Proton – tightening safety regs and how it will comply

2014_Top_Five_Proton_Iriz_MT_ 005

Safety is a big thing in our car industry today – more than it has ever been. Regulatory bodies, research institutes and carmakers alike have been tirelessly working in the background for higher safety standards and awareness in Malaysia, in an attempt to keep road accidents, injuries and fatalities at bay. We at paultan.org have voraciously championed the cause for years.

With the ongoing implementation of more UN regulations for new vehicle type approvals (VTA), higher stringency in ASEAN NCAP and more carmakers stepping up to the plate to comply, there’s much to look forward to. However, while vehicle safety awareness appears to be growing in urban areas – indicative of a more mature and sophisticated market – sadly, there remain many Malaysian motorists for whom safety is still not a priority.

And while it’s easy to point fingers at the relevant authorities for not doing enough to enforce or spread awareness, as clichéd as it sounds, safety begins with you. It’s an attitude. At a recent press briefing, Proton chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa outlined the safety standards to come and how Proton will meet them. So much has been done, researched, invested, designed, conceptualised; yet, all it takes is for someone to not wear a seat belt or not use a child seat to rubbish everybody’s hard work to save lives.

We’ve told you before about the upcoming UN regulations – 24 have been gazetted this year, 18 of which concern passenger cars. By 2017, a further 22 will be gazetted, 10 of which apply to passenger cars. Finally by 2020, an additional 19 will be gazetted, with 11 of them applicable to passenger cars.

The regulations cover every conceivable vehicle component, fitting, function and system, to ensure they adhere to specification. Some only apply where that component or system is fitted (like daytime running lamps, headlamp cleaners and speed limiters). At present, there are 134 UN regulations in total under the World Forum for Harmonisation of Vehicle Regulations (WP29) – the aim is to incorporate a total of 126 into Malaysian law by 2020.

In addition to that, ASEAN NCAP’s safety rating system is going to become stricter. Beginning this year, R95 side impact compliance is a pre-requisite for a three-star rating (down from the previous four) and from next year, electronic stability control (ESC) and driver and front passenger seat belt reminders will be required for four stars (down from the previous five).

proton-safety-1 1064

This means that for all vehicles tested from 2015 onwards, if they do not pass the side impact test, they can only be rated two stars at best. And for vehicles tested from 2016 onwards, if they do not have ESC or seat belt reminders, the most they can get is three stars. According to Rashid, the crash-testing remains voluntary, and already-rated vehicles won’t ‘lose’ their stars with the introduction of the new rating system (unless a re-test is carried out, of course). Buyers are urged to check the crash test date on the ASEAN NCAP result plate.

By 2017, new rating schemes (not elaborated upon) will come into force for frontal offset, side impact and child protection tests. By 2020, the frontal test will include a fifth-percentile female dummy in a combined score (following Euro NCAP protocol), while the side test will include pole impact and the Advanced European Mobile Deformable Barrier. Of course, the roadmaps of Australasian NCAP (ANCAP) and Euro NCAP are so far ahead, but we’ve all got to start somewhere – better late than never!

With all that in mind, Rashid was keen to point out Proton’s focus and emphasis on vehicle safety, spearheaded by its Preve, Suprima S and Iriz models. Apart from meeting UN ECE regulations (which is the dominant automotive standard in the world, thus facilitating export), they are all five-star ASEAN NCAP cars (counting out the ESC-less Suprima S Standard), with the Preve and Suprima S also having five stars from ANCAP. The Iriz is the cheapest new car in Malaysia with ESC – and ESC is standard across its range.

Safety features include the employment of hot-press-formed (HPF) parts and ultra high-strength steel in construction, Isofix child seat points, five three-point seat belts and seat belt reminders, in addition to the usual ABS, EBD, BA, ESC, traction control and airbags. But Proton’s newest baby, the Iriz, having ticked the passive and active safety boxes, is set to take things even further – it seems being the most affordable five-star ASEAN NCAP car in the region is not enough.

At the Alami Proton carnival last September, an Iriz prototype fitted with an Advanced Drive Assistance System (ADAS) stereo camera by South Korea’s LG Electronics was on display. The camera makes possible advanced safety aids such as Autonomous Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning, Traffic Sign Recognition, Adaptive Cruise Control, High Beam Assist and Cross Traffic Assist, marking the national carmaker’s foray into cognitive safety.

Rashid would not say when these advanced safety features would become realities on a Proton, but with Euro NCAP having made Autonomous Emergency Braking mandatory for new cars to get five-star ratings, the impression is that it’ll be sooner rather than later, if Proton has those markets in its sights.

The chief technical officer also saw fit to address some issues that went viral on social media in the past – chiefly the accident involving a Preve in which its engine detached, leading many to question the car’s quality. It was explained that the engine is designed to detach in heavy collisions via collapsible mounts, so it doesn’t intrude into the passenger compartment and injure the occupants.

The roof caved in, a sure indication of a roll-over, but the roof side structures (made of HPF parts) remained intact, due to their strength. The doors unlocked automatically upon impact and could be opened – a testament to the passenger cell’s strength and effectiveness.

Rashid revealed that Proton is recommending Bomba to be part of the VTA committee (currently made up of the Transport ministry, MITI, JPJ, Road Safety Department, Puspakom and SIRIM). This is because in an accident, the Fire Department are the ones who have to handle the situation first-hand, and the rescue method of sawing through the roof would simply not work on modern HPF Protons because of the immense rigidity. Proton has in-house facilities to test roof strength, although it is at present not required, he said.

So much can be said about Proton. The age-old qualms surrounding reliability, quality, after-sales and even the nature of its existence may or may not be founded, but its intensive focus on safety at these price points and in so doing, bringing active safety to the people, is one thing it’s doing utterly and irrevocably right.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• UMW Mampus on Apr 10, 2015 at 7:32 pm

Not a big fan of Proton but it’s good at least they are doing something on safety.

Unlike P2 and UMW continue to rip of people’s money like no tomorrow. They are brothers walking hand-in-hand, one without ABS, another without ESP for their base range models.

Malaysians need to be more safety conscious! Support brands who take care of your safety, like Kia, Honda, Mazda, or even Proton that everyone hates. We need to see more brands setting a high benchmark for others!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 407 Thumb down 200
    • Proton Kantoi on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Aih, bragging about Proton like old man from old folks home again. Yah, we know your Proton is “Volvo of Asia”. Can you please shut up? People rather buy Kia, Honda or Mazda than Proton. The sales figure shows it

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 245 Thumb down 269
      • P2 macai on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Lol.. P2 macai detected. He was merely saying Proton is good at least they are concern about safety. I saw some other also saying that it’s good to for a cheap car brand to set high benchmark for others to follow, why not?

And here you suddenly bash for no reason, bark like a dog. If you want to buy a 50k plus MyVi (only have ABS and EBD) over a 50k plus Preve (6 airbags, ESP standard) or 90k plus Vios TRD (2 airbags, no ESP) over a 90k plus City (6 airbags, ESP) for your son or wife because you do not value life of your loved ones, by all means go ahead.

