Suggested routes to East Coast from KL, the South

Due to the worsening East Coast floods, certain sections of the East Coast Expressway have either been closed to traffic or are unfit for safe travel, according to various reports.

For the benefit of those sending help and supplies by road, the Public Works Department (JKR) has released a list of suggested routes to the East Coast from KL as well as the South.

These routes may take you a lot longer to reach your destination, but it may be the best (or only) way at present. We urge all to drive carefully and wish all relief efforts the very best.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• eims perfume on Dec 29, 2014 at 4:53 pm

guess we’ll be taking gua musang kuala krai route anyway tomorrow, I wish all the best for those who send helps and supplies. pls wish us luck too..

• erwinkarim on Dec 29, 2014 at 6:52 pm

heard from reports that those routes have landslides. so w/ roads leading to kuala kangsar…

you can check w/ jkr on that info…

• 2nd option for Kuala Lumpur to East Cost to avoid traffic jam at bukit putus/kuala pilah.
    From LEKAS>exit Ampangan/Jelebu>Kuala Klawang>Simpang Pertang>Jempol.
    I used this route every time balik kampung to Pekan, Pahang.
    Even during raya or long weekend holiday never jam.

• prayformalaysia on Dec 29, 2014 at 11:39 pm

thanx paultan for route info…

#prayforpantaitimur
    #prayformalaysia

• From Sg Petani to Kuala Terengganu on Dec 30, 2014 at 8:03 am

What about a possible route from Northern States (Kedah, Perlis, Penang) to East Coast? Other than go to KL first, there seems to be no other way.

There are Air Asia flights from Penang to Kota Bahru, but none to Kuala Terengganu. An equally circuitous route. First, get a taxi from Sg Petani to Penang, then take a flight to Kota Bahru, then another taxi to Kuala Terengganu. I’m not even sure whether a taxi is willing to ferry me from KB to KT.