Volkswagen Polo Sedan facelift revealed in Russia

polo-sedan-russia-01

Volkswagen has revealed the Polo Sedan facelift for the Russian market, giving the rest of us a preview of what’s to come. The refreshed Polo Sedan is of course not a surprise, as we already have the facelifted Mk5 Polo hatchback.

This time, VW has given the Polo Sedan a slightly different face from its hatchback sister. The car we see here has a bigger grille compared to the hatchback, with three chrome slats. The VW logo sits lower in this enlarged grille, and the bonnet no longer needs a semi-circle cutout to accommodate it.

The lower bumper is a one-piece full length item with a straight and thicker underlining chrome bar, as opposed to the hatch’s top border chrome bar that only dips down for the fog lamps. We also see fancy projector headlamps with LED daytime running lights, although that might not make it here. There are new and fancier wheels, too.

polo-sedan-russia-03

Mild changes at the rear, but there are a couple of new elements. A chrome strip runs across the bootlid, joined by another piece across the rear bumper that link the new bumper-mounted reflectors. The tail light graphics have also been revised. The overall new look moves away from the hatchback to be more B7 Passat-like, giving off a more luxurious vibe that’s fitting for a sedan.

Inside, the Polo Sedan carries the same changes seen on the facelifted hatchback. The Mk7 Golf-derived flat-bottomed steering wheel, now with phone buttons on the previously blank right spoke, is here, as is silver trim for the centre console. An RCD 320 head unit and Climatronic single-zone auto air con are also seen in this two-tone cabin.

In Russia, the Polo Sedan is powered a 1.6 litre petrol engine with 85 PS or 105 PS, mated to either a five-speed manual or a six-speed automatic. It’s the same MPI unit we get here, but with the option of a lower state of tune and a stick shift. Three trim levels – Trendline, Comfortline, Highline – are available. Made locally in Kaluga, sales of the Polo Sedan facelift is set to start there next month. Coming to Malaysia soon.

Pre-facelift Volkswagen Polo Sedan

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• cendol (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 10:25 am

People and VW should keep a pole distance from each other

• Same L0rrrr on May 22, 2015 at 1:09 pm

VW is safer in Russia. Because it is less hot and humid there. Want a reliable and cheap car? Better stick with Japanese car (especially Toyota).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • VW_rocks on May 22, 2015 at 2:07 pm

The 1.6 natural-aspirated Polo will works fine lah. Proven in mass-selling and tropical country like India already.

• Jonn Dol on May 22, 2015 at 11:54 am

VW Malaysia, you don’t call it a facelifted Polo if those halogen & LED lights don’t make it here. You can’t continue to dumb down the CKD cars for Malaysian customers..

• Lionel Lee on May 25, 2015 at 2:35 am

Recently i just got my Polo Sedan with the 2015 facelift. I got the new Golf style steering & black headlight. No more clear chrome headlight. I think the photo up here needed some update Mr Paultan. Cheer… ;)