JPJ and KPDNKK to crack down on illegal car mods

Honda_CR-Z_Mugen_RZ_IIMS_ 004

The Road Transport Department (JPJ), in collaboration with the Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Ministry (KPDNKK), is set to crack down on the sale and installation of unauthorised car modifications and accessories, according to a Bernama report.

“We have 25,000 auto accessory shops throughout the country as against more than 24 million vehicles on the road. It will be tedious for our enforcement,” said JPJ director-general Datuk Ismail Ahmad, adding that the two authorities have already met and discussed the joint operation.

He added that although JPJ had the engineers and technical officers that were knowledgeable enough in terms of automotive accessories to conduct the operation, “it would be better and more effective particularly in terms of enforcement, if we work together with KPDNKK.”

The operation was planned in response to media reports alleging that sales of car accessories that did not follow JPJ specifications were rampant in Malaysia. While JPJ reportedly only requested some KPDNKK enforcement officers, the latter suggested for the two to conduct an integrated operation instead.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Wayang oh Wayang.
    Illegal mods will flourish considering the lax enforcement of our authorities

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 08, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Jpj t_a_l_k c_o_c_k. What abt the illegal number plate and tinted glass they wanted to crack down? What abt metro buses emitting thick smoke…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Albert on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Jamban Punya Jenis….this is the shithole mentality of enforcement.By the time this country collapse into another Greece,enforcement is just fantasy.

• kington on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Dia orang dah lapar… kena shopping tuk Raya kan….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Jpj: yeah~ Raya incentive from bosses.
      Boss: Apa lu buat dalam tahun INI, semua gagal.Tak apa.
      Jpj: cepat cari project Baru tambah kerja, kalau tidak, Wang Raya pun Tak ada.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:28 pm

While you’re at it, please ban UMW Toyota TRD and UMW Perodua ugly stupid body kits.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 5
    • luqae on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:44 pm

no such thing as umw perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 35
      • wiwiwiwiw on Jul 08, 2015 at 6:03 pm

The shareholders of Perodua are
        UMW Corporation Sdn Bhd (38%)
        Daihatsu Motor Co. Ltd. (20%)
        MBM Resources Bhd (20%)
        PNB Equity Resources Corporation Sdn Bhd (10%)
        Mitsui & Co. Ltd (7%)
        Daihatsu (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd (5%).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
    • JB_KIA on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:50 am

ban that stupid big barcode door sticker as well…

• Of all the modification on the road, the most is fake mitsu cars. Kalau dah beli proton, proton la tu.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
  • transformer on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:41 pm

great! should have crackdown these illegal mods periodically! i propose to let officer to destroy(hit with a hammer) headlight of illegal HID mods in site!
    No need saman! Just a hammer will do!

crackdown must include motorbikes exhaust “muffler” mods too! these kids(animals) blaring their exhaust night time like no one sleeping at night…… elderly and babies will be shocked by these blaring exhaust noise! Just use a hammer to break the exhaust!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 5
    • DevilDevils on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Better u n ur kindness family sleep at the jungle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 61
      • John X on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:05 am

Found him! He’s here! One of the kids with the muffler mods on his 125cc!

• 4g63t on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:16 pm

To be honest and positive, loud exhaust is a mus for motorbike as it will make their presence noticeable by other motorist..bcos most of stupid driver changing lane without looking left or right and might bang on the motorbike. Please dont be selfish. Dont wanna hear,go live in the jungle. Then u compain abt monkey making noise again,sigh! The drama continues..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 54
    • transformer on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Its not about 2 wheeler or 4 wheeler…. these animal mainly teenager(99.99%), their brain are not fully grown yet….

just need 1 animal to full throttle his bike late night already can shock whole taman resident……. these animal need to be taught a lesson! their parent should be ashamed on how they had brought up these animal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Papa G on Jul 08, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Granted the so call ‘animals’ love to make people lives miserable during the night… but some animals like us has no other way of making other road users aware of us animals presence on the street

Want to fix a stronger horn? either our battery will be dead from just one honk or been harassed by JPJ because illegally modified our horns to be louder

Not saying that loud exhaust are ok, just that I do not agree that you labeled us as animal just we have less than 2 wheels than you do

FYI, some of us ‘animals’ do have cars. just that we use bikes because we are sick and tired of the traffic conditions in major cities…. and the increasing fuel price does not help either

MANNER MAKETH MAN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 57
    • M.A.N. on Jul 08, 2015 at 6:14 pm

He only using that term to those who blare their modified exhaust at night. Why so ‘terasa’? Are u one of ’em?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
      • Papa G on Jul 08, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Just comb this site, whenever PaulTan reports something regarding motorcyclist, bound there someone making tasteless remarks regarding them. I’ve been commenting them all, just this one got lucky been commented by you sir ;)

I’ll be part of them soon, sir. Just bought a kapcai (still standardd) and just passed my L license exam.

My biggest gripe when riding pillion, is that most road users tend to be oblivious to others and not signalling when they should. So some of my friend just get those loud exhaust just they can ‘blip’ throtthle when they want others to aware to their presents… and it’s more effective than honking

We are part of an ecosystem, be aware of others as others are aware of you

PEACE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
        • transformer on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:22 pm

in city traffic, you can “blip” as much as you like….. lol

but please, i mean at late night after 10pm, when almost 80% resident are asleep and no others vehicle on the road, there is no need to “blip”…. please stop wasting petrol

• tokmoh. on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:22 am

Bloody noise pollution can go fark urself.

