Lotus Elise 220 Cup now in Malaysia, from RM316k; Exige S Automatic and run-out Evora S also on display

Lotus_Elise_220_Cup_Malaysia_ 002

Dropping by Lotus Cars Malaysia’s (LCM) flagship showroom in PJ today brought about a few surprises. The Lotus Elise 220 Cup, recently open for booking from April 2015, is now here in Malaysia, ready for delivery.

It’s essentially a road-legal version of the track-only Elise Cup R, sitting above the Elise S Club Racer, Sport and Touring in LCM’s range. Prices start at RM316,127 (on-the-road without insurance), going up to RM346,127 if you spec it up with the optional Performance Induction Kit and ultra-lightweight forged wheels with semi-slick Yokohama A048 tyres (as pictured here).

Lotus says it’s up to three seconds faster than the standard Elise S model around the Hethel test track. And that’s with the same mid-mounted supercharged 1.8 litre VVT-i four-cylinder engine with 217 hp (220 PS) at 6,800 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm. The 952 kg-Elise 220 Cup rockets from 0 to 100 km/h in 4.6 seconds through a six-speed manual transmission.

The aerodynamic additions, all specific to the Elise 220 Cup, definitely look the part. A new front splitter, lateral bargeboards, a fixed blacked-out roof, a large spoiler and a massive rear diffuser – all fully functional, of course – are unique to this hardcore variant. Bilstein dampers, Eibach coaxial coil springs, AP Racing two-pot front calipers and Brembo rear calipers are all standard too.

Another surprise at the showroom is the Lotus Exige S Automatic, which is now on sale in Malaysia from RM432,919 in Coupe guise, and RM435,919 as a Roadster (both prices before options). The six-speed auto Exige S gets a 3.5 litre supercharged V6 engine with 345 hp at 7,000 rpm and 400 Nm of torque at 4,500 rpm, and shoots up to 100 km/h in 3.9 seconds (4.0 for the Roadster).

The last treat is the Lotus Evora S Automatic. While this model has been around for a while now, the two display vehicles come fully decked-out with a big rear wing, suede-covered dashboard and black Recaro seats with red highlights. It’s all part of the run-out model line-up, we’re told, before the heavily upgraded Evora 400 comes about.

Despite the exterior and interior add-ons however, the run-out Evoras are priced the same as before – RM503,141 for the manual and RM514,141 for the auto. Using the same mechanical package as the Exige S, the heavier Evora gets to 100 km/h in 4.6 seconds in manual form, or just 0.1 slower as an automatic.

Check out CarBase.my to see Lotus Cars Malaysia’s complete model range in full detail.

Lotus Elise 220 Cup

Lotus Exige S Automatic

Lotus Evora S Automatic

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Elise on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:36 am

Using VVT-i. Good or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • savvy my 1st lotus on Jun 24, 2015 at 7:34 am

Yes very good VVT-i Toyota engine, million miles far better than Campro.

• Lotus BIG BIG Failure. on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:45 am

Waste of money. No resale value, no quality and cannot pull chics. Take the same amount of money, go buy a 2009 Porsche Carrera 2S PDK or a Ferrari 360 Modena.

These 2 cars can pull any chic in town and tell everybody you have made it in life.

Lotus cars are rubbish. that is why they went bust and nobody wanted to buy them out except Proton. Proton also bought them up at an inflated price so some Proton dudes could make some pocket money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
        • makahai on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:00 am

$320k for Toyota engine + Saga Interior +
          Go-Kart design and handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Proton has “Lotus Handling” for Lotus-wannabe.

Real Lotus in fact use Toyota engine. How sarcastic!

For me, Lotus and Perodua are just the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Lotus can use any engine, but still the handling is superior to normal cars

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 24, 2015 at 3:09 pm

You pay that crazy amount of money and you only get Handling? Good luck.

Get a Lexus, you’ll have comfort, reliability, fuel saving, good RV, status and of course good handling too.

• whybringup_proton? on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:51 am

vvt-i vvt then add i to hype some ‘good’ rumours.. cehh.. dual vvti also still pondan compare to i-vtec..
        campro-vvt = gurl
        vvti = transexual
        dual vvti = pondan
        turbo = guy wannabe
        i-vtec = true guy
        i-vtec turbo = man

see, fooled by UMW toyota already..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • VTEC 2.0l can’t even reach 200Nm, boooooo!

