Lexus IS 200t to replace IS 250 this year – reports

2013-lexus-is0011

The 2.5 litre V6-powered Lexus IS 250 will be replaced by a new variant called the Lexus IS 200t in the Chinese market sometime in August 2015, according to Chinese automotive website XCAR.

This is something we’ve expected Lexus to do since the introduction of the new 2.0 litre turbo engine in the NX 200t, but we thought an IS 200t would only be introduced when the IS is scheduled for a facelift, which could be still a year or two away.

The IS 200t will be powered by the same 2.0 litre turbo engine in the NX 200t, however unlike the NX, it will be mounted longitudinally in the engine bay and drive the rear wheels.

The new engine features a liquid-cooled cylinder head, an integrated 4-to-2 exhaust manifold and a twin-scroll turbocharger. Power output is 235 hp at 5,600 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,650 to 4,000 rpm.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• forrest the tree on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Sound promising.
    But the pricing in msia is a problem.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
    • peasantcar on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Lexus=glorified Toyota, nothing special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 92
      • Audi Owner on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:27 am

Say what ever you want, but your cheap VW will never be an Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
        • mustafa on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:26 pm

And your not so cheap audio will never be a porches…hihihi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
        • Lamborghini Owner on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Say what you want, but your cheap R8 will never be on par with my Gallardo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
        • I met Same Lorrrr!!!!! on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Went to Parkson last night with my wife. I thought I try my luck and follow my wife to the ladies undergarments department. Could not believe it but I actually met the legend Same Lorrr. I even talked to him and he admitted sales in Toyota was so bad that he jumped boat to Triumph International promoting bra and panties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
          • sam realname on Apr 11, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Danny, good luck for your parkson job, I hope you can do well for living from now on.

• peasantcar on Apr 11, 2015 at 3:22 pm

Then I can say ToyotaLexus syok sendiri, last time the route is bigger cc but frugal engine but this is turbo route

Really syok sendiri company!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • Obviously (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:19 pm

That kind of statement shows just how ignorant you are about luxury cars. A Lexus justifies its price in many aspects outside the description of a spec sheet. I’m not just talking about their service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • peasantcar on Apr 11, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Luxury is not all about those description of spec sheet. The spec is there but the quality is not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • Obviously (Member) on Apr 12, 2015 at 5:35 pm

That’s what I meant. Were you not able to comprehend my comment?

• kington on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Honestly dude, go and drive one. I’m not kidding.

Yes, in the same manor, an Infiniti is a glorified Datsun, Lexus from Toyota and for some time, a Jag was also a glorified Ford.

It doesn’t mean these cars are poor.

A Lexus LS offers NVH levels that can better an S and a 7 these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • Obviously (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 6:32 pm

The next generation of Jags are no longer Ford underneath, though.

• peasantcar on Apr 11, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Explain why is it better? Even Ah Beng can make any car totally silent like Lexus! And that’s not LUXURY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
          • Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:49 am

My Vios Turbo TRD got hyper sound proofing. NVH is much better than even Lexus LS600H. Less than 1 decibel in the cabin. Now that is what I call luxury. Rolls Royce Phantom better move aside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • kington on Apr 12, 2015 at 5:45 pm

I can’t say much if you lack experience and knowledge. Go experience a Lexus. It’s oklar, for you to call yourself a peasant, so be it. Go enjoy your bullock carts.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:35 pm

So many jealous people here. Trust me, all the negative comments here are from poor people who cannot afford a Lexus or a Toyota.

Do you know why you are poor? You are poor because you are lazy and don’t want to work hard. Half the time you are sleeping, in office, you are surfing the net or looking at some upskirt. You are not interested in working hard and getting more money.

Be like me, I work hard for my money not like the lazy PT readers. If you work hard, buying a Lexus is not a big deal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
        • sam realname on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:26 am

Both you fake Sam and Danny at umw are just talk coxk sing song. work hard, dont lie and hope both of you can moved out from your flat soon.

