Toyota introduces THUMS 5 crash dummy software

toyota-total-human-model-for-safety-5

Toyota has introduced the next-generation of its Total Human Model for Safety (THUMS) software, dubbed THUMS 5. The fifth-gen software supersedes its predecessor by incorporating the ability to simulate the posture of occupants in a vehicle prior to a collision.

Apart from employing defensive manoeuvres moments before impact, studies have also shown that said occupants will adopt a different posture in the lead-up to a collision – said posture, be it relaxed or braced, plays a significant role on the occupant(s) body movement and condition during and after said collision.

With Toyota’s THUMS 5 software, engineers will now be able to study the effectiveness of safety features such as seat belts, airbags and other equipment in greater detail. More importantly, engineers will be able to further fine-tune active safety technologies such as pre-collision systems.

The first version of Toyota’s THUMS software was employed in 2000 with the second-generation system launched in 2004 – the latter added on a simulation of a human face and skeletal structure to the virtual crash dummy. The third-generation software introduced a model of the human brain while the fourth version, launched in 2010, added greater amounts of detail of the human anatomy.

Toyota Safety Sense technology platform

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Bob_b78 on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Unfortunate for us Malaysian, UMW Toyota gives us the least safety feature compared to the other countries in the world.
    I remember when the 1st time Toyota removed vsc from Camry, they gave the most lame excuse by stating they did a market survey and found that majority Malaysian DONT USE VSC!!!! Dear Toyota Malaysia, you should educate the drivers the importance of VSC! Not use this excuse to removed it in order to earn more money!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:41 pm

In overseas, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto can be safer than a Camry!

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Alamak on Jun 29, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Hello…Who wants to use VSC? Who wants to use airbag? Who wants to claim insurance?

I don’t think there is anybody in the world that wants to use it.

But when you need it that time, takda, then how?

• UMW Lancau on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:03 pm

This does not affect us because UMW don’t believe in Toyota Global Safety Programme.

Global Toyota all come with VSC, Tyre Pressure Monitoring System, Reverse Camera and 10 airbags as STANDARD. No need to pay more. Basic car already got this.

In Malaysia, we got no VSC and only 2 airbags in most Toyotas by UMW.

You complain, UMw President show his lancau to you and tell you to shut up

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:25 pm

You can’t go wrong with sushi car, especially Toyota.

Basher will keep on talkok e.g. moving coffin, our cars keep on selling. As simple as that.

• Bob_B78 on Jun 29, 2015 at 7:02 pm

If toyota is SO confident with their product, why do so many roadshow and promotion? I think you know the meaning of KANTOI right?

Toyota are 1st in Malaysia for non nationalbrand bcoz of their commercial vehicle sales, not their passenger cars.

• karam singh on Jun 29, 2015 at 9:57 pm

keep selling because the salesman putting on their customer mindset, RV better than their OWN LIVES.
      thats the big WHY.
      Dont u ever feel GUILTY when someone having accidents because of lack of safety of all the cars u SOLD.

• Sam Loo cb No1 on Jun 29, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Sam has very bad reputation and people see him as a old joker. He is a liar, dishonest , arrogant and of course very childish atmhis age now.

• Come here and the definition of THUMS is Toyota Hailat Ultimately Memang Shit.

• toyotaik on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Hey so sad i should have given comment first

Late ady haiya

• Subframe on Jun 29, 2015 at 9:06 pm

THUMS is not a software. It is basically a finite element model that need to be run using LS-Dyna, which is one of popular explicit finite element software. All OEMs use finite element softwares to speed up development by virtually simulating vehicle performance (CRASH, NVH, CFD, Strength, Durability, manufacurability) before preceeding to build prototype/actual production car.

• If u want to die,just buy toyota

• Proton must be very good. What software is Proton using?

• If you want to be the crash dummy, just buy proton

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:18 am

Actually, those kimchi owners that has been shown the Hilux will be more than happy to volunteer themselves as crash test dummies.

They are by definition sor hai tai lan ngongs aka dummies