Now you see the similarity between P2 and UMW? Life ain’t cheap my deer. Yet I am puzzled why there are people like you who are being treated by a money-sucking company like P2 and UMW which do not value your life simply give you car with joke safety features, still want to say something good about them. Pity to you. Pity to Proton who try so hard to improve. There are people who still live in milo tin and power window issue.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 237 Thumb down 209
        • P1 macai on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Did he mention anything about UMW and P2? Nope, and you just bark like a dog, aiming at the wrong tree. He was just saying we know how “safe” Proton is and there is no need to brag. You’re just making more people hate the brand by talking shit about other brands. Pity to macai like you everytime have to defend the brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 81
          • Now more ppl hate the brand Toyota and Perodua, only macai or sohai still believe 20 years ago reliable & save fuel story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 47
          • I hate Toyota & Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 85
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Why talk now about safety when 30 years Proton never bother about safety? How many people died since 1985 when Proton was born?

Only about 8 years ago started giving us airbags. Before that, give us tin kosong when world standards demanded airbags as compulsory

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).
            They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia, like they did in Thailand?
            Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
            Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.
            Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

All because of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 99
          • IrizX on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Only sohai & macai would buy Proton, charge own people higher price than the export market. Proton think own people stupid ah? That’s why more people hate the brand.

People hate Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 55
          • Muka Sombong on Apr 11, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Look at those 2 muka sombong pic on the top and you’ll know how good is Proton’s service

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 13
          • irizxkiddo on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:42 pm

The price is high because of tax
            Too many kids here, sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
          • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Erm. Most Japanese brands still don’t care about safety on the Malaysian market, despite having all the required technology sitting in a drawer.

The money for the high car taxes went to the government. If they didn’t have that, you would have seen the GST be introduced long before that. You know what the price of lower car prices in Europe is? For every $1 you earn you get to keep 50 cent. Rest goes away in taxes, health insurance etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
          • Pro-Tongkat on Apr 11, 2015 at 11:33 pm

So now that GST is introduced, can the G remove the high car taxes? Cannot. Why? Because Proton is still around!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
          • wuvav on Apr 12, 2015 at 1:29 am

So what, if p1 close shop the tax still remains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Proton bashers were really butthurt when reading this article. Cant stand people keep praising proton bout safety. Proton’s sales figure will rise if RTD enforce more stringent requirement because Proton capable to produce safe car with cheap price..who said that people go for kia and mazda? Look at the recent sales figure Proton will increase the volume and will overtake Perodua in coming 2 years..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 72
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 11, 2015 at 9:11 am

Yes so cheap price, we offer really cheap price (please don’t mention about AP system and excise duty on other brands car).

Keep support are the only way, don’t like go to others country. Butthurt go to other country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
          • kadajawie on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Actually Proton is real panic suffering their worst sales ever. So much so creating lots of self-praise news to hide their frustration.

When local rakyats rejecting you, better move away to Bangladesh. Never come back here again okay. We don’t need your crap anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 22
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Can Ministers and Mahathir answer me two questions.

Firstly, to Mahathir. Why are all your sons and yourself as well as Siti Hasmah not using Proton? You all use mainly Porsche. Why not using Proton Tun? Mahathir promotes Proton so much but sendiri tak pakai Proton. If Proton is so safe, why Dr M and family don’t use Proton in their personal lives?

Ministers also, most Ministers and the whole Cabinet cronies don’t use Proton. If you speak so highly of Proton, why you all don’t use Proton in your personal lives?

Secondly, why are the export models so much higher in quality than the local models? I was using a Satria Export model meant for the UK market. It was so high in quality compared to the local Satria.

Why do we Malaysians get trash and we give the Mat Salleh better quality Proton?

Is this fair? After all Proton was created to give Malaysians cheap cars. Now, we give Mat Salleh cheap and better Proton but Malaysians get the lower grade Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 13
          • The Truth About Proton on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:07 pm

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts.

That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from Brothers for RM10.

So, Proton can say all it wants about quality being raised but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
          • I met Same Lorrrr!!!!! on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Went to Parkson ladies undergarments section last night with my wife. I can confirm, I met Same Lorrr there promoting bra and panties.

He introduced himself and said sales in UMW was so bad, he had no choice but to jump boat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
          • People are not butthurt of Proton, people are butthurt of the “protection” of Proton. Forgot about this? Happened not too long ago

http://paultan.org/2014/07/08/difficult-to-abolish-ap-policy-mustapa/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • apekem on Apr 11, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Butthurt because of protection? Other countries also have, so what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • Pekema on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:12 am

Don’t kid yourself. Proton’s car prices in Malaysia are the highest in the world compare to Australia, Bangla or any other export market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:47 am

Rise my A$$. The only thing that rises in Proton is the number of complaints received on their service desk everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • @Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan
            Butthurt level is very high there, lol
            See those faces only you know they are sombong? How about Same Lorrrr SA everyday bragging about RV? That’s real sombong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Alson P on Apr 12, 2015 at 11:45 am

Millions of new cars sold in middle and low income countries fail to meet the UN’s basic safety standards for front and side impacts revealed international automotive safety watchdog Global NCAP today

Safety improvements stimulated by legislation and consumer awareness campaigns in high income economies that have saved hundreds of thousands of lives are not yet systematically available for drivers and their families in rapidly growing lower income markets.

For example, crash test standards introduced twenty years ago for cars sold in Europe, are yet to be met by many new cars, and even brand new models, being sold today in leading middle income countries in Africa, Asia, and Latin America. This is entirely unacceptable. Manufacturers cannot continue to treat millions of their customers as second class citizens when it comes to life saving standards of occupant protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • 18 years still unable to resolve power window problem. The more nonsense they put in, the more problems. Proton only manufacturer to give life time warranty on power window. Engine uses timing belt becos it is a safety belt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
        • Same L0rrr on Apr 11, 2015 at 11:05 am

Proton is for poor people who got no ambition in life. It is mainly for the kampung people who are always expecting Government help.

Aim higher in life. Aim to buy a Toyota. You cannot buy a Toyota because you are lazy and want to sleep. You don’t want to work hard that is why you got no money in life and settle for Proton, a car with such low quality and no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 56
          • viosed on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:43 pm

You mean Toyota Vios
            OMG it’s a moving coffin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
          • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Aaah. Now it makes sense. Work hard, ruin your health, buy Toyota. It will kill you before you get to suffer from your ruined health. It is genius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 20
          • VHL Lorr on Apr 12, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Toyota is for ‘rich wannabe’ people who got no ambition in life. It is mainly for the ‘sorhai tai lan ngong’ people who are always perasan driving a Mercedes or Lexus, but in fact they are driving a jamban junk cars with joking safety features in this decade.

Aim higher in life. Aim to buy a good quality cars or even Made in Japan CBU Toyota, not pariah ‘jamban junk’ Toyota from UMW. You can only buy a ‘jamban junk’ UMW Toyota with 9 years loan because you are lazy and want to sleep. You don’t want to work hard that is why you got no money in life and settle for ‘jamban junk’ Toyota from UMW, a car with such low quality and hailat RV that you will yell out ‘Hailat lorr’ when it’s time to sell it off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
        • 18years and still unable to solve a sumple power window problem. You think all those so called safety features will work? 30 years and still struggling to sell 130,000 cars. Hyundai started same time but is selling 6 million cars per year. Shameful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
          • belld on Apr 12, 2015 at 7:33 am

You got lifetime warranty, what’s the problem? Even bimmer dun give such warranty. Hyundai/Kia i snot really comparable, even Japs took more than 30 years to be what they are today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • DonkeyKong on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Malaysians are so uneducated and ignorant. How do you think Korean giants like Samsung and Hyundai-Kia got so huge, so successful and finally, so dominant in the international market?

They also had government protectionism for decades. In fact, their government even manipulated prices internationally to make Korean products more competitive. Their government pumped money into these industries to make sure they grow huge and generate jobs for locals.