• I thought Same Lorrrr got plenty of time surfing the net then bashing other car makers. No customers in showroom?

• I agree with you Same Lor. Most of them are working 8:30 to 6pm. go home eat, sleep,watch TV, online and masterb**ing. haha

• Korean Fan on Apr 12, 2015 at 2:12 pm

When you say like that, it shows that you are kata bawah tempurung. You seems like equating UMW to Toyota and generalized the greed and incompetency of UMW to toyota.

Else where in the world, toyota is no 1 and Lexus is one of the top selling luxury car.

• uslhwzero on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:12 pm

I never think to buy a single lexus & i hv my own reason:
    1. Too pricey if compare to power, handling & practicality ( same price can buy audi a4,series, vw) , why i should go to lexus?
    2.design was no got, too robotic
    3. Its always about luxury but if talk about car i need a car more power, good handling & practicality. This trio is always 1st pririority… luxury a bit its also ok
    Urmmm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 45
    • Safety First on Apr 11, 2015 at 4:15 am

You don’t mention the most important: Safety?

• They don’t want to mention because cheapest variant also got VSC but they no money to buy the cheapest variant

• faillexus on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:32 pm

This : DUAL FRONT AND DUAL REAR CUPHOLDERS

EPIC FAIL! Is that LUXURY?

• Lol that reminds me if aerodynamic bumper of much cheaper car! So luxury!

ROTFL

• failproton on Apr 12, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Iriz don’t even have it.

EPIC FAIL! Haha

• faillexus on Apr 12, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Comparing Iriz B segment with “luxury” D segment lexus?

FAILED COMPARISON!

• failcomment on Apr 12, 2015 at 11:00 pm

You have nothing to bash but have to bash the cupholders !?

EPIC FAIL COMMENT!

• lexuspeasant on Apr 13, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Cup holders are luxurious?
            That’s why Lexus is not luxury

• protonpeasant on Apr 13, 2015 at 7:57 pm

To Proton owners, cupholders are luxurious coz they never seen it in their cars. Haha

• sl350 on Apr 13, 2015 at 7:17 am

I agree this is not a luxury car. Still left far behing german marques

• Korean Fan on Apr 12, 2015 at 2:16 pm

You will start thinking of Lexus when your Audi starts to frequent service center and you have to use all your annual leave to have your vacation in SC.

• realriches on Apr 12, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Real rich people will never think of that, have 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th cars to use, even have chauffeur to drive.

Lexus is for not really rich people, for those who want to show off a bit and eat maggi to pay installment. Nobody gives it a damn!

• fakeriches on Apr 12, 2015 at 11:15 pm

And you are only driving Proton…

Criticise Lexus not for rich people but don’t have money for better cars

• lexis on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:27 pm

cheaper than v6?

• spongewai on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:33 pm

what same lorr said Toyota is good RV

urgh sienz

to be honest, Lexus design is much nicer than Toyota design

• Josh Ling on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:55 pm

and i thought lexus people said they are not interested in pursuing down the turbo route, and will still focus on the development of NA engine?

• peasantcar on Apr 11, 2015 at 3:23 pm

That’s because they are syok sendiri company

• snailcar on Apr 11, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Go back to your Proton with slow turbo and syok yourself

• peasantcar on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:35 pm

I dun drive one but 205nm torque beats Sylphy Civic Altis anytime anyday

• Same L0rrr on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:02 am

Those who talk crap here probably just drive a Perodua MyVi. It’s proven Toyota has conti quality with Malaysian price, let alone Lexus which is far better than the German sausages, French breads, or Italian pizzas.

Work harder people. It’s time to upgrade your Perodua MyVi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 23
    • jambanquality on Apr 11, 2015 at 11:47 am

What? Conti quality?
      Hahhahahahahahahahaha hahahhahahaha hahahahaha hahahahaha hahahahahah ahhhahahahaha hahahaha hahahaha a hahahahahaha ahhahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Same "Hailat" L0rrr on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Work harder instead of becoming a keyboard warrior Same L0rrr. It’s time to upgrade from your Toyota and Lexus. Don’t always get stuck in a Jap rot.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:08 pm

You are idiot fake sam, now camry hybrid booking is 145 and now I can affod to move to better flat at balakong. Unfortunately,my 25 yrs old son will still maintain the proton saga.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 13, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Imitator can bullshit whatever they want.

