New Ford Mondeo EcoBoost to reach Malaysia in April

New_Ford_Mondeo_Malaysia_11

The new Ford Mondeo sedan has appeared on Ford Malaysia’s website, and as you can see in the teaser image above, it’s set to arrive here in April 2015. This sort of came out of nowhere – not unlike the Honda CR-V facelift’s surprise entry today, actually.

Initial details of the impeccably handsome D-segment sedan have been announced too. Like the outgoing model, the new one is set to get a 2.0 litre EcoBoost engine, which is more than likely to have a higher output figures than the current car’s 240 PS and 340 Nm of torque. There’s no more dual-clutch transmission – the new Mondeo now wears a 6F35 six-speed SelectShift auto (with torque converter) gearbox.

Also mentioned are multi-adaptable LED headlamps, dual-zone automatic climate control, SYNC 2 multimedia system with a big 8.0-inch touchscreen display, reverse camera and MyKey (check out Ford’s description of this feature here). Electronic Stability Control (ESC), adaptive cruise control and Lane Keep Assist each get a shout out too.

The new Mondeo was previewed for the Malaysian market at KLIMS13, albeit wearing the Fusion badge (as it is called in the USA). Back then, it was understood that the large sedan would adopt the American name to go along with the Ford Fiesta and Focus. It looks like the decision has since been reversed.

Learn more: ,

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• look like a jaguar …or has some jaguar in it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • jemah on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:07 am

more to aston martin i think…

so good bye camry(2 airbag only?), accord, teana, sonata lf, optima, kizashi,

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 22, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Camry may gave you less airbags, but save you a lot of time and money in garage. Ford is good, but build quality, still miles from Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 42
        • karam singh on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Its ok to visit workshop than grave..
          So, safety first ;D
          240hp , Toyota miles miles away compared to high roadtax 2.5V 170hp …
          oops, didnt you recall ? camry just got recalled

http://paultan.org/2014/11/13/toyota-camry-other-models-recalled/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • Well said, safety always the top priority for me when choosing a car

• CDEM_ooi on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Toyota camry? No thanks..

• Sammy on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:33 am

I think is a case of the recent Jaguar look more like a ford now.

• Ninja Siam on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:48 pm

I think look like a new mustang 2015 for headlamp..and mustang with chrome grill..nice car…for nice price..

• Apply cold water to the burned area, Toyota Camry …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • ProtonGSC on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:34 am

Camry? only UMW treat it self like a Royal car…

Lousy UMW !!! Please just change the whole damn dealership.

Ford is good stand and challange even Japan cars were more popular.

Proton act like Sissy and hide behind MAI and cronies father DrM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Wow, the spec list is impressive enough to put even premium brands to shame. There’s even adaptive cruise control and adaptive LED headlights! If they sold it around the price of an Accord or Teana then I believe we have a winner here…now of only Ford improves on its after sales network…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Seen one in Titanium trim with LED headlights a few days ago. OH MY GOD. It looks like a million bucks. It’s large, elegant, sexy, sporty, … Easily beats an Audi A5 IMHO. More like a Jaguar or Aston Martin (unsurprisingly).

I think it’s a hatchback, right? So loading things should be very easy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • thank goodness they fixed the hideous infotainment system that the previous model had

• o-Man on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:32 pm

A handsomely proportioned car. I hope with all those active safety measures Ford Malaysia will not orphaned us Malaysian with just 2 airbags only. There is also a proper shift paddles as opposed to the silly button shifter on the gear lever. Nice job Ford Malaysia for bringing in the Fusion.

• Simple and nice, forston Martin

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:48 pm

before u buy a camry,,,,,please consider this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • Ownmycar on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Saw this since 2013. How come still no massage chair, Sony speaker, blind spot detection, rear inflatable seat belt and etc? No hatchback though.. Shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
  • ninpo on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Nice and fresh look….keep it up FORD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Handsome car, very strong character lines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • As a current Mondeo Ecoboost owner, I sincerely urge the potential buyers to test a Mondeo before deciding buying any D-segment marques. It is worth to explore what Mondeo could deliver and to experience what the owners used to enjoy about.
    Till now, 2.5yrs ownership, my Mondeo is remain awesome as its’ first day.
    RV? Who cares, my Mondeo has delivered more than what l would expect.
    P/S: Last week, it saved me from a almost out of control situation, its’ ESC and TCP was so firm and steady pulling me out from the situation. I wad wonder what would happen if I drove a T or H..
    Wait, honestly speaking, 240ps/340Nm and Powershift is not a joke, Mondeo is fast, truly fast…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 7
    • the driver on Jan 21, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Agreed. Test drove one before and my verdict after driving 5 series BMWs was, for my money I’d buy this car. It really is that good a car to drive. Don’t have to take my word for it, just ask for a test drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • 5 series owners sure gonna butthurt with your comment heehee

• Locomotion on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:41 am

Porsche has been my regular car to work, got the mondoe for family use, the ford is as good as the Porsche. I m ford salesman? U maybe right.

• It should be a good car. muscle and tech in one. good job.

• ulkamikup on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:03 pm

When car manufacturer offer 240 horses….still got Ah Beng barking for massage seat. As long got VSA, EBD, BA, hill assist, 6 airbags, auto parking..enuf already. Now asking massage thingy pulak. Go Danok la if want massage. People like this better ask for toilet and kitchen. If offer 155bhp…ask for more bhp. Now have 240bhp ask for massage. Of got massage then ask for what?…nabeh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 3
    • chawkit on Jan 22, 2015 at 6:57 am

as for HU that comunicate with chowkit center for extra massage..

• shawal on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:06 pm

the price…..
    the price is an issue…..

CKD it from the get go………..

single variant with all the bells and whistles like K5….

price it competitively

• shawal on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:06 pm

damnit…..we waited dis long….give u SYNC 3!

