Chevrolet Bolt EV concept – US$30k, 320 km range

2015 Chevrolet Bolt EV Concept all electric vehicle – front ex

While we wait for our sub-RM100k Malaysian-developed EV with a 300 km range, America has shown off its own vision of an affordable electric vehicle. The Chevrolet Bolt EV concept you see here is designed to have a range of more than 320 km, and when it goes into production, it’s said to start from US$30,000.

Not to be confused with the Tata Bolt or the Nissan GT-R Spec (Usain) Bolt, Chevy’s Bolt is an all-electric five-door family hatchback meant for the mainstream market. Think of it as GM’s version of the BMW i3 and you won’t be too far off.

Chevy says the Bolt EV offers a few operating modes that adjust the accelerator pedal mapping, vehicle ride height and suspension tuning to suit your preferred driving style. High-tech materials used in the construction are lightweight aluminium, magnesium, carbon-fibre and even woven mesh.

Inside, a minimalist approach is taken, with a large 10-inch screen taking centre stage. The display can interact with the concept Bolt EV Connect app, which, among others, can allow a smartphone to perform as the key fob, as well as operate an automatic park-and-retrieval system. This looks like a winner, doesn’t it?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• 320km, nice!

• prabowi on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Damn similar like the emas concept. Proton too slow to produce one so n now have been hijack by others.

• TESLA is completely FREE! on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Those idiots at MAI are so so so so so stupid. Tesla is NO 1 in electric technology and hybrids.

Recently Tesla said all patents and tech info is FREE for everyone. Anyone can take it for free. All their patents, plans, designs, blueprints and working models are FREE.

That means if MAI had a brain or even Proton had a brain, Malaysia could produce the best EEV or Hybrid cars for zero research

• Takashi Hibi on Jan 13, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Tough guy,

Ever wonder why nobody ever come up with your ‘brilliant’ idea before?

You think with free patents, design, etc, can replicate Tesla car so easily?

• Easy said than done!
          Here some people act like genius engineers, and bash p1 like no tomorrow.

If it’s said FREE believe me it’s actually not entirely free.

• haris harun on Jan 13, 2015 at 6:49 pm

proton bukan slow tapi proton bodoh… itu saja… design iriz sgt sampah ..belum lagi sampai satu tahun iriz dipasaran pun dah nampak lapuk.

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 13, 2015 at 2:44 pm

30k here you only get Axia.

• 30k USD bro..so about 100k here which is still good for 320km per charge EV, perfect for daily commute

• komarad on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:59 pm

even ford mustang less than USD30k in US…

• Obviously (Member) on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:23 pm

First Volt and now Bolt. What’s next? The Chevy Jolt?

• azhar on Jan 13, 2015 at 3:32 pm

320km is great!…now this will make mitsu & toyota quaking in their boots

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Hearing this news and makes me feel Iriz and Myvi facelift is living at stone age.

• haris harun on Jan 13, 2015 at 6:39 pm

wow … ini baru la
    GSC
    PCC
    global small car
    potong compact car

• ahlee bin ahtan on Jan 14, 2015 at 9:06 am

petrol free penang to KL yess