With such good sales, I still live in a flat? And get a junk home?

Come on, use your brain a bit.

• myviconti on Apr 11, 2015 at 3:01 pm

But my MyVi smokes toyota and lexus many times. It’s not conti quality but crappy quality, it’s FACT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Myvi Rempit on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:52 am

Aiyah…my Myvi 1.5 lagi power lagi best can easily smoke your lousy overpriced lexus. Pay 10 times my price but still smell my smoke. What a joke.

• shawal on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:03 am

theres 1 billion ppl in china , so they would try to sell as many there as they can…

everywhere else…..a much needed facelift is due…
    probably nicked from the RC…..which is good enough…

• flipper2uman (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 9:21 am

FINALLY!!!!! I found the current IS 250 V6 engine to be abit dated in the current car. This engine should be a good upgrade to already a well designed car. I would love to also see improvements in the gears but I think the designers may just leave it for the next generation IS200t.

• Finally the 2.0 turbo. Can join the club with Evos and Scoobies. Unfortunately Mitsu has raised their white flag.

• Mitsubishi has really lost their interest with cars. After pouring a lot of investment with their Lancer EVO cars, they decided to give up because that car does not earn profit. Quite a shame really…

Anyway, you can get a CLA45 AMG with 360hp which is way better than any EVO in the past.

• theanswer on Apr 13, 2015 at 12:06 pm

merc cla/a45 amg power is stunning..but cant compared with rally bred evos. of course mitsu UK have their own FQ400.

• DanielNg on Apr 11, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Overtook IS with my 528 around 130 km/h,while otw to Singapore last few days..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • snaillexus on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Overtook IS with my MyVi around 170 km/h,while otw to Singapore last few days..

• kapchai on Apr 12, 2015 at 7:39 am

Overtook IS with my old kapchai around 150 km/h,while otw to beach last few days..

• punchcar on Apr 12, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Overtook 528, Myvi and Kapchai with Iriz using Punch CVT during test drive

• axiabest on Apr 12, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Overtook 528, Myvi, Kapchai and Iriz with my Axia during test drive

• BMX rules on Apr 13, 2015 at 12:16 am

Overtook 528,Myvi, Is250, Kapchai, Iriz and Axia with my trusty BMX. They all kwai tai at roadside waiting for tow truck

• Deus Ex on Apr 13, 2015 at 10:05 am

BMX Wins.

KWAITAILITY

• pedestrianPT on Apr 13, 2015 at 2:17 pm

I arrive on my two feet.
            BMW tyres punctured

Pedestrian winrar

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Finally Lexus gets the turbo goodness. And the engine sounds good too – just listen to the NX. Surely, in the IS, Lexus will give it a throatier sound. Hope when it comes here, it will be priced around the same or less than the current IS250.

• cayenne on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:40 pm

The exhaust farting sound like those on wiralution
      So funny!

• hazamiey on Apr 11, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Malaysian really got terrible tastes when it comes to automotive. 1st car would be myvi, resell then buy Vios. 3rd car then camry. That is during makan gaji. Then start busines or become CEO, buy BMW/Audi. When after rich buy Ferrari. When almost become billionare buy Veyron. Yucks. Boring.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 6:19 pm

What is your point?
      So what car should we buy??
      Straight buy Ferrari during makan gaji??

• hazamiey on Apr 13, 2015 at 1:59 pm

U dont get my point eh? The selection of car among Malaysians are boring and too common. I dont mean that u need to straight away jump buy ferrari lerr. Other than I mentioned above the alternative could be this way:

First Car – Iriz, Second car – Peugeot 308, Third Car – Volkswagen Passat, Next car when become businessman – Lexus GS or Jaguar XF . When rich – Aston Martin Vantage v12s. When become billionaire – Koenigsegg Agera or McLaren P1.