• wet….thats what i want to hear.

• Not a bad looking car, however will choose Passat B8 over this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 51
    • rekcufrehtom on Jan 22, 2015 at 4:05 am

are u a jacka$$? u’d opt not to buy a car from a company that has really bad after sales service, but then go ahead and buy a car from VWGM which has equally if not worse after sales service?

if only got these 2 companies left in the world and u had to choose between a Mondeo or a Passat, please choose the car with more kit or more technology, not your dumba$$ VW badge that u’ll spray plastidip all over anyway.

what is wrong with malaysians, wanna buy a badge go and buy la, Mercedes also makes lorries, surely the lorry driver got massage seat for his long journeys X D X D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • ThePolygonal on Jan 22, 2015 at 11:25 am

Yes.. Mercedes have one with massage chair… it’s called Mercedes Actros. Search for it “mercedes actros back massage”

• Too Harsh on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:35 am

Chill bro. I dont think that VW really that bad. Based on the articles posted by Paultan himself, the owner of this blog actually sharing few updates about VW to let the readers know that VW is taking few actions to fix some problems. Either Mondeo and Passat, both are good, its buyer’s choice to buy it. Dont simply judge VW coz of its past, Ford itself got few problems before, and the major problem all settled. Everybody deserve a second chance.

• Gracke on Jan 22, 2015 at 11:04 am

Yes, Passat is good but the Mondeo CANNOT be denied!!!!

• Really on Jan 21, 2015 at 10:53 pm

The power of the Ecoboost engine is really addictive. 240 ps is already pretty thrilling for me. And the Mondeo can back up the engine with sublime ride and handling. Simply said, the Mondeo has a dual identity: a comfortable cruiser and a sporty drivers’ car.

I said it once and i will say it again. SDAC need to improve its aftersales network FAST because they are selling more cars than ever. Having good products alone is not enough. You need to give owners confidence and assurance that owning a Ford now is not an unpleasant experience like in the past.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Do Juan De Marco on Jan 22, 2015 at 12:58 pm

I wonder why Ford did’nt plan to offer a lesser powered version of the upcoming new Mondeo? Is’nt that a common sense if Ford want to break into the mainstream D-segment market?

• agree.. i own ford kuga.. while the car is great.. and so far really happy with it.. i have to travel about 100km to service the car.. but for me still ok coz it is just once in 3months.. if only I have it nearer.. that would be better..

• just like that on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:27 pm

Sime Darby will not price this cheap. If we r lucky, it would be the same price as the old mondeo.

Some old mondeo customers, had a lot of problems with their car. Please also check all the issues that the mondeo/fusion is having in the US and in youtube since the car has been out for a while.

• TheDean on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:38 pm

Well with the right paint, you’re actually buying an Aston Martin shell.

As for the driving experience, i agree that it is right up there with the best. I tested the smax and the thing moved unlike an mpv. Handled great. But it stalled in the middle of the fast lane. Checked the web, and reliability issues are aplenty. Before you buy Ford, suggest you do some web research from owners in the uk and usa.

• Contender on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:47 pm

Nice to hold, nice to touch …. once broken considere sold

Well pricing is way too off and after sales is pretty bad just like VW when they first started doing well

Such a pity Ford is under Sime Darby Motor ..

• damnice on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:18 am

around 200k I think..

• eagletalon on Jan 22, 2015 at 1:32 am

ford always has good prestige in US.

• rekcufrehtom on Jan 22, 2015 at 4:07 am

WHY NOT?

Cos your aftersales service sucks major donkey balls thats why.

Frustrated Ford Fiesta owner speaking by the way.

• HafizJoe Dorifuto on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:14 am

The engine…2.0,240ps Ecoboost share with Range Rover Evoque, Volvo 2.0 V/S/XC…so awesome…

• Happy on Jan 22, 2015 at 8:26 am

wow! too many import cars lately. I believe most of Malaysian have high salary. Government, it is time to increase import tax…;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • gaviny on Jan 22, 2015 at 9:06 am

it’s going to be in the 200k range i assume,

• cendol (Member) on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:05 am

THe price is almost 190k for this car. I think 100k goes to tax.
    Borrow money from bank, first 5 years pay for car, last 4 years pay for tax.
    That’s why Malaysians are so poor

• blackbox on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:32 am

240hp+FWD+ D Segment is never a good combination. Torque steer and bad balance.

• waters on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:47 am

All well and good, I’m sure it’s a great car, but can the technicians at SDAC maintain, troubleshoot and service the car correctly and in a timely fashion?

I’m pretty sure within 6-12 months after the launch, there will be rants on FB – ‘My car stuck at SDAC for xxx months!! no one can figure out what is wrong with it!!’.

• The King has returned.

• Saw a couple of them in the States a few months ago – One absolutely beautiful D-Segment to behold

Let’s just hope Ford M’sia prices it realistically

• Khaisan on Jan 22, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Sam Loo mana? no RV lagi… huhuhu

• stupid msian cars on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:54 am

This is absolutely a fine car indeed. Have always been a Mondeo fan during those lovely days residing in NZ.
    Unfortunately, this will be another fine model going down the drains as it is not going to be affordable due to Msia stupid system and pricing.

• blaster88 on Jan 23, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Fine looking car, with that kind of specs and engine performance…if Ford price it right. It would be a game changer….service levels aside.

• Chow 1 on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Hard to afford this car, around 200k. Buying an Accord is more affordable even though my true desire is this mondeo.

• Hope SD doesn’t price it like the Alfa Romeo ! Damn ! ~

• Got to admit its overall looks awesome.
    But if its priced 200k, it will still loses to the german brands. Perception here 200k better buy mercedes/bmw/audi.