But the Koreans are not dumb like Malaysians. They supported their local products because they can see where that will get them decades later. They evangelized their country’s products although the early products were totally crap. Anyone remember those awful early Korean stuff from Goldstar and junk like the Hyundai Scoupe?

The people didn’t bash day and night for the Korean government to shut down LG, Samsung, Hyundai-Kia for producing crappy products. When Koreans started selling their vehicles abroad in developing countries like Southeast Asia and Latin America, the Koreans did not laugh at their local industries and treat them like outcasts.

But Malaysians are a different breed. We blame everything on cronyism even as our local companies have taken great strides on their own revenue. We don’t want to be taxed for anything on one hand, but on the other hand there is a large segment of us that feel like we can tell the government what to do because we pay taxes.

We don’t want the country to remove subsidies and want the government to continue spending on society, but we don’t want the government to collect tax revenue. We don’t want our local industries to flourish and some even ask for local companies to be shut down, but we want Malaysia to have a high-income economy.

No wonder Malaysia is still stuck as a third-world country! The population has no clue about what to do and only know how to talk cock like their favorite politicians!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 88
        • notbrag on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:05 pm

What the fuss about bragging? Any car manufacturers can brag about anything, wants for example *cough* RV *cough*

Almost every article got this bragging about RV, then p1 and kimchi been dragged in even if buying a car is not an investment. So why not discussion about safety which is always comes first?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 27
        • Mario on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:21 pm

So we supported Proton for 20 years and that is not enough? I can understand why the Koreans support their own products because they help to improve the economy of their country but Proton? Are there any economy improvement brought by Proton in these years besides asking more money from the G? Let’s not forget, many investors are moving to either to Thailand, Indo or other Asean countries because of the “protection” policy. Malaysia initially can become “Detroit of Asia”, but look what it has become today? If not for the “protection”, Proton early already close shop. Let’s not lie to ourselves, the only reason why Proton still exist today is to “Jaguh Kampung”, to show the world that we can, but can we? We have contributed enough and i’m sure the rakyat would agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 47
          • Korean or Japs companies are not always helping economy, they had been bailed out too several times

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 23
        • Indo Investor on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Because of Proton, Toyota is moving to Indo for investment instead of Malaysia. Many of the CKD car companies in Malaysia are also going to close shop. Proton can continue to monopoly the market and Proton supporters can rejoice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 30
          • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Other car brands are going else where because the Malaysian government is slow and unpredictable. Today say a, tomorrow b, then c. All the freaking time change the plan. But car makers need to be able to plan ahead. If there is a new policy it will take half a year or even more to even react to it, and then a couple more years to get back the investment. By that time Malaysia has changed the policies 5 times.

Car makers can offee hybrids assembled in Malaysia tax free. The announcement happened a year ago and only lasts until the end of this year. Toyota just introduced the Camry hybrid. And otherwise only Honda who started earlier and Mercedes are making use of it, even though it would give them a big advantage. But so far no one knows if the incentives will continue. So no one dares to invest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • drMpower on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:32 pm

The best summation of what exactly going on
          I feel vindicated

• Mangata on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:25 pm

Yes bro..you are absolutely right..but look at the bright side..finally the Koreans have made it to the international stage..they came almost same time as proton and where are they now?? We Malaysian are willing to give proton a chance but look at them..even after millions spent on proton,their preve is still not prefect ..they were almost there when they introduced waja 10 years ago but it stayed there..no improvement what so ever..so is it our mistake??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
          • Get your facts right.. Kia started building cars back in early 70s, and before that was building motorcycles and trucks. Hyundai started building cars in the late 60s. It took them more than 35 years to be where they are now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
        • xiper (Member) on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:58 pm

I will support our products and pay to the tax if the tax money is spent at the right place.

If u paid tax and ask you apa lagi mau, then sorry.

Get the facts right, Hyundai started about the same time with Proton. Where is Hyundai and where is Proton now? Is Proton having even 10% of Hyundai’s sales in the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
          • U should get your facts right.. Hyundai started in the late 60s and not mid 80s.. It took them about 40 years to get where they are now, with SK government protection.. They almost went bankrupt back in the late 90s, and had to merge with Kia Motor to survive..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
          • Get your facts right. Hyundai was a private entity and not a government crony project. It was kia that went bankrupt and Hyundai took it over to prevent it to fold up.

• kairul abdul on Apr 11, 2015 at 9:18 am

Joe liar !!!

Hyundai own Kia, and not merge with Kia !!!

Lousy blinded supporter !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
          • blahblah on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Wah. someone is so butthurt with the comments made by Joe. It all depends on where u read the info.

Want to consider that as a merger or acquisition, up to u. So many people even have the same confusion when it comes to merger & acquisition. Read below:

http://gerpisa.org/rencontre/9.rencontre/S13Lee-Cho.pdf
            http://www.pakistaneconomist.com/issue1999/issue44/f&m3.htm
            http://www.asiapacific.ca/sites/default/files/hyundai_motors.pdf

• 10% of Hyundai saLes? Haha. Proton will be laughing. Last year proton sold 120k cars. Hyundai sold 6.5 million. Proton not even 2% of Hyundai sales.

• godonkey on Apr 11, 2015 at 3:42 am

Well said bro.

• Gen2 (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:31 am

The difference between Korea and Malaysia is albeit protectionism and cronyism (the powerful Chaebol and government conglomerate ) , the Koreans succeed and Malaysia FAIL in every miserable way.

We Malaysian are not against protectionism, nor the state interfering and injecting fund into heavy industry business. Actually, it’s a necessary evil to make local industry grow until it’s good enough to compete globally.

Sadly, here’s is where the similarity between the Koreans and Malaysians stop. In Korea, people work hard, with sheer dedication and sacrifice to create REAL VALUE, so that their products can win the hearts not only the locals, but the international market as well. Decades later, they succeeded.

In Malaysia, creating real value and making good quality product is never a business priority. We see one crook after another, kawan baik, cucu-cicik, bini and cronies with zero credentials are appointed as the leadership by CONNECTION, not capability or quality. They screw it up, turn the company in red and wait for the government to bail them out, or, taken over by the next crony. Meanwhile, the production line chunked out lousy quality products for decades and blame the rakyat for not being patriotic when their sales is bad. What kind of bullshit is this?

How can Malaysia progress when our way of running a business defeats every sane business sense? It’s all about makan duit, milk it dry and let tax payer’s money bail them out. How to progress? Look at Proton, look at Indah Water, look at 1MDB and last but not least, the MAS, can’t even put telur rebus in their nasi lemak, I wonder how much $$ the UMNO-link catering company makan in his pocket by supplying this kind of awful food to our national flag carrier.

Do you support such a business? I certainly don’t. And one more thing, Koreans don’t sell sub-standard car to their own rakyat with A HIGHER PRICE than the export market. In Malaysia, Proton does that. If you want to be a sohai paying higher price than foreigner buying inferior product produced by your beloved Proton, by all means go ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
          • readmore on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Dun forget p1cannot set the total price low, because of the tax.And bolehland is one of the CEPT countries so the prices should be similar around this region

it is not as simple as you think, crony crony crony

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • kadajawie on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Koreans using protection to produce world class cars selling millions.

Proton using protection to bully own rakyat and selling only 5,000 cars export market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • blahblah on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Its just Malaysian mentality, be it from the top all the way to the bottom. No patriotism and dedication among the citizens.. How to move forward?

