Puspakom on carjackers: be cautious with 3rd parties

puspakom-mobile-unit

A week after the unfortunate theft of a sports car at a Puspakom inspection branch – in which a carjacker posing as a potential buyer nicked the vehicle at the end of a B5 inspection – Puspakom issued a statement clarifying certain parts of the incident.

According to the car inspection centre, the vehicle was properly handed over to the owner of the vehicle once the B5 inspection was completed, and that the theft occurred afterwards. It added that both Puspakom and the owner have lodged police reports regarding the theft, and as the incident is currently under police investigation, it will not make any further statements on the matter.

At the same time, Puspakom took the opportunity to reassure customers that it will ensure the safety and care of their vehicles throughout the inspection process. It also reminded customers to be more cautious when dealing with third parties, whether buyer or runner, by verifying their backgrounds and making sure that the transactions are genuine.

https://www.facebook.com/karlsongoh/posts/10152768088167133

Dear readers, it seems that car thieves are getting more daring recently. This is just one of their many modi operandi that we have to be mindful of.

So the next time you’re planning to sell your car, perhaps it’s best to use Puspakom’s Premier Mobile Inspection (PMI) door-to-door service instead, and have the mandatory inspection carried out at your preferred location (for an extra RM100 on top of the standard charges). However, it needs to be said that PMI cannot issue a B7 report that’s required for buyers to process a bank loan application.

If that’s the case, or if the PMI is not available in your area (check the service coverage here) it’s recommendable to carry out the Puspakom inspection by yourself without the buyer present, and to always be aware of your car’s wellbeing throughout the process. Better to be safe than sorry, right?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Like I always said, sushi car got value, that’s why get stolen. I need to work hard to change my son saga to at least a Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Puspakom Corrupted King on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:40 am

This is nothing compared to the corruption going on it Puspakom. Every single element there requires duit kopi to be done.

It is unfair to ask us to take the premium service and for us to fork out extra money. Puspakom created this whole mess. Made it difficult for any seller to sell.

All the bull about Puspakom certification to protect buyer and seller is pure lies. In Puspakom, you give duit kopi, even your car got no engine inside also, they say pass. Money talks there.

Puspakom should be abolished completely. It can never reach UK MOT standards because everything is duit kopi in Puspakom. Lots of poor sellers selling their old cars for a few thousand ringgit also have to cough out RM500 for an agent to “sort” it out because we all know, Puspakom ONLY works with agents for their constant flow of duit kopi.

Try to go Puspakom and see. It is a mess. Only agents and ulat got jalan to go in and get things done, and of course, duit kopi is given.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Close Down Proton on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:37 am

I am a poor man. 85 years old. I sold my Saga for RM2000. Puspakom staff ask me RM500 to make it smooth flow, otherwise, sure got problem because old car.

I had to choice to pay RM500. I poor also, still want to steal from me.

Some may say report to SPRM or MACC. How to report when SPRM and MACC equally corrupted?

• Anti corruption on Jun 18, 2015 at 8:11 am

When there is proper channel to let consumers to raise their concern about corruption, instead of making effort and stand up to fight corruption, some people choose to condemn it openly, join the crowd for whatever convenient reasons they may have. Until when we could be take pride in our stance that we are not part of it. be it a giver or a recipient? It makes 2 to tango.

• Albert on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:49 pm

The thief may be part of a syndicate working with those corrupted dudes,preying on innocent sellers.
    Do you think it is so easy to car jack?

• Cautious on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:30 am

Cautious with Puspakom

• Puspakom Corrupted King on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:05 am

Puspakom are bigger thieves. Puspakom was created just to give Syed Mokhtar more money. Everthing give to him. Even Bernas also give to him. That is why our staple food rice is pricey. It can be 1/3 the price if Bernas was not there to hike up prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Teksi Kangkung on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:12 pm

probably an job involving insiders….

• Something to THINK about on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:32 am

Sure inside job. Dealing with Puspakom is like dealing with robbers or rapist.

• protonsucks on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:01 am

PUSPPAKOM tipu la, when i wanna go renew license, so many stupid fella standing outside , acting as an agent for JPJ to earn extra duit. so corrupted till no action at all. Confirmed it involves insider people liao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Something to THINK about on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:31 am

All the ulat work hand in hand with the officers. They get direct queue to the officer. No need to take number. So you telling me the ulat don’t share money with the officer? If not, how can jump long queue and bypass over 100 people waiting?

• Anti corruption on Jun 18, 2015 at 8:13 am

PUSPAKOM does not renew license.

• The incident happened in Puspakom premise, the party that should take the responsibility!

• PakingSwift on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:42 am

Whole bolehland is corrupted… All ppl follow Bend… Dats why corruption anywhere. Dont expect anything gud in bolehland other than kopi

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:48 am

Hey, Guy.

Rest in peace, My frend GTR35.

• Perangi Rasuah on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:45 am

seems all comments above miss the main topic off this article.. which is ‘carjacking can happen anywhere’..
    – it can happen at Puspakom
    – it can happen at mall valet parking
    – it can happen in-front, even inside your house gate
    – carjacker can stop you anywhere, rob and hijack ur car
    Yes, anywhere.. so, what we should take from this article is to be more/extra careful…

corruption in Puspakom.. yes, it happen but it was different issue..

corruption.. it’s about a person..
    so, to ‘banteras rasuah’, please start with yourself/myself.. how many of us ‘talk fire’ (cakap berapi-api) about corruption, but when traffic police stop u, u are the first who offer ‘duit kopi’ to the officer.. Corruption didn’t happen if u don’t play your role, which is paying, even if that officer ask/ begging/ order u for ‘duit kopi’..
    Please start with yourself, dont’t pay for ‘rasuah’, if u are an authority, don’t ask for ‘rasuah’… simple..

People who pay for ‘rasuah’ are same BAD as people who ask for ‘rasuah’!!!