2015 Volvo XC90 awarded IIHS Top Safety Pick+ rating

Volvo XC90

After earning a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating, the 2015 Volvo XC90 has added yet another feather in its cap after the SUV was awarded a Top Safety Pick+ status from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) – the highest possible rating to be given out by the US-based organisation.

The Volvo XC90 chalked up a ‘Good’ rating in five separate crash categories that includes the front small overlap, front moderate overlap, side impact, roof strength and head restraint and seats tests. As a result, the vehicle scored a maximum six points to earn a ‘Superior’ score in terms of front-crash prevention capabilities.

Key to success in the aforementioned category was courtesy of the car’s updated Volvo City Safety system. Said safety net allowed the Volvo XC90 to autonomously brake from speeds between 19 and 40 km/h. “The independent testing result from IIHS once again highlights the exceptional nature of the work we do at Volvo Cars in taking car safety to a new level,” commented Volvo Safety Centre director, Cecilia Larsson.

volvo-xc90-iihs-top-safety-pick-plus-rating

The small overlap test is, arguably, one of the most punishing forms of obstacles a car has to go through under the supervision of the IIHS. In said test, the Volvo XC90 was driven into an obstacle at a speed of 64 km/h. The car, as mentioned, passed with flying colours. A report by the IIHS stated that “measures taken from the dummy showed a low risk of any significant injuries in a crash of this severity.”

Closer to home, it was revealed in April that order books for the Volvo XC90 have been opened since then. While said report claimed that a local launch was due for the third quarter of 2015, Volvo Malaysia has since remained relatively silent on the notion of the car’s arrival. It was also reported earlier on that the Volvo XC90 will go on sale in Malaysia in a sole T8 “Twin Engine” plug-in hybrid trim.

GALLERY: Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• tishaban on Sep 18, 2015 at 4:14 pm

This is not news. It’s only news when Volvo doesn’t get top marks for any safety test.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • This is how amazing the China company can be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
      • Malaysians are stupid. Pay so much for a Volvo. Our Proton is at par with BMW and Volvo. This is no sarcasm. I love Proton and I myself truly believe Proton quality is better than any volvo crap

So, why waste money and buy a Volvo? Support your own car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • Chee Huat on Sep 21, 2015 at 12:48 pm

This is about XC-90, dude. Yes, Iriz for example is valued for money for the safety features installed, standard across the range some more. But there is no way it can beat any Volvo, especially XC-90. It gets the recognition from the strictest safety test. I do not mean to condemn proton but the money u pay for a Volvo also goes to its build quality as well.

• volvosuck on Sep 18, 2015 at 6:03 pm

But still toyota rules the world. High RV summore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
      • Aqeef on Sep 19, 2015 at 1:42 am

Since you’re too concerned about rv you probably might even die from lack of safety even before you can sell your high rv car man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • protonbest on Sep 19, 2015 at 2:30 pm

Better buy Proton, ‘Volvo of Asia’, better than original

• Meh. Volvo FH truck have got autonomous braking 3 years ago. This is just Geely inheriting the tech from real Volvo Sweden.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh. on Sep 18, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Volvo have applied auto brake feature for a long time, at least even in XC60 launched 7, 8 years ago have it too. They just keep refining and improving it, nothing wrong with them co-operating with Volvo Truck.

• But the system is at a pinnacle in an FH. The real Volvo Sweden (ie Trucks), have mastered this tech. Oh BTW Volvo Trucks dun align themselves to Cars, they treat them as a separate company.

• No surprise, their car safety tech is like more than 20 years ahead of anybody !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • marieta on Sep 18, 2015 at 5:00 pm

I notice inside the car during small overlap crash, the curtain airbag blow thicker on the edge near the steering wheel, so you head won’t smash side way on the windshield fender. None of the other car brands did this !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Albert on Sep 18, 2015 at 5:02 pm

rm248k and rm65k…for 2013 and 2006 XC90 used car advertisements.
    From almost rm300K for brand new XC90,it drops to rm 65K in 9 years……..a whopping depreciation of rm230K.
    Volvo resale values is no better than Proton…and the spare parts after 9 years…..more expensive than Merc Benz parts…and very very expensive.
    Anyway,like Protong…there are always loyal Volvo supporters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • kington on Sep 18, 2015 at 5:11 pm

I’d still go for this if i need to ferry my family. Yes parts are rare and ex but still acceptable. My dad had a 240GL that served us well from 1988 to 2006.

