Honda Malaysia recalls 2014 City and 2015 Jazz over CVT control software issue – 12,329 units affected

honda city

Honda Malaysia has announced a recall for 12,232 units of its fourth-generation City (2014 model year) and 97 units of its third-generation Jazz (2015 model year) over an issue with improper hydraulic pressure control software involving the vehicles’ continuously variable transmission (CVT).

The company says that in a situation where there is a quick stepping on and releasing of the accelerator pedal at high speed, high hydraulic pressure will cause high stress to be generated to the drive pulley shaft and may cause the shaft to be broken, resulting in the vehicle experiencing a loss of power during driving.

The exercise seeks to rectify the powertrain control module (PCM) in affected cars through a CVT software update, which contains a stress reduction software. As of today, there have been no crashes or injuries related to this issue reported in Malaysia.

honda jazz

Honda Malaysia says it is taking this preemptive measure to ensure customer safety and regrets the inconvenience caused to all affected customers. The company adds that aside from the specified total of vehicles, other fourth-gen City and third-generation Jazz are not affected, and neither are other current selling models

All affected customers will be informed via notification letters, which will include details of the product update. Customers who receive the letter are advised to send their vehicles to the nearest authorised Honda dealer for inspection. Any charges related to the product update will be borne by Honda Malaysia.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• azrai on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Go to google play and download the software update.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • punchcar on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Can download to rectify jerky Punch CVT ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Pinky on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Can’t find it on the app store.. Most probably such features / update will be available 3 years later..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • City1.5 owner on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:59 pm

One does not simply go for cvt and dsg.. 5speed auto FTW!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • jobless on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:59 pm

at least they admit the poblem and do a recall..unlike some..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:55 pm

u mean p1? it just p1 unable to insulate the cvt noise. the punch cvt itself not a problem oni it is loud compare to other cvts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Bashergth on Sep 24, 2015 at 9:57 am

Here in PT there are maniac bashers who will bash p1 on whatever others success of failure. Even sakit perut also they will bash p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • Oompaloompi on Sep 24, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Take it as a form of feedback, whether u agree with their arguments or not. People dont hate without a reason.

• Puncher on Sep 24, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Then they should recall or apologise like VW CEO

• 4 speed auto still win

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
  • Areyousure on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Why new car nowadays so many issues one …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Honda is expanding too quickly.
      Avoid cheap Honda if you want quality Honda.

• Honda also got problem and yet people still like to bash Proton -.-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
    • Proton got problems they won’t recall and will say this is proton ma what u expect

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 30
      • fctul on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Huh? P1 did recalls but it’s not as fatal as takata airbags. Get your fact right.

• KevinChia on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Proton also do recall their cars.. you dont know ar? You gotta have a check on both of your eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
      • Proton did recall since long ago, idiot. I remember they recalled Waja back in 2006. They did recall Savvy & some Gen2 batches as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Oompaloompi on Sep 24, 2015 at 4:49 pm

They recall for small minor fixes that any workshop can do. The serious ones they diam jer. Publicity stunt mah

• camtakpro on Sep 25, 2015 at 11:49 am

I strongly believe recalling to fix that pasar malam grade Preve gear knob must be very costly.

• salim on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Hahahahahaha….

• plotong on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:20 pm

wow…..i think its perfect

• Didntseethatcoming on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Does 2014 model year mean 2014 registered cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Punch on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:27 pm

How come Punch CVT is not recalled?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Damn as usual.
    They’re gonna detune it again.
    Same thing happened to my 2005 city vtec. Was powerful when I got it new. After a year, the issued similar recall for software update. N car was lethargic ever since.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • camtakpro on Sep 25, 2015 at 11:57 am

Compare to VW, the only difference is Honda update the firmware before the real problems appearing. While VW just let it slip through until someone notices.

In the end, don’t tell me any new Honda is zippy to drive. For all I know it will be nerfed 1yr later for reliability sake.

