2015 Ford Mondeo EcoBoost – Malaysian specification and indicative pricing revealed, RM203,800 OTR

New_Ford_Mondeo_Malaysia_04

Up to now, details on the Malaysian-specification 2015 Ford Mondeo EcoBoost – which is set to be officially introduced in April – have been limited to that teased about the D-segment sedan via the Ford Malaysia website.

Kit already confirmed for the fifth-gen CD391 (known as the Fusion in North America) to be sold here includes adaptive LED headlamps, adaptive cruise control, dual-zone auto climate control, SYNC 2 infotainment with an eight-inch touchscreen, reverse camera and MyKey.

A general comparison with provisional Australian-market specs that were announced last week showed the upcoming local model to have a spec set sitting in between Australia’s mid-level Trend and high-spec Titanium variants.

Now, complete details of the local-spec Mondeo – assembled in Spain at Ford’s Valencia plant since production was moved from the now shuttered Genk plant in Belgium (thereby delaying RHD build) – have emerged with the surfacing of the car’s tentative price list (with no breakdown) and specs sheet. If the latter is final and definitive, it places the local variant very much as a mid-level Trend with elements from the Titanium added into the mix.

Click to enlarge.

There’s keyless entry/push button ignition, auto fold wing mirrors (with puddle lamps), daytime running lights and the aforementioned adaptive cruise control as per Trend specs, and the Malaysian car will ride on 17-inch alloys (with 235/50 profile tyres) like the Trend. Though not mentioned in the spec sheet, we can expect dual exhausts and well as an electronic parking brake.

As previously listed, general equipment includes auto headlamps, fog lamps, rain-sensing wipers and 10-way powered front seats, Other base items are front and rear parking aid sensors, leather steering wheel and gear shifter as well as paddle shifters,

The local car will feature a couple of items from the Titanium, primarily the adaptive LED headlamps and full leather seats (as opposed to the partial leather on Trend). No panoramic sunroof, as it goes.

The initial mention on the Ford Malaysia website of Lane Keeping Aid + Assist isn’t duplicated in the spec sheet, so it could well mean LKA isn’t on; neither is BLIS and lane departure warning detailed. There’s also no mention of Active City Stop, enhanced Active Park Assist or Pre-Collision Assist with Pedestrian Detection that the higher-spec Australian models are set to feature.

Safety equipment, as previously intimated, is thus made up of seven airbags (front, thorax, curtain and driver knee) – two less than Australia, which will get inflatable rear seatbelts – as well as ABS, EBD, ESC, traction control, hill launch assist and Isofix mount points.

The SYNC 2 infotainment system has nine speakers, Bluetooth connectivity, USB and aux inputs as well as Voice Command for phone, music and climate controls. There’s no mention of navigation, so that’s omitted as expected.

The 2.0 litre EcoBoost offers the same 240 PS and 345 Nm output tune as found previously on the outgoing fourth-gen CD345 Mondeo, and the PowerShift six-speed transmission has been replaced by a conventional six-speed torque converter unit, the 6F35 SelectShift, as seen on the Ford Kuga.

UPDATE: We’ve been informed by SDAC that the pricing as stated in the price list/spec sheet is not the final pricing for the Mondeo – hence the missing bits in the rest of the fields.

The Mondeo will be available in four colours here, these being Tectonic Sliver, Frozen White, Panther Black and Ruby Red. The price list has the all-new Mondeo down at RM203,800 on-the-road with insurance, a RM10k increase over the 240 PS version of the fourth-gen Mondeo, which was priced at RM193,888 when introduced here in 2012. The car will come with a five-year/200,000 km warranty and three-year/60,000 km free service package.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Maxxon on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:29 am

At this price, might as well get a 316 or A3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 21
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:31 am

Ford, you need to worry of quality. Get a Prius better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 71
      • ProtonGSC on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:54 am

Is indeed a good car… but that kind of price I will top-up for a Benz CLA.

Sime Darby crazy at pricing as usual… another lousy marketing and launching price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
        • tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Chill, when year end comes it’ll have big discounts.