Fix your damn lights, instead of making trumpet noise. Plenty of cb running around with broken bulbs, ur life not even worth a 50sen bulb? Good riddance then when u mati katak.

And do take benefit of doubt that car have blind spot, and may not see u. Sacrifice 2-3 seconds too much to ask? Defensive driving concept not applicable to riding? Good riddance to society trash too kiasu to not know your place.

• StupitMotorBikeRider on Jul 09, 2015 at 1:03 am

Dont justify your mistakes. Just follow road rules. You ppl annoying and put babies and elderly to GREAT DANGER! Stop your stupit comments!

• Bodoh on Jul 08, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Please prepare duit Raya…

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 08, 2015 at 6:12 pm

WOT?

If they are talking of the illegal HID and illegal strobe lights, fair enough.

But if you are talking of those aftermarket non original but original looking bodykits, isn’t this a bit unnecessary?

And please, don’t tell me you guys are going after those with clear but “non legal” numberplates as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Samsuddin on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Can’t even get the 1.2 mil warrant of arrest traffic offenders and JPJ wanna
    do more than it can chew ??
    Even tinted glass project failed.
    I still see heavily tinted cars so
    where is the enforcement?

• Mc Kangkung on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:21 pm

While you are at it, please oso have a crackdown on jpj officers that accepted kopi-money…

Thanks

• Yes please, we all hate poor people who with crappy cars and loud exhausts, they should work harder so they can buy nicer cars, instead of spending rm40 to make their exhaust loud.

• Breaking the headlights will work… but breaking the exhaust pipe… you’re just allowing them to even go louder without their exhaust or exhaust berlubang… think twice my friend. ;)

• kennyjay on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:00 pm

sing song tok kok.

even JPJ and PDRM officers’ private vehicle modified like ah beng with bodykits and hundreds of LED.

• benzs on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:28 pm

G is acting very reasonable. Vehicle emissions is unacceptable in Malaysia. Mostly diesel vehicle which is mainly lorry are producing lots of smoke and G doesn’t care. I always spot on those roadblock held by police or JPJ. They never care if the vehicle release black smoke. They only care will be Roadtax, tinted, mod cars and so on. But all those offences is easy pocket coz can solve directly by giving a piece of paper stated RM. Too bad for those accessories shop. They will have to cope with authority and soon 60% to 100% tinted film, HID and all those stuff will be illegal. It’s gonna make those stuff becoming drug category.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:43 pm

1. Fix the roads first la.

2. Nab those lori hantu’s with tayar tampal.

3. Implement laws such by making countries such as australia as a model in reducing noises in residential areas, hospitals and other places.

4. only in malaysia problem, too many jabatans that sometimes clashes one another authority.

• Jarhead on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:04 pm

It’s about time!

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:02 am

I guess they got to find some extra cash to pay off 1MDB’s loands/debts…. =]

• roxas on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:39 am

i still see plenty of illegal number plate??

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:26 am

How about those Toyotas that use Lexus logos? Illegal or not?

• transformer on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:27 am

I guess many reader in paultan.org will agree that the most annoying mods are illegal HID & Blaring Exhaust Pipes!

large wheels, body kits, engine mods, ICE doesn’t matter….. You can keep on syiok sendiri!

• Be fair if you wanna eliminate mods then eliminate all mods. Stick to the stock only rule. Why does one need big wheels? How does body kits makes the car any safer..? A sportier looking car is a invite for a street race to another illegal racer..glares is dangerous as it stresses opposite traffic.. noises apart from awakening you from your sleep in the other hand does make then abit more safer by awareness when your eyes don’t see. So no. If you wanna pick things to ban then it’s only fair to ban all mods. Even different category tyres. Even the use of a concave rear view mirror as it distort the distance of the coming car.

• komarad on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:15 am

how about those overloaded lorries, still can see it day and night

• fairgame on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:20 am

Got to love the timing. Essentially this is notice to the car mod shops that officers will be making their rounds so please prepare Enforcement Avoidance Cost (“EAC”). Please don’t forget to include GST with the EAC.

• oh really??

stupid idiots fixing led hid to reflector headlamps still running free all the time.. and also those pasang white lamps in foglights.. bodoh glaring sial.

• Allroadquattro on Jul 09, 2015 at 1:52 pm

just don’t nab my Ruf converted 911. pls

• evocoupe on Jul 09, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Common sense isn’t common among authorities. As long as the modifications do not impact visibility, driveability and safety I do not see an issue. I have been summoned once for my standard exhaust (evo) but my friend driving a Ver 8 with a really loud exhaust got through, so I argued saying that there is no baseline or benchmark for our cars on exhausts. The authority, I quote, said :” Size of the exhaust is determined by JPJ, noise levels by the JAS (Jabatan Alam Sekitar), and the diameter of the exhaust piping by the Bomba.”

I could only give a smirk of dismay because this conversation was with a police officer.. Sad to know he was blind and deaf for not being able to compare our exhausts..

• mason_ on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:09 pm

For what?
    Too free then organise lot of road safety campaign start from school!