Malaysians, in general, tend to complain a lot rather than working harder and smarter, unlike the Koreans and Japanese. Our people complain a lot about corruptions and cronyism, yet still participate in the practice as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
          • patriot on Apr 11, 2015 at 11:51 pm

What does patriotism got to do with buying car? You are only supporting a certain failed carmaker and wasting the rakyat’s money

• To all those who think buying p1 is patriotism, please go book 10 more Iriz from Mr. Ah Beng. Action speaks louder than talk kok.

• IrizX on Apr 27, 2015 at 9:45 am

Difference is Korea car industry under protectionism, they do work and improve and compete. Proton, under protection…tak apa bang, makan pisang goreng dulu, kereta jual juagak.

• Alson P on Apr 12, 2015 at 11:53 am

The drive for the democratisation of car safety must now be extended across all automotive markets worldwide. By 2020 at the latest we want all new cars to meet basic standards for both crash protection and crash avoidance. They must have crumple zones, air bags, and electronic stability control. Our new report sets out ten clear recommendations to transform global car safety as well as a realistic and affordable timetable for their implementation.

Taken together these life saving recommendations have the potential to prevent tens of thousands of avoidable deaths and hundreds of thousands of injuries every year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Macai on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:22 am

Woi…put your facts right when barking…proton and perodua sales is far above than companies you mention cumulatively as a company..
        Use your brain before posting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
      • I met Same Lorrrr!!!!! on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Proton should offer each car sold 1 free bra and 4 free sloggi panties. This is what Same Lorrr told me when I met him in Parkson.

He said this would treble the sales of Proton

• mythbuster on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:07 pm

Even Im a toyota user( previous generation), Im support u. UMW become too greedy ready. They think whatever junk they throw, people will buy it. Just add on chrome panel here and there enough. latest 2.0 camry is a very good example for greedyness of UMW , even not bother to offer VSC for 150k D segment car. TOYOTA is good, but UMW is true culprit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
  • Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 7:41 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 130
  • tomesi on Apr 10, 2015 at 7:42 pm

Safety features in Iriz/Preve/Suprima should be followed by other ‘national-car’ manufacturer.Even proton is bashed alot lately coz of its past reputation, at least for now they are trying to put good safety specs in our national model, compare to Perodua..if low cost car can comply all these safety regulations, im sure UMW and the rest must to comply to..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 6
    • senpai san on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:52 am

car like myvi, kancil, axia or alza is only suitable for ppl with japanese driver behavior and mind. rackless malaysian or korean driver not suit with produa cars. japanese practice safety driving manners and their speed limits on normal roads is only between 30~60km/h. rebadge kei car and sell it in malaysia without any effort to increase safety features is unacceptable!

• VHL Lorr on Apr 13, 2015 at 2:26 pm

but here, it’s opposite. Plenty of ‘bola keras’ drivers drive their perutdua ‘sport car’ that consist of Kancil L200/L500 Turbo, Maiwi Lagi Power Lagi Best, Vavi Elite Exclusive and even Alza Advance on highway at speed of between 160 km/h – 180 km/h, somemore they have ‘bola keras’ to tailgate or race with luxury conti cars.

• kadajawie on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:01 pm

It means that next year onwards Saga SV will only have one or even zero Ancap ratings here?

It’s okay then, Miros always give 2nd chance retest again.

• kadajawaland on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Saga will EOL, better foresee Iriz sedan. Can get 5 star ANCAP no problem.

• Safety is good…… if the car can move.
    If the car spend most of the time at workshop like proton, no use having a tank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 85
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:29 pm

“..at a workshop like Volkswagen,”

Fixed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
      • abahaku on Apr 11, 2015 at 2:50 am

hahaha..well said. Agreed!

• VW? Yes. It happened to them unfortunately for a while but this happens to proton as since its inception. And vw still making money. Proton apa ada? Arrogant begger.

• pirahioma on Apr 12, 2015 at 10:40 am

Only SA cares about sales number

• sayonara on Apr 12, 2015 at 11:50 pm

You may not care about sales number but Proton does. If no sales, Proton close shop liao!

• xpenah pakai proton tapi komen mcm tau..setakat dgr komen org lain pasal proton buat apa..

• shawal on Apr 10, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Preve facelift should come with a updated interior , a new gearbox , a less firm ride and an option for passive safety system….

then it would have chance to go against its rivals…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • idealtech on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Typical Malaysians, the ultimate “Timing-Chain” will revive them back to life in a Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:31 pm

What rivals do the Preve have in its price range?

Suzuki Swift.. entry-level Honda City and Vios.. Nissan Almera.. not many, right?

So, what do they have that the Preve doesn’t have, besides aesthetics-related?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • kadajawa on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Without protection? Plenty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
        • kadajawaland on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:37 pm

No protection? Where? In your lalaland?
          LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • kadajawa on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:23 pm

In Japan, a Toyota Corolla with advanced safety system only cost RM67k. You are the one in lalaland lol

http://paultan.org/2015/04/06/toyota-corolla-axio-fielder-jdm-facelift/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
          • senpai san on Apr 11, 2015 at 11:03 am

have u lived in japan? u r right when you convert yen to ringgit, BUT that is not the only thing you have to pay.
            double insurance, parking lot(u need to prove to to authority that u hv parking lot b4 u can buy a car). the cheapest parking lot u can get is 2000 yen but usually around 5k to 10k yen per month. NO free parking lot at public place. after 5 years, owner must run tru car inspection and pay for shaken. and, fuel price isn’t cheap here in japan!

• Hipokrit on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Clearly if in Japan a smart German surely buy Altis and not Preve within a similar price range.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:27 am

well can u got those price in ASEAN countries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:33 am

thai high spec corolla altis is more than RM100k++ not RM67k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • kadajawaland on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:57 pm

In Japan, Japs cars of course la no protection, sigh

• kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 5:04 pm

its their homeland of coz la..most of time local always has advantage over foreign with or without protection..

• kzm father on Apr 11, 2015 at 5:55 pm

In Malaysia, Proton are more expensive than export market?

• Hipokrit on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:51 pm

A smart German will never ever buy a Proton.

• brazbuz on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:03 pm

proton should get the credit for their safety priority in their new line up. Except that suprima s standard….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • jarhead on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Volvo!!!! ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Albert on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:30 pm

PROTON, your founder and our dear PM are at loggerheads now.I think PM may consider giving some grants to you,but now cos of the public spat,the grants are diverted elsewhere….UNFORTUNATE.
    Chalking a staggering loss of rm 821 juta,Proton…you are just deflecting public criticism by coming up with all the usual promotional price cuts and safety programs (which are welcome),but you sorely miss the point….HOW TO RETURN TO PROFITABILITY.
    FROM 2013 TO 2014,YOU LOST A STAGGERING 1.4 BILLION rm.How on earth did you fill up the shithole? With secretive taxpayers money?
    Insaf,lah.Just close down this DAMNED COMPANY and ask PM for mercy,to give you A GIANT AP to bring in exotic recon cars and original BIRKIN HANDBAGS.SURE PLENTY OF SALES,so that the retrenched staff got new employment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 27
    • taknakToyota on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Which company has to be closed?
      Safe car company or moving coffin one?
      It doesn’t need rocket science to answer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Yes… no need rocket science to answer. Just look at proton sales figure and the amount it losses each year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
        • Albert on Apr 11, 2015 at 8:33 am

Your excellency IOMA,this taknak Toyota guy must be the hardcore proton fanboy.
          He passed rocket science,definitely,but cant think straight with common sense.
          Perhaps,he is a proton staff, not knowing how wrecked his company is.He is a whisper from pending retrenchment,which is sure to come.
          If your company lost RM 1.4 Billion in 2 years,do you think your job is safe?
          Some of these fanboys,have deep shit sense,all they know is to hate Honda and toyota.
          When I started working 30 donkey years ago,I drove a Toyota,but cos of shit protong,all japanese cars were beyond reach of the masses cos of steep taxes,except those who dont mind forking out more or extending the loan period.
          Protong’s accumulated losses since DRB took over easily exceed RM4 Billion…only MMC with double tracking profits(with other mega projects)could shoulder this f….up national service project.