Fiesta ecoboost RM100k stupid pricing, then year end give RM15k discount lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrrr on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Big discount on car price… and quality too.

• STAY AWAY from Ford on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Stay away from ford la. I own a 2014 Ford Focus and no matter how small your accident, no matter how small the parts are, you have to wait 3 months before the is ordered in.

My bumper kena langgar also, I had to wait 3 months for the bumper to come in. Come on la, the bumper and side mirrors are the most common thing to kena langgar, Sime darby should stock this in all the time.

that is one thing. 2nd thing is major. Ford uses dual clutch dry type. My car broke down like 4 times just last year alone. And when the gearbox fails, the car halts to a standstill with gearbox locked. you cannot push it to the side of the road and you need the special tow truck that can pull your car up with hydraulic pully.

Everybody will curse you on the road when your gearbox locks and you cannot push your car at all.

My advice, stay away from Ford in Malaysia. It is a good car overseas but here, the support is so bad. So many people complain the same thing the past few years but still no improvement. Still have to wait 3 months for parts to come in. to make matters worse, they hold your car for 3 whole months. If you only have one car, you will cry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
          • Ford - King of RV Depreciation on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Aiyoo, Ford is bad news la. You want to buy this car, buy it 2nd hand. Everybody knows, Ford is King of RV Depreciation in Malaysia.

You buy this for RM204k, in 1 years time you sell also, if you get RM100k also you will be lucky.

All the SDAC salesman and Fiesta fanboys are all out to say good things about Ford, but you yourself go and check mudah and carlies, see for yourself how fast Ford drops.

So, after use few years, and susah payah pay for few years, you will have to top up your loan by at least RM20,000 or more.

To those who are really interested in buying this car, buy it after 1 year old. Let the first buyer bear the brunt of depreciation.

I had a Ford before and it took me more than a year to sell the car off. Nobody wants it in the 2nd hand market!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
          • Datuk Lawrence on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Ha Ha Ha Ha. All the bodohs buying this car. It is so so cheap overseas. And SDAC gets it at super cheap price because Sime Darby is the Country Principal, so, get this car at cost price.

Sime Darby gets this car not even US$15,000 but sell it to the fools in Malaysia for RM204,000.

Ha Ha Ha. Bodoh betul Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
          • BMW 520i is RM250k!! on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Aiseh, what a price. 2014 Pre Registered Mercedes E250 or BMW 520i now being sold at RM250k, down from RM370k brand new. Go to Auto Bavaria, they are throwing these prices.

Go and add a bit more and get a real BMW or Mercedes la. Buy a Ford junk for RM204k. Malu betul. No status and considered a normal car.

If you can afford Rm204k, obviously you can up it a bit to buy a real prestigious car like BMW or Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
          • Modeo - Minicab Car in UK on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Only a really stupid person would pay RM200k for a toilet jamban car. In the UK, Modeos are so cheap. It is a Minicab car.

All Mini Cabs use either Modeo or Passat. But here in Malaysia, it is considered luxury……ha ha ha.

Malaysians, please open your eyes. Better you buy a 2nd hand BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • krishna on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:08 pm

dont talk if you have not driven a ford before. My Ford has not given me any problems for 5 years.

Maxxon, u r comparing an entry level 1.6 C and B segment cars to a premiuum D segment. Should compare this to a E Class, 5 series, Camry, Accord, Optima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
        • Jimmy on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Camry is RM25K cheaper on paper, RM5K cheaper due to discount and RM25K cheaper due to much higher resale value. So total = RM50K cheaper, at least. Mazda6 is the best buy if you want to talk about D-segment.

To me I will still go for 316, can get at exactly the same price OTR, brandnew.

Not even a dai gor should lead the trend to go beyond RM200k for ordinary D-segment. Please boycott whoever does this.

• Datuk Lawrence on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Of course, because you are a SDAC salesman. For your good work online, Sime Motors will give you extra bonus!

• autodriver (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:12 pm

You are very luck coz your ford not giving you “any” problem for 5 years, how amazing it can be.