Full body repaint once, engine overhaul once and one silly accident at the Bank Negara roundabout, caused by a lady who came speeding down despite traffic lights already turned red for her. Expectedly her Saga’s engine and radiators detached from the bay with the front half of her car fully damaged. My dad’s Volvo? Just to knock the front fender and bumper, spray a bit and a new headlamp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • brenn on Sep 18, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Engine detached from bay in collision is part of the safety feature in modern cars. In more severe collisison this might save your life because engine wont intrude your cabin and crashes you.

Plus crumple zone makes the car absorb high impact. Harder body doesnt mean it’s safer without any crumple zone. Your car might be lesser damaged but your internal organs. That’s a big no no

• kington on Sep 18, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Yes, in a modern car true. But that was a Proton Saga Aeroback Megavalve. The crash was so bad that the engine dropped from the chassis. It was a total loss although the rest of the car was fine. It was beyond repair.

• tokmoh. on Sep 18, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Volvo is the Nokia 3310 of cars.

Related: http://imgur.com/FMlwABe

• MeToo on Sep 18, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Pls use % instead of absolute numbers to calculate depreciation.

Also, some ppl is happy to save some money and die when their car hits a dog, while some ppl rather spend abit of money to stay alive. Its a matter of choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Albert on Sep 18, 2015 at 6:58 pm

MeeToo,just use the bladdy calculator.You are what Tun describe LAZY…every thing spoon feed.Anyway,for lazy people…it is 80 percent and above cos the original price is way way above rm 30ok.
        Good luck to you,if you prefer Volvo which is a VERY SAFE CAR.

• tokmoh. on Sep 18, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Buy car, expecting ROI. U Maslan?

RV, RV, Albert is another Toyota SA? Desperate cannot sell car until have to bash Volvo? Apa salahan Volvo?!! Apa salahan Volvo?!! Apa salahan Volvo?!!

http://paultan.org/2009/12/10/new-mercedes-benz-ml-350-amg-sports-edition/

ML 350 RM 548,888 brand new, now:

http://oto.my/car-for-sale/148162/used-2007-mercedes-benz-m-class-ml350-kuala-lumpur/

2007 RM 116,800, lose RM 432k in 8 years.

BMW, Mercedes, Peugeot, VW RV lagi sampah, nobody cares.

Volvo RV sampah, all Toyota SA loses their mind! Anak murid Maslan betul.

• viosfan on Sep 19, 2015 at 7:41 am

I bet you will cry to get 10k from sam loo to trade it in, worse than kimchi owners

• tokmoh. on Sep 18, 2015 at 10:54 pm

http://paultan.org/2007/05/30/e70-bmw-x5-30si-30d-48i-launched-in-malaysia/

2007 BMW X5 3.0i was launched for RM 548k
      2007 BMW X5 3.0d was launched for RM 558k
      2007 BMW X5 4.8i was launched for RM 888k

http://oto.my/car-for-sale/161544/used-2008-bmw-x5-4.8is-sport-kuala-lumpur/

2008 4.8i now RM 126,288, lose RM 761k after 7 years.

http://oto.my/car-for-sale/156938/used-2008-bmw-x5-xdrive35i-kuala-lumpur/

2008 3.0i now RM 138,399, lose RM409k after 7 years.

How? What excuse u wanna tell me?

BMW owners all never care about RV? Too rich, shouldn’t care about RV? Aik, double standard?

BMW more reliable than Volvo? Funny, I never remember Volvo earning Banyak Masuk Workshop Banyak Makan Wang reputation. I know many older Volvo still running around daily, not a testament to their durability?

Parts cheaper than Volvo? How much cheaper? As cheap as Proton Wira parts? RM7 oil filter? Alternator RM150? Starter motor RM100? Timing belt kit RM65? Spark plug set RM15? Air cond compressor RM300? ATF RM20/L? Wow, can recommend me your BMW part shop and mechanic?

But BMW more successful than Volvo, so maybe Volvo need to have worse RV so can become successful? Good, I’d love add more Chinese metal wives at greater value for my money.

Seeing how BMW can lose 409k in 7 years and be more successful, I guess first owner need to pay me RM109k to buy his car, then my Volvo will give me respectful image like a BMW owner. Yuo are of genious!

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 18, 2015 at 5:54 pm

When will ASEAN NCAP do the small overlap test? Ingin nak tengok Suprima S, Iriz, Myvi, City perform.

• apamau on Sep 18, 2015 at 7:33 pm

for ASEAN NCAP for Suprima S, Iriz, Myvi, City , they will put a Volvo XC90 in front and let them bang the volvo. haha

• Jezebel on Sep 18, 2015 at 8:14 pm

RV doesn’t matter. what matters the most is safety. UMW do you hear me?
    RV won’t save your life

• iiAMGPackage on Sep 20, 2015 at 7:51 pm

There are certain people who go for brand image, while some people go good specs like Volvo.