Mitsubishi starts development of new Lancer, alone

mitsubishi-lancer-renault-nissan-theophilus-chin-1

Late last year, it was reported that MMC is basing its next-gen Mitsubishi Lancer sedan on a Renault, but that plan has stalled. A relatively small company, Mitsubishi still wants to have a partner for the Lancer, but has already started work on the C-segment sedan.

“We are talking with a potential partner at this time, (but) at the same time we’re doing an internal design of the vehicle. We’re running parallel because we cannot wait any longer to see if a partnership will work out. If it falls through then we’re another year behind,” Mitsubishi Motors North America’s executive VP Don Swearingen told WardsAuto at the 2016 Outlander preview.

The potential partner is question is no longer Renault, and it has been reported that Mitsubishi is now in discussions with Nissan, which is of course Renault’s Alliance partner. MMC and Nissan have recent history of collaborating – Mitsu co-develops minicars with Nissan for the Japanese market, and in 2010 announced a Triton/Navara pick-up joint-venture which was later called off.
mitsubishi-lancer-gte-official-2The next-gen Lancer is still two years away, at least, so expect another facelift of the current car

When can we expect a next-gen Lancer to replace the current ageing car? Swearingen is unsure when MMC Japan wants to complete a pact, but says that even if a deal could be struck this year, a new Lancer still is 18 months to two years away.

Meanwhile, plans for a new Galant (discontinued in 2012) has been scrapped. “We’ve made the decision that D-segment will not work for us in the US. When you do the financial analysis and you look at the amount of money (needed) for advertising (and the amount) most of our competitors are spending on incentives, it doesn’t pencil out to do a partnership,” Swearingen said.

The auto industry, which is now more competitive than ever, is no easy place for a small player to thrive. Mitsubishi’s constant search for partners for one of its core products highlights the challenges a relative minnow faces today.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Yay japan copy proton. Japanese preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • Inspirah on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:23 pm

You are not alone Mitsubishi! Just let Proton rebadge it too!

But still Smart guys buy actual Lancer, though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • lancerecall on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Lancer no Lotus handling, booooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • perodua CEO on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:15 pm

not sure if i want Lotus handling or a fully working power window.

hmmm, tough choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • benzs on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:48 am

Well. Mayb MMC can collaborate with Proton since they have been providing Proton with Wira, Satria, Iswara, Saga 1st gen, Perdana and Inspira… Proton bought over Lotus. So MMC should consider Proton over their technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Mitsubishi is apparently looking for an already existing engine and an existing platform they can use, not for a company that is able to do contract design like Lotus.

What engine or platform Proton has to offer?

• Areyousure on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:53 am

Good job! I can see Preve front headlamp :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:54 am

Next gen of Proton Inspira coming soon 2017, i cant wait to let proton rape Mitsubishi and give birth the next gen Inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • gaviny on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:59 am

well, the current lancer face is spot on and still is, only thing is their powertrain and interior that time wasn’t that convincing

• applegreen on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:06 am

they not interested partnership with proton? inspira didnt give good feedback?

• matgambo on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:08 am

Small player in automotive industry will die soooner or later. So they must have joined venture in order to survive So how about our beloved proton ,you think you decide.

• George Abdul on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Proton are partly own by Govt, it will never as long as DrM still alive with his lousy cronies buddies !!!

• Wisdom on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:09 am

This one looks like Preve.
    Why not MOU with Proton, again. Both company not doing well lately.

• Energy Analyst on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:14 am

Why not just do it with Fiat Chrysler, there already a willing party?

• superbird #43 on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:17 pm

if thats the case, i think chrysler should b a good option.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:33 am

Mitsubishi is definitely a small company that sucks. Just look at the ridiculous ASX commercial with that half-gay guy beating up some thugs, that’s proof enough that their management has no clue on how to sell cars or to make their cars desirable.

• Mitsubishi wake up! on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Well, it kinda sadden me seeing one of the most iconic Japanese brand with such strong racing pedigree doing so abysmally lately. This news came as a relieve as it indicates they have not given up their Lancer heritage after all.

I am one of those fans who is still waiting to see another EVO roaring and tearing the Rally stage in its most magnificent form. I still keep that faith, I still do. Don’t disappoint us Mitsubishi.

• different segment on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:22 pm

wrc use b segment now. No matter how strong their Evo that’s only for history and memory. Unless they “Evo” their b segment like those R5???

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:59 pm

I’d say develop the Preve further with Proton.
    Proton improve the interior,
    Mitsubishi work on their existing power train.
    Mitsubishi have CVT, EV Hybrid, AWD, turbo technology
    Change the Preve name to something else.
    You can even work a sports car project with Lotus
    Mitsubishi, or you will end up like Isuzu, making only commercial pick up trucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Jonn Dol on Jun 10, 2015 at 2:04 pm

For a new Mitsu sedan to succeed, they have to inject more emotion & sense of style into the design their cars. Just look at Hyundai & Kia ,10-15 years ago they were minnows compared to Mitsu, now it’s the other way round! One major factor is the design of their cars which can be said more appealing than the yesteryears. Mitsu could learn a thing or two about this. And Mitsu also must not forget about their high performance car heritage, they should also plan for new version of their more sporty & legendary cars – Lancer Evo, FTO, Colt/Mirage Cyborg, 3000GT etc. Looking at the latest Mitsu model lineup, it’s pathetic. You have to do something Mitsu to spice things up..

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Well its about time. This car came after the 8th gen Civic (FD) was launched. The FD has since been replaced by the 9th gen, and Honda will be launching the 10th gen (in North America anyways) by end of 2015.

• RollBy on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Styling trend is usually copied for almost every products. Even trend setters will borrow and copy from past ideas.

All i see is a nice car. Only narrow minded fools trying so hard to act smart will compare everything and instead of looking at a product for what it is.

• Regina on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:03 pm

What lah wei Mitsu… for a while say don’t want to make, then say partner with Renault, then say don’t want to make because c-segment too competitive and no margin, now say partner with Nissan

• During WW2. The Zero fighters were of mitsubishi. So were the commanders that built the river kwai bridge. Karma pay back time…

• Perhaps on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:46 am

If only Mitsubishi, Subaru & Proton merge… 3 former rally winning car companies (proton satria s2000) should be able to work things out? Awd mivec proton satria gen 4 boxer engine + lotus tuning… if sell less than 120k for all that can still consider… May interest europeans as well.