My friend and colleague were driving new Focus sedan 2012 and Fiesta 1.6 2011. Both facing the clutch problem and need to change clutch pad and software update. Besides that some rattling sound located at passenger door for Focus, but this was small issue which solve less than 10k km.

I don’t have confident to compare the new Mondeo with Accord, 5 series, Camry, Optima etc D-segment car because the actual cabin size still remain unknown. If you sat insize new Focus, you will immediately find the cabin space smaller than Vios, City, Almera, Persona etc despite these are B-segment car where Focus was in “C-segment”. This is how I feel since I sat more than 10 times with my friend’s new Focus.

• sonia on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:36 am

Stupid ford salesman spotted. Dog shit technique

• Why would pay the same amount of money for a car with 100hp less and far less equipment

• Stay Away from Dry Clutch on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Ford uses dry clutch like the DSG in VW. Always juddering and always break down.

Buy this car is as bad as buying VW Passat with DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Check this up on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:26 pm

this time ford using conventional gearbox…….. Select shift.

• Halley Leong on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:36 am

Previously my Golf TSI also got same problem but after replacement from Volkswagen now no problem dy since my replacement in this year January. No more breaking down already now, but if compared to my previous car Toyota Vios which is far way worst. So Volkswagen not that bad after all.

• Datuk Lawrence on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Motors will give all SDAC staff 12 months bonus if you can come here and write good things on this car and thumbs down any negative comments

• therealmaserati on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:45 am

First and foremost, not everyone needs 240hp . In fact most dont. In everyday city driving, u are hardly ever going to use all that horses.

Besides in jams, a 240hp car burns way more fuel than a 150hp car.

Unless u drive the north south highway alot, 240hp is practically useless in city traffic. How fast can u go on the Ldp?

I myself drive a 210hp car and i can hardly drive at 160kmh on nkve because thr are just too many cars.

So in my opinion, i rather top up a lil bit to get a 320i, or CLA200. Both of them have way better badges than Ford.

Both have lower HP than the Mondeo but trust me, its more than enough for daily city drive and that occasional outstation drive .

• they should price it against the Passat…

• MrNyx (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Hahaha, the US Ford introduced this new Ford Mondeo with such good performance and technology equipped yet with the price close to its competitor that hopes to compete with its competitors. But when comes to Malaysia, the Sime Darby said: “No, with performance and technology given like this, I must price higher”

• hmm a little bit too expensive maybe? hope it to be below rm200k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Albert Sam on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:32 am

Woah…best value in D segment class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
    • JB_KIA on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:52 pm

go find out how’s the depreciation of the previous 2L ecoboost mondeo. 2.3L NA lagi teruk. All want to cry but no tear…lol

• Car is really awesome n advanced features.but SD set price which will ultimately pull out buyers.to penetrate the MY MKT price should b Rm 150k range.so no to this car bez of sky hi rocket price.learn basics pls SD(Sime Darby)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • RIP Passat. And good thing they didn’t go with the dual clutch crap gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • BTW Ford also using dry clutch right?
      Pls advise.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:09 pm

The new CD391 Mondeo uses a conventional torque converter automatic transmission. The US-built 6F35 SelectShift replaces the previous dual-clutch PowerShift unit in the CD345 Mondeo.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:40 pm

The previous Ecoboost Mondeo’s dual clutch gearbox was a wet clutch type, the same unit as in the facelifted Volvo S80 2.0T and facelifted Volvo S40. Even though it was a dual-clutch unit, it’s a reliable one.

• Really? Mine is in process of full replacement. And the fact it is no longer used says alot about the reliability of the wet dct

• What? on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Bro, i thought all VW using the dual Clutch DSG? Why you mentioned Passat not using it?

• Nasi ayam on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:43 am

Erhmmm….with that kinda price.
    Ppl rather get a 316i or new passat I guess .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:34 am

The 316i is smaller inside and has nowhere near as much kit as the Mondeo. But of course, the 3 series is a better drivers car. I presume this is CBU from Thailand?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:38 am

heybadigol, no, the Mondeo is built in Almussafes, Spain at Ford’s Valencia plant. I will add this into the story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Kilawana on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:11 pm

True. Both cars look cool and good performance. Passat is well known for its design, same goes to 316i. I wonder will people buy this Mondeo or not. I dont think so.

