KL MRT Line 2 – positive response from the public

KL-MRT-1

More on the Klang Valley MRT Line 2. According to Mass Rapid Transit Corporation (MRT Corp), initial public response to the 52.2 km Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya line (SSP) has been positive. Out of the 700 responses polled during the public inspection sessions at shopping malls in the Klang Valley so far, more than 90% of the respondents have been approving of the project.

The project has also been getting a lot of support from the government and stakeholders, said MRT Corp chief executive officer Datuk Seri Shahril Mokhtar. “We are getting positive backing from the Selangor government, federal government and the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD),” he told reporters at a briefing yesterday.

He said the initial cost estimation for the MRT Line 2 is RM28 billion, which is more than the RM23 billion for Line 1, but added that this was just an estimated cost. He also said that the length of the Line 2 tunnel is 13.5 km, which is four kilometres longer that that of Line 1. Construction of the line is set to begin in June next year.

The MRT Line 2, which will consist of 31 elevated and nine underground stations, is expected to serve a catchment population of roughly 2,000,000, with an estimated daily average passenger count of 529,000. When operations commence, the SSP Line is slated to begin from Stesen Kwasa Damansara and includes Stesen Kampung Selamat and Stesen Sungai Buloh, which are all being built under the Line 1 Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) route.

The SBK Line is also set to begin from Kwasa Damansara, and the realignment reduces the number of stations on the SBK line from 31 to 29. The final station for the SSP Line is Putrajaya Sentral, which is designated as the 40th station.

Interchange stations along the line will include the Sungai Buloh terminus (which connects the SBK Line), links to Kepong Sentral, Kampung Batu and Sungai Buloh KTM stations, the Titiwangsa, Chan Sow Lin and Sungai Besi (Ampang/Petaling Jaya) LRT stations, the Ampang Park Kelana Jaya LRT station, the Tun Razak Exchange MRT station and finally, Putrajaya Sentral for the KLIA Express and Transit Line.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I just hope the project finish in 2017 as plan. Cause i can use to go to work and the trafic will not hold me down anymore.

• Lpost on May 22, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Should have extend to cyberjaya..

• Painter on May 22, 2015 at 2:22 pm

2 stations are in Cyberjaya. Next station is Putrajaya Sentral.

Proposed MRT2 line does not cut across Putrajaya. Don’t understand why.

• Putrajaya already has a monorail system built in; tunnels, routes and all were built together. If they can recover the 1MDB funds, perhaps Putrajaya jams may be a thing of the past.

• Lpost on May 22, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Opps.. My bad.. But they should place 1 station around cyber 9. They place will crowded with news houses & new uni..

• Sometimes i like najib, sometimes I’m not

• You cant please people all the time so you have to take the good and the bad together.

• waterman on May 22, 2015 at 8:33 pm

No, i still dislike him! no matter what he did!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • U make good public transport of coz ppl will give positive feedback. The issue is the MRTs should have already in place earlier. If we are really aiming for developed nation by 2020 then the MRTs are integral in moving people around. Now need to hope that the project completes on time and on budget!

• zicron on May 23, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Next i think for port klang to putrajaya then extend it to seremban(interchange can be done at putra height station, got putra and star.)

To the nmorthen from port klang until rawang….

Hope the pace for our bright future public transportation continue with mrt and lrt and brt system…

• Hmmm, I believe that a BRT line from Klang to KL Sentral is in the planning. Fingers crossed.