• taknakToyota on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:15 pm

So what of my nick is taknakToyota? You feel threatened? You work for Toyota? Lol

This is the thing. Bila dia buat boleh, bila orang buat tak pulak like some guy lah. There are other nicks like ABP – asal bukan p1, taknakp1 around the net, so why not taknakaToyota?

Toyota cars are not that good unlike olden days, nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:39 pm

You see, Proton has a point.

One can’t deny how safe the Iriz and Preve feel compared to the Myvi and the Persona (two of which don’t have any HPF panels, and no ESP etc). In fact, HPF is amazing, its one of the reasons why when you go and see a wrecked up Preve, most of the time, while the whole front is gone, anything after the firewall is fine, and there is not a single bend to the A pillar, an indication on how strong the passenger cell held up. The Myvi still crumbles like a biscuit.

Having said that, pedal travel too must be measured cause that decides if your knee will survive or a bone will smash it up. And side impact too.

But of course, Malaysians can’t give a toss, they don’t wear seatbelts, rather take a car with “semi bucket seats” and a touchscreen over one with ESP. Seriously, something needs to be done to knock sense into people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 5
    • Well, to most, better have nothing than have a proton. Die also no proton. Swap all the cars with vw and remain the same price. U see vw overrun this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • DonkeyKong on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:39 pm

To most? I think to most people, they’d rather not touch a VW

• Eugene on Apr 13, 2015 at 10:57 am

Why not VW? My dad is using vw polo for two years and the performance is still great. Not to mention about the great engineering, and also the ride quality and handling. The steering is smooth and tightens at high speed as well.

• Becoz some people have been poisoned to think that buying a proton means supporting the Gov. Go figure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • rvpoison on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Nope you are dead wrong
        It should be…….means supporting cronies

While they post comments in PT in working hours, how to be rich?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawie on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:29 pm

HPF supposed to be lighter and cut weight but Iriz failed to qualify as EEV cars.

It shows Proton do it wrongly and made worse with the fuel inefficient Campro engine.

Luckily they use VVT name to make it sounds like Toyota engine when it’s not.

• kadajawaland on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:21 pm

It IS VVT, who cares EEV since it’s not made for EEV, fuel efficient? Of course better than MyVi

• No one must know on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Good job Proton. Keep up the good work. Abaikan haters tu. Selalu ungkit pasal QC Proton yang dulu2 lagi. Memang la kita jangan lupakan sejarah Proton, tapi kalau masalah itu dah diperbaiki perlu ka kita bash Proton terok sangat macam kualiti Proton sekarang sama teruk macam kualiti Proton dulu2? Kalau Proton tak best, try test drive Iriz. Ingat ‘Safety Comes First’. Cheers :).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
  • Aero (Member) on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Great article. This is how Proton’s advances in safety should have been exemplified…. not by voicing ambiguous statements like “” and “Proton got 5-star rating, on par with Volvo, BMW, Toyota etc.”. People are just going to laugh it off, regardless of who claims it, be it MITI, Proton or the media.

Which is why humility works when it comes to controversial topics. Actions speak much louder than words. Malaysians who value the importance of car safety will greatly appreciate what Proton has been doing for the last 3 years. They don’t need someone to tell them that Proton is as good as some Euro company with regards to safety, they already appreciate Proton for what it represents to them (in safety at least).

So far, I have not come across a single company like Proton today with regards to safety. Proton is the ONLY low-cost car manufacturer in the world to emphasise safety. Even Romania’s Dacia adopts a ‘you get what you pay for’ approach with safety. Russia’s Lada, Iran’s Saipa and IKCO, and most car manufacturers in China and India have not been able to consistently produce low-cost cars with full-spec safety (ESC, 6 airbags as standard). Granted, not all Proton models have full-spec safety (like the Suprima S Standard, cheaper Iriz models and all the pre-2012 Proton models on sale today), but the upward trend is obvious. In the future, Proton will only make safer and safer cars, it will only get better from here.

I’d suggest that the government and organisations STOP speaking on behalf of Proton… because educated Malaysians will NEVER trust anything our gov and their proxies say, even if it’s true. I think MITI meant well, but didn’t express their points properly. If they can’t put their points across properly, then don’t say anything at all. Thanks to MITI and their carelessless, now the entire Malaysia is making fun of Proton just because they can. I hope MITI is happy with what they have achieved.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 2
    • Summary: The only way proton will succeed is to complete cut its ties with the G.

At this moment, impossible because p1 is a lazyman gold mine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • DonkeyKong on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:42 pm

When was the last time the government pumped money into Proton? And how much stake does the government have in Proton?

Do you know the answer? Well, obviously, you don’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • proven on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:58 pm

You ask for proof also cannot be answered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • Well, I do not know, that’s fact. Another fact is that p1 is own by a GLC company known as DRB. So long that it’s viewed as “crownified”, it’ll be condemn and hated, that’s also the truth.

And DK, not that I say p1 has bad car (Iriz is quite good). But public perception of this company is just terrible because of the indirect ties to the G. But who knows? Obviously I don’t know, according to you.

• Last year government subsidize proton rgt 1.5 billion. Another 1MDB

• terey on Apr 12, 2015 at 4:32 pm

That’s only a request of reimbursement from p1 – 1.7bil. Not a subsidy.

• Aero (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:18 am

I doubt it. Even if Proton cuts all ties with the government, Malaysians will still find ways to bash them endlessly.

However, I can tell you this for sure; the moment Proton starts selling more cars overseas than they do in Malaysia, everything will change. It shows that Proton can succeed in a free and global market, without protection or preferential treatment. Succeeding overseas is the fastest and most effective way to fix Proton’s tarnished image. It doesn’t matter if Proton only exports to countries like Bangladesh, Egypt or Iran; so long as Proton can bring wealth into Malaysia by selling their products overseas, that’s a huge step forward already.

No mass-market car company can survive by selling in their own country alone (except maybe China and India). Just look at the Australians, they make pretty good cars (Holden and Ford AU), and yet despite their technological achievements, their national car companies will be stopping local production and R&D within the next few years. Why ? Because the Australians don’t export their cars as much, they’re self-reliant. Like most Malaysians, most Australians despise their national cars because of past failures. They too think their local car companies are hopeless and should be closed down to save tax-payers money and further open up the market. Of course, there are some enthusiasts who are against this, they think Holden and Ford AU can still succeed if given a second chance, but after all these decades, most people have simply lost hope.

If we were to learn anything at all, it’s that globalisation is the name of the game today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • ayamxxx on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:48 am

the dream of selling Proton model more in oversea than here is good plan.

but, do they take note of our market-consumer complaint/critics for their own development?

take it Preve, Iriz, Suprima.. all have 1 common complaint which related to its CVT. Others is the HU for the last 2.