• lengleng on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:39 pm

Yes it should be the other way round, Veyron first myvi is last

• dugongx on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:55 am

I wouldn’t go near the first 3 cars even with a 10 feet pole

• In Lexus range the IS, GS, LS and RX series real Lexus, which are different from the run-of-mill Toyota. The rest of them are just luxurious and re-skinned Toyota.

• Head Hunter on Apr 11, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Honestly the interior is on par if not better than a bmw. I had the pleasure of driving the 328i m sport and the is250 as well as the a250, since the c class was not available in Kuching at that time and dare I say the quality in Lexus’ interior is much better than the bmw only to be surpassed by the merc. Exciting? Yes! But of course where it lets itself down was the exterior. Honestly the 328 M sport looks way awesome than the love to hate Lexus IS strange headlamps. Honestly if you had the chance to go and see and drive the cars yourself, you will appreciate the level of craftsmanship being put into these cars. After jumping back into my Pajero Sport, it felt so 3rd world compared to these cars. Oh how lucky my wife would be when I get her the 328i. Looks like town drives would be done by me. Heheh..

• dreamer on Apr 12, 2015 at 1:19 am

Wow nice dream you had there. How lucky you are

• Lexus are known for their great interior and reliability.
      Not so much for their handling and performance, that belongs mainly to the Germans.

• NgehKorHamOldTownWCKopitiamServedToad on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:20 am

I have been driven Lexus IS250 UK spec for good three years, give it to my dad and bought Citroen DS5, even better drive and love the look. Both are gorgeous and head turning design. Always disgusted every time when I drive and pass through Old Town WC Kopitiam due to their poor hygiene. Cockroaches in the noodles and toad in their dishes. Yucks. Thanks government for creating the opportunities for people like me to create wealth.

• droll on Apr 12, 2015 at 10:10 am

about time. should benefit m’sia since lexus can finally put smaller engines (lower road tax) and still maintain decent power levels.

• Many butthurt Proton macais are here talking kok

• Proof?

• macai on Apr 12, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Proof that you are the real ben?

• fakeluxury on Apr 13, 2015 at 7:34 am

For real luxury go for conti, for hypocrites cannot afford it for lexus. It’s fake luxury

• fakeconti on Apr 13, 2015 at 11:19 am

For real luxury go for real BMW or Volvo. For hypocrites that cannot afford it, go for Proton

• pityu on Apr 13, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Since when p1 is luxury car?
            Go get life dude

• peeone on Apr 13, 2015 at 5:35 pm

P1 is a luxury car for the rakyat but fake conti car for the riches

• Heng Lee on Apr 13, 2015 at 7:40 am

“Power output is 235 hp at 5,600 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,650 to 4,000 rpm.”

That’s only 5hp and 150Nm less compared to Volkswagen’s 2.0 TDI (240hp, 500Nm).

• Night Fury on Apr 13, 2015 at 10:50 am

Comparing Diesel and Petrol?

BMW 328 or Merc C250 is a better comparison

• Heng Lee on Apr 13, 2015 at 4:45 pm

It’s not my problem that Toyota cannot build proper diesels?

• Lee Heng on Apr 13, 2015 at 7:00 pm

It’s your problem for comparing with the wrong type of engine

• Night Fury on Apr 13, 2015 at 10:52 am

It should be compared with BMW 328 or Merc C250, not against a Diesel. *sigh*

• applegreen on Apr 13, 2015 at 9:33 am

i think next gen ct version also can get turbo engine, at least the new name is ct160t instead of hybrid ct200h

• theanswer on Apr 13, 2015 at 10:33 am

about time. the only reason i dont like lexus bcause of they ‘act’ as if they dont want to compete with german marque. they should be more serious. compete head to head..come out with various spec and engine. in the end sales numbers is important.

• Definitely will go for Lexus IS for its reliability that recognized by the world.