• kington on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:47 am

One would expect a fully kitted car at that price.

The last one was sold at approx. RM190K. For this to go up to RM200K is not much of a suprise seeing how the car industry works here. Over the years we’ve seen Civics and Corollas sold in the 90s at RM70K till its current atmospheric RM140K. You don’t see this in open markets such as Australia.

• tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Cukur GST will turunkan harga kereta

Yea right. Too many naive hoping for price drop. You wish.

• One of the cheapest Europe assembled car here. Perhaps Euro car fans should have a look into this. Beats locally assembled EU cars here, eh.

• Newcomer on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:49 am

Well, that was too expensive. It should be cheaper

• dewaSemut on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:53 am

RM203,800? Wow, SDAC seriously? With this price, should be at least justified with the high spec Titanium variant with all the goodies.

Good luck to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • waters on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:00 am

203K?? Are they nuts?

• That price. Tak boleh belah. Seriously. Why are cars so expensive nowadays? I simply can’t compute that pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Ask Najib!

• tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:24 pm

MAI said sudah turun harga. They compare this Mondeo price with Mercedes E-class, then tell org kg car price da turun from RM400k++ to RM204k, janji ditepati, please vote BN more so I can continue collect gaji buta from you peasants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • No comment on price but it’s a beautiful car.

• The price is expensive but the tax from GOV make the total price more hard to believe. Kudos to gov

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • therealmaserati on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:10 am

Very well kitted but no way its gonna sell at 204k. Way too overpriced for a Ford.

At that price, can get bmw, merc, audi which all have a much stronger badge than Ford has.

Sorry Ford, not this time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Gracke on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:18 am

Is a great car but why another 10k increase??1!?? :-( hope they consider properly….

• 17 inch???

Are you crazy???

• jemah on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:31 am

STOP LA KOMEN MAHAL OR WHATEVER…BUKAN KAU MAMPU BELI PUN KALAU HARGA AROUND RM190K….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 25
  • jawabandar on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:39 am

I thought the gov is trying to lower car price.Now what happen?

• half of the price goes to excise duty so we get half the value here :|

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:48 am

Okay hold on for those who thinks this is too expensive.

The Passat CBU is 185k, 1.8TSi with the 7 speed DSG, and the standard safety features at the price. About 160PS and 250Nm, again class competitive.

The Honda Accord is about 171k in the 2.4 guise, with 171hp and 225Nm, pretty standard safety like the Passat.

Mazda6 Sedan 2.5, also 185k or so, with 181 hp and 250Nm. Loads of safety though with the forward collision warning and BLIS, but the interior is so-so, doesn’t look as premium considering the competition.

The 508 from Peugeot is with a little 1.6 turbo with the lowest power at 156hp, and 250Nm. It looks expensive and is pretty well built. Safety is class standard but nothing more, just like the Passat and Accord. About 160k too in the Premium spec, making it the cheapest flagship sedan among the rest.

And finally, the VW CC, probably the only car among the lot that can compete on the Mondeo’s new look. About 250k, for the same engine and gearbox as per the Passat, only thing is that it has DCC Dynamic Chassis Control, basically adjustable suspension.

Compared to these, the Mondeo is not bad. The torque is pretty good and so is the power. Having owned a non Ford car but equipped with the same engine, I can attest to the power and reliability, pretty rock solid. Mine has the same automatic as the Mondeo too, same 6 speed automatic, its ok, not as crisp as a ZF auto or a VW DSG but its way smoother than the DSG in traffic, and because it’s made by Toyota, its pretty solid too. Adaptive Cruise is pretty cool, none of the rest come with it either. Rather odd they didn’t do forward collision warning… Though I guess I would use the adaptive cruise more than the forward collision but hey you can’t have enough safety. LED headlights is just like on the Accord 2.4, which are very impressive.