It is a outsource unit for CVT. If it not performing well, why take it in the 1st place? Lowest cost among CVT in the market?

Iriz n Suprima had bloody HU which Proton advertised proudly as Android. WHat the point if it getting hang all the time?

-Unsatisfied Proton owner serving for another remaining 7 years car loan-

• Their strategy is sell the better cars abroad and leave lemons for you lor.

• beems on Apr 11, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Any proof? Show it of you are just talking kok

• IrizX on Apr 27, 2015 at 9:52 am

This is true.

Proton’s biggest problem is the CVT and Campro/VVT(new name, same inside). Both sucks max.

No matter how they improved with the safety, the core problems persist. They can’t hope to sell this car overseas if these 2 problems are not fixed.

• Aero pro drive on Apr 11, 2015 at 8:47 am

Holden is chevy rebadge btw. it is essencially american car.

• kadajawie on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:33 pm

I really doubt also you gonna buy a Proton in Langkawi.

• bancau on Apr 12, 2015 at 7:41 pm

You always dream of staying in Langkawi? Then you are a dreamer!

Go get real life dude!

• Normally I would agree but to explain to the layman, I don’t fault MITI for over simplifying some explanation and make it relate-able to the non-savvy buyers and uncles & aunties.
      Instead going on a long story/power point slide to tell how the iriz complies to a list of safety regulations and how each of them functions to protects users, its easier to say it is as safe as a Benz, Beemer, Volvo. If its true, people can relate to that.

As for trust with the Gov, can they believe someone like Rafizi after his latest fiasco with BMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Aero (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:39 am

I don’t mean to be offensive, but the article above is not rocket science material. The fact is, Malaysians are just too damn lazy to read, that’s a FACT. Most Malaysians like to jump to conclusions right after they read the headlines, without sparing a few minutes to actually read the accompanying report or article.

And our media is equally at fault. Does anyone here know what ‘yellow journalism’ is ? Google it. Has anyone noticed how differently paultan.org’s headlines are phrased, compared to the other sources like MalaysiaKini, Malaysia Chronicle, Free Malaysia Today etc. ? These pro-Pakatan news portals, so called ‘free media’ actively practice yellow journalism. On paultan.org, the article read “Modern Proton cars just as safe as Volvos – MITI”, meanwhile, Free Malaysia Today’s headline read “Ministry claims Proton on par with Volvo, BMW and more”…. which one of these two headlines is more provoking and taken out of context ? Clearly, these pro-Pakatan news portals are just as corrupted as Bernama, The Star and NST. Whatever happened to journalistic integrity and common courtesy ?

Anyway, back to my original point. Yes, you are right my friend, if people knew what MITI was trying to say, no problem, but I still don’t see why they couldn’t properly contextualize their points. There was no need to compare Proton to Volvo, BMW etc., they could have just explained how Proton has been moving forward in the safety aspect, and elaborated a bit. Most Malaysians will not contest that, but because MITI mentioned Volvo, BMW etc., it instantly nullified whatever they were saying prior. It made MITI sound cocky and over-confident.

Also, Rafizi shouldn’t have jumped the gun. That’s all I’m gonna say. Our politics is a matter of a lesser of two evils.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
        • kadajawie on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Talk too much crap. You won’t buy a Proton in Langkawi anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • kadajawaland on Apr 11, 2015 at 8:25 pm

And you are talking crap too, since when most bolehland people can buy it in Langkawi and use it in mainland?

• Unfortunately we live in an era where the older folks dont understand what is ECE VTA ESC and other nomenclature. They would grasp the idea of safe like Volvo, prestige like Benz, drive like BMW. How would promote to them?
          On the other hand, the younger generation have an attention span of 3 seconds and their capabilities to digest factual data is questionable. They would not sit down for your presentation and listen to all the regulations being crammed into their heads. After 3 secs, phone is out and you just lost their interest. You would need a soundbite to market to these people. So how would you make it easily relate-able?

• kadajawie on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Action speak louder than words? Bollocks when you won’t be buying any Proton in Langkawi. Stop lying to yourself okay.

• eerr..pardon me for pointing out..New KIA Picanto has 6 airbags,ESC,ABS, Brake Assist System (BAS), Traction Control System (TCS), Hill-Start Assist Control (HAC), Speed Sensing Auto Door Lock and Impact Sensing Auto Door Unlock.Sub 60k but I bought mine last year at 48k during raya promotion. And our Picanto Club Owner(PICO) is one of the happiest auto clubs around.

• Mentari Merah on Apr 14, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Well said Aero. Couldn;t agree more.

• jenffo on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Waiting for Same Lorrrr for bragging about RV in 3….2….1….Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • uslhwzero on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:20 pm

I think malaysian mindset hv been sceptical about two malaysia car
    1. Proton: ” no good quality”
    2. Perodua: ” more quality than proton”
    ..we as malaysian very welcome of proton effort! Hope this can tune up ” malaysian mindset” about they product!.. me honestly bought 2nd myvi 1.3 as my 1st car. almost 7 year never hd major prob only aircond 1 times. Hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • old dog on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:45 pm

whatever la…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 6
  • Josh Ling on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:10 am

all the stars are nothing if there’s no law forcing some cars with 2 stars and below to reach the street, as well as incentive to the car makers to go for the higher safety rating.

and btw, proton seems to be the only car maker here in malaysia that is putting a lot of effort into car safety, but let’s not discount the fact that our car market is not competitive enough to ensure the car makers fit every safety feature available into their cars. and they will always have to count in the cost factor. if the cars in malaysia are being allowed to compete freely, without having to pay ultra high taxes, i believe we will see more car makers actually do care about car safety, and not skimp on giving all the safety features to customers.

• Mee Tee on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:01 am

Here we go, safety again. I thought last time MITI already said as safe as Volvo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Hor Shen Hau on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:03 am

Ya,this is Malaysia.When talk about Proton,always got criticter.Got protection lah,ask government money lah.Come on guys?Can you prove that Proton ask money from Government?Prove please!And since when Proton car is failure?If fail,there will no Proton car on the road.only got your holy “good” car like the Toyota,Honda.You know what,the Suprima S,Iriz,all now got many on the road.Based on Proton report,Iriz now got 25k on the road.And if you come to USJ 12 area,there are many people using Suprima S.Plus me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • i was reading E63 facelift .. also got “criticter”…so????relaxlaaa…

• eatersofthedead on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:41 am

Same lorr butthurt……Bragging and hating all cars except Toyota……Get A life man and get yourself a vios if u can afford one or may i suggest you to get the New Iriz,suprima or preve or….if u still can afford em, get yourself a kereta sorong and dump all your stupidity and shove em up your own ass…who cares about RV nowadays? Only Same Loorrr……madafaka!

• sepul on Apr 11, 2015 at 9:55 am

The problem is all of us.

• waitnsee on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:00 am

figure showed that rakyat bought more T&H cars and P2 or other brand are becoz of the BRAND POWER instead of “safety features” and Asean NCAP stars rating.proton need to focus more on bringing the dark side of proton brand out from rakyat minds.if not sales figures may continue the same.also dont forget that malaysian r known to be more concern on cost rather than safety.

• Proton fan and employee are just in denial that p1 lacks brand power. Nvm, sales figure result will speak itself, Iriz vs Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Expensive Proton on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Yes, safety is good. But for most Malaysians, buying a car is a 5-9 years affair with many months of income commitment.

