Toyota recalls 625,000 hybrids over software defect

toyota prius v

Toyota has announced a recall for 625,000 hybrid vehicles globally over a software glitch. The fault could cause the the hybrid system to shut down while the car is being driven, the company said.

The hybrid models involved in the recall are Prius v MPVs (also known as the Prius+ and Prius Alpha in certain markets) and Auris Hybrids manufactured between May 2010 and November 2014. For all involved vehicles, dealers will update the software for both the motor/generator control ECU and the hybrid control ECU, an exercise that will take approximately 30 minutes.

toyota auris hybrid

The automaker said that in terms of breakdown, Japan had the largest portion of affected vehicles with 340,000 units involved, while 160,000 were in Europe and 120,000 were in North America. It added that there had been no reports of crashes or injuries due to the software-related problem.

This is the latest in a continuing series of recalls issued by the automaker, which has centred around the still ongoing Takata airbag inflator issue.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mc Kangkung on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Kesian…..toyota….
    Problem after problem. Something is very wrong here…

• And still the sales not affected much. The brand heal and sell by itself. No need 7 yrs warranty or some delusional self-praise story being equal standard with BMW Volvo etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • alldisc on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:31 pm

to those planning on bashing why UMW will do not the recall process in malaysia – the answer is Prius V MPV and auris hybrid were not sold in malaysia officially.

• toyotacloseshop on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Heal? Then why not many fugly catfish Vios and catfish fugly Altis on roads?

People already know Vios is only old woman with make up

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:05 am

My son proton saga has never recall. It has better RV than Sorhai Kimchis. Those who fail in their life drive kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Same L0rrrr on Jul 17, 2015 at 1:35 am

If I ever have any junk e.g. Proton at home, I will give out for free. Who like to keep junk at home?

You also need to update your windows anti-virus android iOS regularly lar, why not Prius V software?

• The reason was cuz the world was filled with nippon worshippers, chief temple being Malaysia.

Nothing can sway them away from parting their money for 3rd grade quality cars with dinosar tech, Jurassic engines, safety level fit for test monkeys, mushy bodies, nonexistent insulation, drivability of a zombie, RV based on perceived assumptions and wishful thinking, and their unshakable faith that the almighty ‘T’ badge will give them prestige and up their egos.

• tiffany on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:19 pm

The reason behind it:
      Toyota is trying hard to avoid lawsuit by customer.

Serve the Customer well. Call the customer, not wait customer to call you.

we know many brands, customer calling the service center also ignore.

• notoyota on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:41 pm

It is the other way round, the recall of airbags issue done ONLY AFTER being SUED by victim.

• truly, but Toyota didnt designed Takata Airbags.

Airbags designed and built by other company also facing issue now.

The news and reports regarding accidents caused by the Takata airbag inflator who affects over 32 million of vehicles make the public trusts towards Takata decrease to a very low point. So, wil lother brand did perform better? not really, as NHTSA investigate another Airbag Inflator who causing 2 people injured in the past 7 months, and this time, is not made by Takata.

The airbag are made by ARC Automotive from Knoxville, Tennessee and this company are never related with Takata incident. NHTSA said that they received a report on December regarding airbag at the Chrysler Town & Country 2002, but they stop the case as the location are far to isolated.

On June, KIA are reported to be sued due to other ARC inflator broke down at the KIA Optima 2004. Both KIA and Chrysler driver are injured, but no fatality. This time, NHTSA are investigating 420,000 Chrysler Town & Country minivan and 70,000 units of KIA Optima, although the root cause haven’t find out yet.

Not like Takata, ARC are not a 1st tier supplier and didn’t build a complete airbag, vice verse, they only supply inflator to other airbag supplier, in this case the Key Safety Systems for Chrysler, and Delphi for KIA. NHTSA also said that the airbag of Town & Country has something blocked the exhaust gas of the inflator when the component active and causing error. But they didn’t said the details of KIA Aibag or any other failures in other Fiat-Chrysler or KIA models.

It will took months of investigation before NHTSA decide to further investigate towards technical analysis or probably announcing recall.”

source:http://goo.gl/ErtCCa

• taknakToyota on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Can’t even get the airbags right, now summore want to sell hybrids to people, ptuihhh

• Scouser on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:42 pm

May God bless to those recond cars owners…

• baboon on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:22 pm

http://paultan.org/2015/05/13/umw-toyota-issues-recall-airbags-takata/

UMW Toyota used to recall RAV4 in Malaysia.
      But UMW Toyota never sell RAV4 in Malaysia.

• I already knew in the beginning

• Toyota is maintaining its top spot in recall numbers.
    LOL!

• dugongx on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:43 am

What did you think their TRD department was doing? Total Recall Development. I’d say they have been the most successful with the most recalls ever. Poor fags like Same Lorr keep paying premium and keep on getting highly defective junks while praying for high RV. You are better off in a saga. Hahahaha

• Untung manyak wang on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:21 pm

USA

SUMMARY:
    Toyota is recalling certain model year 2010 through 2014 Prius vehicles. In the affected vehicles, the Intelligent Power Module (IPM) inside the inverter module (a component of the hybrid system) contains transistors that may become damaged from high operating temperatures. If this occurs, various warning lamps will be illuminated on the instrument panel and the vehicle will have reduced power allowing it to only drive a short distance.

CONSEQUENCE:
    The vehicle may enter a fail-safe/limp-home mode that limits the drivability of the vehicle. The hybrid system could also shut down completely resulting in a vehicle stall, increasing the risk of a crash.

REMEDY:
    Toyota will notify owners and dealers will update the software for both the motor/generator control electronic control unit (ECU) and the hybrid control ECU, free of charge. If an owner experiences a failure of the inverter before the vehicle receives updated software, the dealer will replace the inverter assembly with a new one at no charge…

• You bought a hybrid car but indeed the hybrid system automatic switch off when driven,meaning it just like a ordinary car.
    what a joke!
    “Bro,your prius save fuel?”
    “Very save,hybrid really good”
    in fact,your hybrid turn off all the while.
    Really joker.

• roxas on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:02 am

why no bash like how u bash the kimchi faulty seatbelt ?

• Lololol on Jul 16, 2015 at 6:24 am

I see what u did there UMW…… Give 8 year warranty for Hybrid then only announce recall. Smart!

• xbasher on Jul 16, 2015 at 7:21 am

It’s normal lor…man made thing surely never close to perfection…don’t simply bashing peoples…those who involved have tried their best trying to mitigate the problems..pray for the safety our balik kampung colleagues..Selamat Hari Raya

• p1vstoyota on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:50 pm

If Toyota makes mistakes, oh it’s man made thing sure not perfect. If p1 makes mistakes, oh please publish the faulty in newspaper, fire the engineers! p1 must be perfect, cannot make any mistake, that’s not forgivable!

• Same Lorrr on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Rubbish. Our cars are perfect and has the best reliability in the world and outer space too.

• azrai on Jul 16, 2015 at 8:03 am

Ahhh..just remember Sam Loo’s words “RV,RV,RV the most important thing” They just give extended 8 years warranty and suddenly the recall? I bet user can download the update via appstore and install it on their toyotas.

• Aiyo Lololol. U fail la.
    UMW extension nothing to do with this car being recalled. The recalls units in this article were never officially sold by UMW Toyota in Malaysia. If grey import then ur on ur own la.

• I experience it last 2 months ago
    But the PJ service centre guy said it battery problem not the system .
    I been advised change the hybrid battery system cost me few thousand RM… So who is true ????