Overall this is one sedan that can give a run for the 328i and C250. Yes. You can’t compare with the A3 1.4 or 1.8, or even the 316i for that matter. The power is just higher compared to the A3 and 316i. In fact, while the 316i is a nice driver’s car, the 1.6 does feel underpowered when overtaking, the F30 chassis needs the 2.0 at least. Plus the A3 is too small, too compact too compared to this.

I think they can pull this off. But make sure you buck up the aftersales. At least for once, this should be really reliable thanks to a proven engine and (finally) no PowerShift.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • therealmaserati on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:35 am

Specs aside, Ford badge automatically lose to BMW Merc and Audi.

No matter hw well kitted, ppl still see badge. Ppl arent gonna bat an eyelid to see a Ford. But park an BMW nxt to it and ppl will notice the BMW.

Sorry, if ur brand is not strong, dont price it skyhigh alongside established and reputable german makes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • sudonano (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Not necessarily.

One of the things about the Mondeo is that many don’t know its a Ford. At night, park it outside a mall, and people will be wondering, hot damn, this car is gorgeous. It get’s the word out. Just look at how they did it with the Focus. Now, on the street, you ask people about a self parking car, they say, oh the Focus you mean?

And tbh, sure the BMW and Audi badge stands out. But the A3 and 316i badge at the back makes it just another Audi or BMW. Not saying they are bad cars (I love the 316i’s lack of power, makes it oddly fun to drive), but on an image perspective, this is spot on gorgeous. Especially at night.

• I’m guessing you’re not familiar with the Mondeo name. There’s a reason why it was voted the best in class.

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:19 pm

At RM 203K it’s very close to the German Premium marques territory. Tech-spec wise it’s quite impressive but, is the overall package attractive enough to lure potential buyers away from the German camp? The current VW CC, while it’s built on the Passat platform, has a more head turning svelte styling compared to the new Mondeo – it does look more special. And of course VW CC is not a direct rival for the Ford Mondeo, it’s the VW Passat. Instead of just focusing on the 2.0L Ecoboost, Ford Malaysia should also introduce the lower priced 1.5L Ecoboost as well for the new Mondeo to better compete with the Japanese.Majority of the potential buyers out there still regard Ford as a mainstream brand. If the price gap is too big with the mainstream D-segment competitors, I’m not sure whether it would work for Ford Malaysia.Surely they could learn something from the Ford Fiesta success?

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:01 pm

but the thing is, the VW CC, its actually really expensive. The BMW 320i is in fact cheaper, both in standard and Sport Edition guise… I’d rather take the BMW over the VW, on the basis that it is more powerful and RWD.

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Of course the high price tag is largely due to the range-topping 240bhp 2.0L Ecoboost engine. And SD only offers this variant, which is a bit ridicilous marketing strategy. VW also only offers a single engine variant for the Passat, but their hp level is not very far off (hence the car’s price) the Japanese D-segment cars.Majority of family car buyers won’t be able to harness the full potential of 240 horses either. Which means an entry level engine (1.5L Ecoboost) is a must.

• tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Don’t worry, in typical idiotic SDAC fashion, they overprice first, then give massive discount at year end.

Just be patient, o padawan. December is just 9 months away, then it’ll be worth the wait.

• citreon C5/ DS5 ?

• Albert Sam on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Aiya…u no need explain lah. Malaysian dunno about car, they dunno what u talking about.

• blaster88 on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:10 am

Your argument makes sense but you forgot a very critical factor – emotional appeal. Very important when it comes to car purchases…

When a particular model reaches a certain price point, the emotional bit becomes even more important than the pragmatic points. Hence, this is where the power of branding or brand perception. Unfortunately, since Ford does not command that kind of perception in Malaysia, the only short term recourse is price….rather price it attractively to gain brand traction.