Proton might look cheap on paper, until you discover your radiator bocor within the first two years of ownership, power window fail, those flimsy plastics knob fail, screw on gearlever lossen, door handle easily broken by your wife pulling it with gentle force, fuel pump fail, roof leaking, compressor fail, all kind of funny sound everywhere in the car, useless GPS , Andriod system that always hang….(the list goes on)

Soon, many Malaysian who are naive to buy Proton in the name of patriotism found out that owning Proton is not a cheap affair after all. Add up those premature failure of parts and frequent visit to the SC, owning a Proton is almost as expensive, if not more expensive than having a Jepun brand. By learning through the hard way, more and more Malaysians are willing to fork out RM 200 or RM 300 more in monthly instalment to enjoy higher reliability and peace of mind. And that amount of money per month is almost negligible for middle class, and is definitely worth to pay to save the nightmare of having a Proton.

You can’t really blame Malaysian for being “shallow” when it comes to safety. For most of them, they would rather drive a reliable car rather than paying those “hidden costs” of replacing one spare part after another owning a Proton, which inevitably, hedging their safety on greedy company like UMW.

It’s a catch 22, but most Malaysian rather pay the price for higher reliability albeit with sup-par safety feature rather having to fix their car all the time.

People don’t experience the effect of ESP everyday, let alone seeing where the harewarr actually sits in their car. But a lousy cabin with lousy plastics and rubbish GPS which can’t work definitely annoys the driver, because that’s where the owner sits EVERYDAY. So in the game if shallow perception, Proton surely fail big time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • geepeeass on Apr 11, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Using cellphone is accurate enough for GPSing, no need internal one

• Expensive Proton on Apr 14, 2015 at 2:26 pm

I find your argument a magnifying of sheer stupidity to the highest form. How about you buy a smart phone with a camera but cannot take picture? You took your phone back to the shop, and the person tell you,” Aiya, nevermind, use digital camera also can take better picture, no need pakai smart phone!”

When you buy something with your hard earn money, it’s the duty of the product company to ensure all the functions and capability perform as advertise. Imagine Apple come out an Iphone with a defect wifi receptor and ask customer to buy another modem to use wifi… All Apple customers all over the world will immediately fxxk Apple left, right, front and back.

What the point Proton put a stupid, almost non-functional GPS unit for cosmetic purpose? Might as well just don’t put anything at all.

Ya, you better buy a microwave that cannot heat up food (got oven mah!), go buy a washing machine that cannot wash clothes (boleh pakai tangan mah!)Funny how Malaysian becoming so blindly defending crap quality, mediocrity and lousiness, call that jaguh kampung stupidity at its highest level.

• kadajawie on Apr 11, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Buying car for patriotism? Nonsense.

Buy car for daily travel, not to fix power window and apply annual leave to send it over and over again.

• fatimah on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:24 am

You must be one unlucky person in the world to have so many things wrong with your car.I had a waja for 9 years with nothing much wrong with it except it’s alternator (once)and power windows. But then I had to replace my honda civic power windows motor way before that of the waja. Psst – I never serviced my waja aircond for that 9 years and it works fine but I replaced the compressor of the Honda twice in its 12 yrs. All in all the honda cause more trouble and cost me more than the waja. Guess what car I bought after the waja? I hate to disappoint u but I’m now driving a suprima s and loving it. And if u think it’s because I don’t have the money, you’re wrong. So please smile more and don’t hate anything so much – it’s not good 4 the heart.thank u.

• kadajawie on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Don’t blame the rakyat choice if they’re rejecting Proton.

Better move away to Bangladesh for new hope just like how they did here in 1985.

If they fail also in Bangladesh (due to Toyota popularity there), move away to other country and repeat the same trick. I suggest Bhutan or Republic of Congo.

• Arcane on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:13 am

Safety may be there but quality is still nowhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • I see Proton has hired many public relations macais to speak in car forums lol thats been their strategy since that Iriz launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawie on Apr 11, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Suffer the worst sales and billions of losses of course must shout lots of noise and shiok sendiri sales carnivals.

• xxxct on Apr 12, 2015 at 1:35 am

Dah tak laku of course must badmouth other cars, if not, alone in showroom korek hidung no customers.

• Ah Long on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:11 pm

No matter how many macais they hired, their sales will never go up

• kakaka on Apr 12, 2015 at 1:33 am

No matter how ‘reliable’ it is, it’s still moving coffin

• wakaka on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:50 pm

No matter how ‘safe’ Proton is, it’s still burning coffin

• kakaka on Apr 12, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Whatever burning it is, still no proof or evidence it’s p1 fault

Unlike Takata airbags…

• creck on Apr 11, 2015 at 8:30 pm

You must be new here a lot of bashers already unleash stuppidity, you want to join them? LOL

• matover on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:14 pm

The conclusion is that most malaysian cant accept the way the governent spent their tax money. They the government spent lavishly we the rakyat pay tax on everything we buy.Gst .

• Banyak cakap lah Proton. Asia BMW konon but ASEAN summit people use the real BMW, not PROTON-BMW-wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • 528ier on Apr 11, 2015 at 8:11 pm

You butthurt they arrived in bimmer? Nexttime work harder, you can buy any car you want

• exssaturn on Apr 11, 2015 at 3:33 pm

No matter what they said on press, it still not convince me to buy a proton car Again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • did the dude in the preve accident survived?

• konggo on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:20 pm

Is proton that bad?
    I ve owned some protons in.my lifetime, but none gave me big problem.
    I don’t know, maybe I am just lucky.

• CyberPatrol on Apr 11, 2015 at 11:52 pm

Proton, safety initiative are good cause however this continuous safety improvement and it does comes with additional cost to meet safety standards and very much of need for IRIZ a global car for international market.

Again not a statement on how Proton IRIZ (a global car) currenty safety features are competitive with international cars in the similar segment. Now Proton aware ENCAP and ANCAP that to maintain 4-5 stars rating it need to upgrade safety features based on MITI safety guidelines and ANCAP for local market. Proton is still living in the comfort zone, when continue to address features improvement for domestic market consumptions. Proton has this denial state of mind, which success dometic sales is enough.

• Proton basher are really getting butt hurt with this article.. quite enjoying reading all the comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • http://m.kinibiz.com/story/tigertalk/75545/apa-lagi-proton-mahu.html

Want to know how much subsidies has proton sucked from the govt and rakyat?

• Menyusahkan Rakyat on Apr 12, 2015 at 8:33 am

We rakyat will never trust Proton ever. For 30 years rakyat suffer so much paying craziest car tax in the world and factored in the double tax again on car loan interest charges. Effectively causing us paying triple cost of car ownership or more.

But God and Karma always be with rakyat by punishing Proton billions loss until it runs away to Bangladesh.

The day Proton quit market here go to Bangladesh, rakyat will go out on streets celebrating dancing finally free from this bully named Proton. What a joy its gonna be!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • Annoynimouse on Apr 12, 2015 at 8:37 am

Moving in the right direction. Keep up the good work!

• Alson P on Apr 12, 2015 at 11:56 am

1. That all UN Member States adopt the following two stage minimum car safety regulation plan and implementation timescale by the end of the UN Decade of Action in 2020:STAGE 1UN Regulations* for Frontal Impact (No.94), Side Impact (No.95), Seat Belt and Seat Belt Anchorages (No.14 & No.16)by 2016 for All All New Car Models Produced or Importedby 2018 for All Cars Produced or ImportedSTAGE 2

UN Regulations* for Electronic Stability Control (No.13H or GTR. 8), Pedestrian Protection (No. 127 or GTR.9)

by 2018 for All New Car Models Produced or Imported

by 2020 for All Cars Produced or Imported

*or equivalent Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSSs)

2. All UN Member States with significant automobile production should participate in the World Forum for Harmonisation of Vehicle Regulations to promote a levelling up of the safety standards in an open and competitive market for automobiles and their components.

