Toyota Hilux Revo TRD Sport Offroad prototype

Toyota Hilux TRD Sport Offroad-01

The eighth-gen 2016 Toyota Hilux was unveiled in Thailand and Australia in May, and the market leading pick-up truck now sports Toyota’s latest design language as seen on its passenger cars, both inside and outside.

Aside from revised styling, the new Hilux gets two new turbodiesel engines (2.8L and 2.4L, both with VNT, EGR and stop-start) as well as fresh six-speed ‘intelligent’ manual and auto gearboxes. The truck also features a thicker, stronger frame and enhanced comfort, safety and convenience features. Full details here.

For those who admire the Hilux’s qualities but also like the sport truck look made popular by the Ford F-150 Raptor, this Toyota Hilux Revo TRD Sport Offroad might be up your alley. Still a prototype, it was displayed at the Bangkok International Auto Salon 2015 late last month.

The showcar looks significantly more macho than the stock Hilux. Exterior add ons include a TRD front grille and sump guard, bumper cover, sport bar, overfenders and a spoiler on the tail gate.

TRD’s offroad suspension (a rear stabiliser bar is also available) gives the Hilux higher ground clearance, and the truck rides on 18-inch alloys, with TRD calipers behind the front rims. There’s also a muffler with carbon cover. Speaking of CF, the wing mirrors have that look, too. The must-have decals are found on the hood and sides, but not on the tail gate.

These images, by RevoClub Thailand, don’t show the TRD Sport Offroad’s cabin, but the accessories list includes a TRD shift knob and “leg room lamp with TRD logo” among other things. What do you think, pick-up truck fans?

2016 Toyota Hilux Thai launch

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The bontot still “same looh”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • satired on Jul 02, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Got VSC?
      Free from Takata airbags?

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 02, 2015 at 3:22 pm

This car is for people who is so successfully in their life. Just like me. Not you bunch of kimchi drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
    • Same L0rrrr on Jul 02, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Gonna be busy again.

As you all know, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
      • toyotarubbish on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:46 pm

So until now you are not busy right? No customer in showroom. Hahahahahahahha.

• zainal on Jul 02, 2015 at 11:00 pm

dream la sohai… i saw many toyota salesman down grade their car nowadays… from mini cooper to kancil, from vios to waja… for you, from your son’s saga to toyota ke20

• Well, you say so. I have friends who drives innova. The front alignment is never perfect. Original never modify, the tyre wear is on 1 side. 1 of my mechanic friend diagnose the chassis found out the chassis itself has problem.

• Encik Kassim on Jul 02, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Dont compare Ranger with this junk. Look at the front design, macam great wall m4, while rear design remain like the current old model. Only pakcik like sam lorr will appreciate this kind of ‘innovation’ from toyota (thailand).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • OMG.. this is ugly as hell. As commercial vehicles sales made up quite a number of total number of UMW Toyota sales in Malaysia, we can expect the total sales to keep falling once this ugly hell arrives in Malaysia and the old Hilux being phased out.

Now even Nissan, Suzuki, Mazda, or Proton stand a chance to take over UMW Toyota sales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • UWM Toyota, please at least retain 6 air-bags, traction control and stability control as a specification option if you want to gain back your market share on your commercial vehicles. Or else, be prepared to be nailed to your own coffin.

• Annoynimouse on Jul 02, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Not needing a pick-up at the minute. But, if I need one, I’d go for the Ford Ranger over this one… based on looks alone.

• truck lover on Jul 02, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Facelifted Ranger will be much much much better looking.
    So far the facelifts on the Hilux and Navara has not been able to match.

• UMW Mampus on Jul 02, 2015 at 2:42 pm

UMW Toyota is slowly digging its own grave if they introduce this ugly shit in Malaysia.

• mobile on Jul 02, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Sometimes, somehow i felt all hilux driver drive like lunatics

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 02, 2015 at 5:42 pm

This is the perfect variant for Sam’s yard.

It literally smiles at those sorhai kimchi owners before telling them they are beyond farked

• Sam cheras flat neighbour on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:38 pm

Pity the sales man, we all know you are struggling every month. You shall work harder rather than talk cock at this blog. For your information, all your neighbour at cheras flat felt that you one real arrogant sales man.

• Mc Kangkung on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:49 pm

hahahahaha,

Next Edition, the Toyota TRD (Sticker) Version.

Guarantee to look fierce…
    Also, guarantee the same old dated engine…
    Best of all, guarantee more expensive than before…

Toyota Salesperson need to look for another job….becoz sales is dropping like a stone.

• Anymous on Jul 03, 2015 at 9:06 am

I’m would like to ask whether this car can be import into our Malaysia since the new engine using euro4 standard. Just like thailand triton 2.4l mivec engine with euro 4 but Malaysia’s triton using same 2.5 VGT with increased horsepower. Any idea on it?

• albag on Jul 03, 2015 at 10:08 am

that’s a bad ass looking truck…

• benzs on Jul 03, 2015 at 10:17 am

Toyota New design after 10 years of existing Hilux. Not much changes.. To be fair, other manufacture is in progress building their newer gen pick up truck with better look. Engine wise probably will be different since Malaysia adapt to lower fuel euro standard. Eventhough look wise not amazing, ppl will still buy Hilux. Especially in East Malaysia. Most ppl prefer T brand due to realibility. However, T has been doing great job into its safety feature which never concern of human life. But ppl still buy T brand. Let’s see Malaysia spec during its launching. Sometime we dint get good stuff like our neighbours country.