Moreover, Ford aftersales service sucks…

• GOOD CAR EVEN INTERIOR NOT SO IMPRESSIVE. ITS STILL EXPENSIVE. BETTER GO FOR PEUGEOT 508 2015 OR PASSAT 2015.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Don Juan De Marco on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:56 am

Ford Malaysia should introduce a lower powered variant , that is the 1.5 Ecoboost-engined Mondeo, which produced around 160hp, and could be priced well below RM 200K. If Ford Malaysia is really serious about challenging the Big Japanese 3 (plus 4 if you count Mazda), this is the only way.

• ARJUN on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:57 am

17 inch is too much. paying more thn Rm200k but giving 17inch n no sunroof. tis car easily can go for 19inch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Trust me, 17 is right for a daily driver. 18’s looks good but when driving around bumpy as hell. Also, what is the fascination with the sunroof? We are living in a country which is either damn hot and sunny or raining. Hence the opportunity to really use the sunroof is not alot. Glamour only and when the car gets old… rubber seals may fail…. and the glamour sunroof will be leaking. I say no sunroof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Budak tak pernah tukar tayar dengan duit sendiri cakap lebat la.

See price difference 17″ and 19″, these kids go eat maggi whole month.

Carmaker should sell smallest size. If want more, go buy ownself outside, wanna put 22″ also nobody cares.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Trust me, even the cost of 17s can be painful. I’m content with the 17s, good balance for ride comfort and looks.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:09 pm

I went on the internet, and I found this :

235/45R17 Goodyear F1 Asy 2 – RM620 QuickSave USJ (July-13)

235/35R19
        Goodyear F1 Asy 2 – RM1110 Tee 3 Auto & Tyre Service Sdn Bhd (May-13)

Syukur I use 15″, can get 4 donuts for same money of one 17″

• BLT_Club on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:00 am

Wow, 200k for a Ford which is supposed to a bluecollar car. Amazing price. But badge snobs would go for 316i which really is a kosong spec. Please debadge the 316i, you wouldn’t want the world to know you bought a kosong car…

• org malaysia rela guna wang banyak beli logo je…mereka nie mane ade peduli sangat spec2 yg sedia ade

• Too Expensive. Nvm if the sales is bad they will offer 20-30k discounts.Then 170-180k will be more reasonable after discounts. lol..Now 2014 brand new mondeo giving 35k disc to clear stock

• blaster88 on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:09 am

Hmmm….RM203k plus reduced specs compared to the overseas version? Expecting it to around the previous price. I would wait for the new Passat…

• behsongMondeoPrice on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:11 am

With this price..i better buy Mer or BMW …at least the status better than Ford.

• tawil on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:12 am

Still imported from belgium?

• john doe on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:40 am

Wow, with this price i better go for the germans

Riding the germans, like a rich man

Riding ford, looks like so so man

• I thought u go 4 Toyota TRD???!!!

• tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:15 pm

This car is German engineered.

Lol, you insecure wussy think only German badge can become bangga la. Sucks to be you.

• John doe on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Haiyaa tokmoh, so short thinking la you. Cetek pemikiran.

Even if german engineered, it is still a ford. You change badge also, it is a ford.

Ford can never be on par with merc, beamers and audi.

Well at least for this class la.

Ford GT, Mustang Shelby, Mustang cobra are of course in the different class.

• tokmoh. on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:40 am

I see cars beyond its badge, I’m called cetek pemikiran?

You stereotype ford, automatically makes u deep thinker? Lel, you’re a joke.

Mondeo is a hot seller in UK, you think they’re cetek?

Whatever, German loving badge snobs usually bodoh sombong takleh diajar.

• TenCars on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:51 am

Hope it can sell more than 10 cars per year with this pricing…

• SDAC after sales sucks on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:51 am

Price is too high with low class after sales service.

• joejambol on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:54 am

apa lu orang worry about badge? u pull off/cabut FORD badge then put on/tampal aston martin badge…viola..bmw n merc pun kalah…no body knows excepts PT enthusiastic. balik kampong orang kampong mana tau itu ford ka aston martin ka…tapi org kg kadang2 hanya tau bmw sama mercedes saja…audi pun diorang tak pandang/tak tau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • lee teik soon on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:08 pm

In the current D segment, Mazda 6 is now the fully equip with safety feature and assist system. If Ford Mondeo should want to sell car at above RM200k, please consider putting all safety system and driver assist aid (auto parking, auto braking and etc).
    If one should buy car for look at RM200k. I dont think Ford will sell many.
    Ford Mondeo should at least be the first car at RM200k to provide all driver aid just like the Australia spec.
    Because of this Mondeo is only offering low spec trim, I dont think they can sell many at all. No selling point for a RM200k car.