3. Fleet purchasers both in the private and public sectors and rental companies should adopt Global NCAP’s Buyer’s Guide and choose ‘five star’ vehicles wherever possible.

4. Governments and the insurance industry should provide fiscal incentives and to encourage more rapid deployment of new technologies through the passenger car fleet.

5. NCAPs should be supported by Governments and donors to extend consumer related testing to include all the world’s major automobile markets and the widest range of models especially the most popular and important.

6. Investment should be encouraged in laboratory capacity and skills training to enable homologation, in use compliance, and independent NCAP testing in all world regions.

7. The automobile manufacturers should make a voluntary commitment to apply front and side impact crash test standards (UN Regs. 94 & 95 or FMVSS 208 & 214) to all their new models from 2016.

8. The automotive industry should cease the practice of de-specification and bundling of safety features. Instead they should make available the full range of safety design and devices in all their major markets and price the relevant technologies separately.

9. The automobile manufacturers should improve the content of their sustainability responsibility reporting to include data on the applied safety standards of its global vehicle production.

10. To sustain the in use safety of automobiles UN Member States should, a) apply conformity of production checks to models already approved on their market, b) carry out regular roadworthiness testing and include tyre depth and pressure checks in such PTI requirements, and c) consider using scrappage schemes to remove older unsafe vehicles from the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Anti Tongkat on Apr 12, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Car excise duty being double taxed on GST again is crime against humanity, anti competitive and insult to any free trade policy under WTO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:39 pm

The way i see it, modern proton cars still lag behind some China cars that have already passed EuroAncap & are selling in EU countries…..

• Jimmy on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:40 pm

If people praise you and support you, what you need to do is to further improve your products and services, not to become arrogant, and not to take advantage and start exploitation.

Don’t misundertand. This is targeting all businesses and politics.

1. What do you feel, especially during rainy days, when you drive an unsafe vehicle?

2. What do you think about the ride and handling of Protons, compared to, say Toyota Camry? (We are not focusing on comfort and NVH). For that kind of price, what do you think, especially 2airbags + 0ESP? Do you think it is worth additional 90k for that little amount of additional comfort + NVH + convenience, provided that you do not have inferiority complex? If you are going for business/contracts, then you should be driving Mercedes to show off to your business partners (yes, you need to). Come back to the initial question: what do you think about Lotus ride and handling at cheap price, is it real?

3. Please rectify customers complaints promptly. While we know plastic rattling sounds and power window problem are minor and rectifiable, but they do give negative impressions.
    Think about big picture.
    Comparing a Vios G with Persona (Preve has 6 airbags + ESP), the additonal 35k that you pay can generate RM1200 bank interest per year, how many power windows can you buy with that, and does a Vios drive/handle better than a Persona?
    Has anybody with Protons at 200k milage and the major structure like undercarriage/suspension system is still okay?
    Have you heard of relatively new cars (4 to 5 years) at almost double the Proton”s price have sounds from below the cars, with brake system malfunction and so on?

4. Please improve the noise level of your CVT gearbox, Proton, please.

5. Even without Proton, it is still in doubt that vehicles will get cheaper, or, be better equiped with safety gadgets (10 airbags like in the United States of America), or, the vehicle taxes be reduced to a more reasonable level.

6. So please, make your decison wisely, according to your financial status. Widen your visions. You make you own decisions.

Do you think I am a Malay, aged 25 years, earning 3 thousand ringgit per month, possessed SPM credit, staying in a flat, driving Proton Saga FLX, and blindly support BN & UMNO, and that’s why I said good words about Proton and the government? Have I ever showed regret (or gently critised) on what the government, or DAP, did? Do you think I hate anyone, like DAP, BN, UMW/Toyota, or Proton? Everybody should become wiser when the age is older.

Please, your political opponents are not your enemies (if they behave properly); you become healthier with good parti pembangkang, don’t over-react. You need to listen to some ‘noise’, or do you think you are God, both perfect and ideal?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Please the Iriz was envisioned to be global car but failed to achieve the status as of today & hence had to be renamed PCC. So it is not a global car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • iriz5star on Apr 12, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Who cares about the status, it’s lightyears ahead MyVi and other shiatty cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • ayamxxx on Apr 12, 2015 at 5:45 pm

any explanation? Not purely understand.
      failed to achieve global car?

• IrizX on Apr 27, 2015 at 9:48 am

PCC is what ar…Proton Cheap Car?

• Why Proton needs to explain so much about this? Rakyat already lost interest in the car. almost all car makers these days comply to rules even Chinese and Indian companies do. what they want to prove is not relevant. fix the quality of the car and mis management

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • ciakap on Apr 13, 2015 at 12:43 pm

remember Suzuki Swift and Datsun Go got 0 rate NCAP for Indian Market. DO You want this kind of car in this country? just try look at this..

http://paultan.org/2014/11/05/datsun-go-gets-zero-star-rating-indian-ncap/

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 13, 2015 at 9:30 am

Proton being a ‘tin milo’ and ‘jammed power window’ was a things in the past…please move on everybody..they make good car now and we hope they going to get more persistent and innovative the future..

btw Proton..I’ve thrust my daughter life with your car (Iriz) so please don’t let us down..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Shunaida on Apr 13, 2015 at 1:51 pm

go go proton!
    I will always suppok you!

• kadajawie on Apr 13, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Cakap tak serupa bikin, if stay in Langkawi you sure go visit Toyota showroom order Vios one colour each.

• Old Toyota Owner and New Toyota Hater. on Apr 13, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Yay!!!!. From 2016 onwards, Toyota Corolla Altis is a 3 star car without ESC. Stupid choice by TMM to drop it.

• kadajawie on Apr 13, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Maybe Saga SV only score 1 or zero stars next year. Worst than China cars.

But no worry, Miros can always give 2nd chance re-test again. Biasalah tu.

• Saga3 on Apr 14, 2015 at 2:06 am

Indeed..!!

But Saga SV/FLX/FLX+ model will be stop produce next year. Saga replacement or Saga3 will be available next year with safety features same as Iriz. Price maybe slightly cheaper than Iriz.

• Well, for me i will buy car with safety features build in-mind, not lots of taxes that goes into gomen’s pockets through APs and other black holes.

• IM SO SORRY, You may comment anything about this post, but please dont say those two muka sombong and all that, i know them both, they are really nice and good people, you cant simply judge people based on what you see and what you hate. They were giving explanation, a serious matter, are you expecting them to smile all the time? haih, seriously~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • IrizX on Apr 27, 2015 at 9:46 am

But their muka really sombong. Pls ask them go to Korea to do plastic surgery and change face. Wanna smack them.

• Proton on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Proton is a good car. Safety wise should be no issue. Fuel consumption is low especially on Highway. Some more so value for money! ! Everyone should just only buy none other than Proton cars. Cheers!

• triple h (Member) on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:55 pm

Nowadays so many pariah sports cars on the road like sotong sup rima prebe jawaja inspirated wira celoplancer aswara mitsubasi iris satayria sona saga ejora rim sporsport16 low budget.they shok sndiri like pangang pariah look suck.they also want2be friend wth lancer ori but unfortunately they r not our mitsu’s family. Booooooo