Hyundai debuts Blue Link smartwatch app at CES 2015

hyundai smartwatch app 3

Another smartwatch app, this time from Hyundai – the automaker announced a new smartwatch app with voice recognition at CES 2015. Working with the company’s cloud-based Blue Link platform, the app will allow features like remote start and service information to be quickly accessed through smartwatches.

The Blue Link smartwatch app works with first- and second-gen Blue Link equipped Hyundai models. The first-gen Blue Link system premiered in the US on the 2012 Sonata and expanded across the automaker’s lineup through 2013, and the next-gen Blue Link can be seen on 2016 Elantra GT and Veloster.

The app allows Hyundai owners to remote start, lock and unlock doors as well as find their car in a crowded parking lot. The wearer simply taps an icon or uses voice commands to execute remote functions – pushing the microphone icon on the watch activates the voice function, where the driver can execute commands such as “start my car,” “lock my car” or “find my car.”

The app must be paired via Bluetooth to an owner’s smartphone that contains the Blue Link mobile app, and works with a host of smartwatch models from Samsung, Motorola, Sony and LG. Android Wear users, meanwhile, will be able to get the app from Google Play sometime in the first quarter of the year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• waters on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:31 am

Sounds a bit gimmicky, although I can see some use-cases for this.

However, what’s the maximum range of bluetooth? Usage may not hold up in real-life

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:53 am

Is fine as long as Proton on this country, We will not let this SHIT be here.

Proton & DrM only needs full profits.

• Jimmy on Jan 08, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Built quality looks cheap / plasticky..Nothing compared to the upcoming Apple iWatch..

• ss427 on Jan 08, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Ahh… I can only hope this tech will be introduced to this part of the world. Hyundai/Kia, are you listening? :)

Hey Sam Loo, please tell everyone here that there’s no resale value for ANY Android Wear watches once the user install this app into it!!!

Haha….

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Reminds me of super spies used this before….