• Seriously I will go CLA200, more pretty└(^o^)┘

• hooooooooo on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Nvm just get vios not most ppl say VIOS is the best car meh
    GOD CAR mah

• MondeoPriceShock on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Rather wait for 2nd hand Mondeo after 2 years. This price is just way too expensive. Hope it can at least break Iriz sales unit in total…

• tau x pa. check dkt mudah tgl RM89ribu jer. baru lg kot. ha3. 2nd hand better. warranty pun ada lg

• I would recommend all bashers to give a spin (test drive) then give your comment after that. Having to own a 2011 fiesta and focus, as well as having to drive this particular model in London as a rental car, I would give a 5 star

• Previous gen year end price slashed by about 30K. Expect the same slash and don’t buy new come year end!

• Great car… but busted by price … as usual.

But thinking about it, the Ford stays in a niche market between the Germans and the Japs. More specs and bigger car, priced higher than the japs and lower than the Germans.

But the question remains as to how well the Malaysian Market see this car and its pricing. Is the market willing to be adventurous enough for to break away from its tradition (jap cars)?

Hope Ford is watching this and not blindly following SD’s marketing Strategy ! All the best to Ford.

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Of course the high price tag is largely due to the range-topping 240bhp 2.0L Ecoboost engine. And SD only offers this variant, which is a bit ridicilous marketing strategy. VW also only offers a single engine variant for the Passat, but their hp level is not very far off (hence the car’s price) the Japanese D-segment cars.Majority of family car buyers won’t be able to harness the full potential of 240 horses either. Which means an entry level engine (1.5L Ecoboost) is a must.

• Therealmaserati on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:11 pm

As i said, its a darn good car. But the fact is the Ford brand doesnt carry any weight in Malaysia.

No matter hw good ur Ford is, its still a Ford, and to ask ppl to fork out 200k for a Ford is a big ask.

Not many ppl willing to do that. Ppl might as well go for a kosong BMW . Hey at least the BMW is recognisable and respected when u drive around town.

Ford badge nobody gives a shit when u drive around town even if its loaded with kit.

• Jimmy on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:25 pm

And, one day, you will realise that you do not use 80% of the non-safety related equipments/devices in your RM1mil vehicles. You don’t know or forgot how to operate them because you have more than a few different vehicles.
      At the end of the day, you spend a few millions mostly for the badge. One obvious example is rich mature people seldom drive >110km/jam with their F/L/P.
      Badge is more important than specs, provided always that both carry the same level of safety equipments.

• they should reduce 5K and the price will looks like 100K different.. 203K vs 198K… u know what i mean..

• ARJUN on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:51 pm

they giving free service for 3 years.. u wil save some RM5k thr.

• Roti Kosong on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:25 pm

People prefer BMW, AUDI selling 150k with underpowered engine or even without airbag. Because they buy car for people see only that’s why badges and design is important to them.

No wonder Vios J with plastic wheel cap still having great resell value in Mudah.my

• previous model mondeo was RM 188 k now the new model is RM 204k the difference is RM 16k? wait did the government implemented gst for around Rm 12k? Isnt that government said replace from SST to GST is cheaper? feel cheated by the scammer again.

• bad pricing, nobody would buy ford for more than 200k even with big disc…disc today depreciation tomorrow just like nissan…wrong strategy…

• Azman on Apr 03, 2015 at 10:39 pm

I lived in Australia and drove the Ford Mondeo XR5. One of the best cars, I think in terms of power and handling, for the price you pay. It rivals the BMW 535i at half the price and definitely a better drive than most Benz or any other Japanese car out there in the same class. After sales service if you say is true is a big drawback though.