• Why not Campro? on Jun 24, 2015 at 3:10 pm

So Proton is fooled by Toyota?

• supercharged on Jun 24, 2015 at 8:26 pm

This is lotus not p1. The engine is supercharged you think it is junky camry one

• Sam lorr- you need to know how to differentiate between car with good handling and terrific handling!

• camtakpro on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:07 pm

Proton junk campro not good enough so need to use Toyota engine lol

• BYDer on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:59 am

handling better than bmw?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • lotushandling on Jun 24, 2015 at 5:31 am

Much better than 3 5 7 junky series

• ithought on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:20 pm

not until you have to fetch more than 2 person.
        and yes way better than your junk as well.

• BMW can beat Lotus handling
          when Elise is parked, lol

• Bobolobos on Jun 24, 2015 at 1:19 am

VVT is good. The Elise is hands down the best handling. You can pick up an older one for cheap but be ready to replace the seats as the stock are brutal on the back side (older models)
    IMHO this is one of the last pure affordable street legal sports cars out there. You get just what you need. Easy to fix/reliable with a Toyota based drive train. Oh man I’m going driving again! L8R

• Thx Dr. M on Jun 24, 2015 at 1:57 am

I have never seen 1 on the street. Epic fail…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Eyesore on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:43 am

That’s because you been driving at PLUS/LPT…. straight road are for sissy cars…. u wanna see Lotus cars / club….they always driving at Karak highways…. hills & corners are more fun….

• poormanmods on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:41 pm

You r right, m8.. Hills and corner are more fun.. Test the engineering to the limit.. True car is combination of superior handling, power to weight ratio, good acceleration (4.6s), fast at corner, good weight distribution.. lightweight, strong, rigid aluminium monocoque but a bit dull interior..

• The interior is repulsing. What the designers were doing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • You newbie to automotive is it?

When you talk about Lotus you don’t care so much about the interior.

• ithought on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:22 pm

exactly, when you talk about Lotus you won’t care so much about the interior, exterior, engine and everything. all you need to care is the feeling of Dr Mahathir. sir i sudah support you, nak project please

• Then I think your reply mostly explain the poor sales of Lotus cars.

• Kereta Mayat on Jun 24, 2015 at 8:17 am

Well… Malaysians always bash Lotus, in the other hand the British always proud of the brand. There are a lot of reviews on the internet about Lotus cars. Reviews by professionals who had driven various cars, and there are also reviews by people who had driven some Japanese cars and they think they know everything about cars. As for me, I would prefer professional reviews. You can Google yourself about Lotus cars reviews.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Malaysian dunno how to appreciate a car. The knowledge about car not from professional view but from his or her aunties, uncles, parents and grandparents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • andas on Jun 24, 2015 at 3:44 pm

not surprise.. typical msian.. all things will link up to politic!

• poormanmods on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:24 pm

You are right, m8.. They think they know everything.. I am always read reviews from professional, not from this basher and full hatred monkey.. Lotus is design for better handling, more power to weight ratio, aluminium chassis/monocoque to reduce weight, strong and rigid chassis, good in track.. But a bit dull interior.. Compare this lotus to Merc, they are just going full retard..

• mEGANE on Jun 24, 2015 at 8:18 am

400-500K and they give you imported chicken- hen -wire grille lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • See…this is best example from my above comment.

• ithought on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:27 pm

See, he is not here to comment about cars but to comment on other’s people comment.

• Campur on Jun 24, 2015 at 8:43 am

Unfortunately this car is too cheap for the elite (who tend to splash on these performance vehicles) but too expensive for the ‘just well-off’ (who will have to consider between this or a proper 4-door luxury sedan).

• Head Hunter on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:25 am

I would just remove the dash and cover it up with CF and a mounted dash on the steering wheel. Aircond can use hose pun cukuplah, bawa track day saja ni.

• Zoom Zoom on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:28 am

Interior looks cheap…looks like saga.. with RM300k+.. Better buy MB A45 AMG with 360hp.. Definitely can smoke this from 100-200kmh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Jimmy on Jun 24, 2015 at 1:48 pm

4.6 seconds + classic look, good price.

• megane is cheaper and nicer than this ugly shit … interior is very ugly…