy, it just oozes luxury everywhere.

Comparatively, my Asian car has gone in for warranty repairs so many times, I can get a membership card at my dealer I think. And the warranty payout so far (before labour costs) is nearly 20% of the cost of the car.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Side note:

If we are talking of the older Ford era Rangies, definitely unreliable. The Ford, BMW and prior to that Rangies broke down a lot, especially in the Ford days when they pretty much made a Ford Rover. However when Tata took over and Jaguar joined forces, they pretty much got the cream of the crop. Range Rovers have the AJV8 which has been surprisingly not too bad, and since it is a bit older pretty much all the issues got fixed. The EcoBoost powered models are pretty OK too since Ford already made sure they were done right as those went into Ford’s performance cars. Transmissions now are all ZF which we all know from the German fame how fantastic they are.

Most of the stigma is from the Ford days, the new XJL, XF, F type, Range Rover (Sport, full fat, Evoque) and Freelander and Defender are pretty decent. I’ve got a friend with a 2012 Freelander who takes it off road nearly every day to a construction site, not a single problem, all done in the comfort of Oxford leather and his 17 speaker Meridian concert playing at the back (it’s a Singaporean car).

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:24 am

Enlightening read, Mr. sudo. Gotta renew my perspectives. hehe. Now that you mention it, yes, I now remember that they, along with Volvo and Aston Martin, were once rolled under Ford’s premium marque band. They seem to have suffered a lot during those times. Aston Martin has yet to fully recover but thankfully Jaguar, Land Rover and Volvo found good homes elsewhere.

• RicoT on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:10 am

Would you use a RM1mil Range Rover and go offroad with all the scratches and damages? I wouldn’t. Although there are a lot of Pajero and recond Land Cruiser in Sabah and Sarawak costing ~RM300k, most of them would be treated as a luxury car, and not an offroader/workhorse. On the other hand, the workhorses are pickup trucks, costing ~RM100k, cheaper to maintain, not heartbreaking when damaged.

• Som Seng on Nov 25, 2014 at 9:51 pm

‘pajero’ is spanish and doesn’t translate to ‘offrod-king’, but a rather dirty word.

That’s why it’s branded under a different name in south america and spain.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 11:56 pm

Yeah, it’s called the Montero there. What’s your point? Off-road king is more of a title referring to its well-known offroading capabilities.

• Sorry to say this, but the Pajero looks dated and out of touch with its competitors. I guess this model is a victim of its own success previously. In the 90s, 4WDs = Pajero. Nowadays, not so. Good luck with sales, MMM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:01 am

I would say it’s more of a victim of Mitsubishi’s limited resources. Many in their line-up are due for next-generation replacements now and all the are able to pull off now are facelifts.

• RicoT on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:17 am

How about the Land Rover Discovery? Classic look? =)

• This is a poor man’s Range Rover. Can go offroad and handle the tarmac comfortably. Get rid those recond Harrier, Q5, go offroad sure sangkut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • _xXx_ on Nov 25, 2014 at 7:24 pm

for a slightly lower price, you get yourself a 2011 Q7 3.0 TDi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Yeah..try go offroad with that Q7

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • On road driving of course the TDi Audi is much better. For off roads & lower quality fuel, this pajero is much more suitable.

• Rover (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Honestly, I prefer the looks of the pre-facelifted model. Looks more macho and bold. This kinda look dated compared to the previous model.

• darkermarker on Nov 25, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Really dated dashboard design…..

Mitsubishi, please kick your designers and make them do some proper job….

• banda suri megawan on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:21 pm

having the same fate as isuzu trooper soon disappearing on earth…

• nabill (Member) on Nov 25, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Wd love to know how old this platform is…

• sam art on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:28 pm

fuyoo muranya

• Jimmy on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:38 pm

1st: smaller than Ninja King
    2nd: less favourable brand
    3rd: isn’t all-new Everest a better choice?

• Jimmy on Nov 25, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Where is the anti-roll?

• miss very much “Challenger” body design..

• Can they bring in the 2door/ 3 door variant also. It’s a CBU so I don’t think it will be a big difference if they want to sell in volumes. Bring in the low spec 3.0 also and price it low.maybe 200k?? I’ve always love the looks of the pajero SWB.

• Really on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:45 am

Why does i have a feeling that Mitsubishi is flogging a dead horse by releasing facelift after facelift of what is essentially a 15 years old design?

• out dated design…:(

• rm291k? serious?

• prabowi on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:45 am

300k for a pajero is quite crazy, well into the luxury category. It used to be the common 4wd in malaysia along with isuzu trooper. Dont know why, is it because the pajero has went upmarket or are we getting poorer?

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:33 am

It definitely went upmarket. If you owned an old Pajero before, you’d know.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:47 am

The price is akin to robbing you in broad daylight and there is nobody to stop the robber.

• Gajen on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:46 pm

both exterior and interior look very old and the price is too expensive.

• ITs a great car !been drivin it 2 years