• Sam Loo's Fans on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:49 pm

now you can start regretting not buying toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 35
    • DPCraft on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:46 pm

No regrets, Honda City does offer much more safety then Toyota Vios, Does toyota do recall for vios because forgot to put VSC ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • CVT sux on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:51 pm

give me back my 4 speed AT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • Alson P on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Most of automaker goes for 7 speed or 8 speed AT.. Aisin, Jatco, & punch

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Only poor people and losers in life buy Honda. This is what you get, recalls all the time. I have told everybody here, buy Toyota. Even though Honda is not a kimchi and it is a sushi, only very low class people buy a Honda.

Go ahead and buy a Toyota. you won’t have recalls and you will be a proud owner of a nice luxurious car.

the Honda owner, like the Proton owner, still has to park far away from the party house because he is shy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 99
    • Bob_B78 on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Buyers of Honda cars are not low class, but smart buyers with safety conscious in mind. Safety conscious for their themselves, family and friends. Can luxury and reliability makeup for the lack of safety features when you needed most? You know, life and death is merely separated by 1 thin line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • Reverse Psychology on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:23 pm

I sometimes wonder if Sam Loo is really for Toyota.
      This feller is creating more “hate” for the Toyota brand by bashing other makes aimlessly.

“Go ahead and buy a Toyota. you won’t have recalls and you will be a proud owner of a nice luxurious car.”

Well that’s odd, Do you even read bro?

http://paultan.org/2015/07/07/toyota-recalls-another-29985-vehicles-in-malaysia-over-takata-airbags-vios-corolla-altis-and-yaris-affected/

http://paultan.org/2015/05/13/umw-toyota-issues-recall-airbags-takata/

http://paultan.org/2014/10/15/toyota-lexus-recall-1-75mil-worldwide/

If these are not recalls by Toyota, I wonder what they are.

Peace mate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Proton on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:57 pm

It’s a trap by Proton macais lah. He’s not the real Sam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • He will say “Manada recall, siapa cakap recall, saya tak kata recall, bos kata jangan panggil ini recall. It is called Extra Care Special Free Service! Only poorfag brands like Proton will say recall”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • DPCraft on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Who say, Honda cars actually looks great in design. Honda City looks sporty. While Toyota vios trying to be sporty with bodykits, trying to look luxurious but become ugly.

• Dunbasht on Sep 24, 2015 at 10:03 am

Dun bash toyota later they tell you are trap by p1 macai

If you want to talk about toyota you must praise it high like star

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Sep 23, 2015 at 4:08 pm

I don’t know why Honda buyers buy Honda. Aim higher in life. have better ambitions. Aim for a Toyota. A toyota is so prestigious, if you drive it, it shows you have made it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 43
    • movingcoffin on Sep 24, 2015 at 10:05 am

Yes you have bought a moving coffin

• movingcoffinV2 on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:35 am

Yes, this is a long time ago. Now, People are now smart and you are still dreaming. Altis or Camry even basic spec are still two airbag and no VSC. How you make people like what, moving coffin?

• I agree. Why (s)aimloo when there are bespoke double Rs and limited edition Lambos to buy?

• ahmad on Sep 23, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Will Honda Malaysia really seriously sort this issue? Even my Honda Civic FD2 till now still waiting call/letter for airbag inflator change out. I called HQ once, and they said your model is not effected!!?!?!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • kington on Sep 23, 2015 at 4:53 pm

If they checked your number plate against their database then it’s fine, but if they casually said that it’s fine, then takut sikit.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 23, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Deja vu…?

Honda CVTs are problematic…? Hope it doesn’t go down the path of old City’s often busted CVTs…

• i wonder what if instead of honda recall..etc it was proton recall..etc !! where are those who bark every now and then about proton quality ??

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:15 pm

god said should’ve used the Aisin 6AT

• albag on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:45 pm

why CVT create so much problem yet they still introduce it to mass market?

• Cheap to produce and assemble..big gains in fuel economy and emissions so that they do not need a costly engine redesign…among others..

only jatco (nissan) makes decent CVT’s..everyone else..the other japs Europeans etc have not figured it out for modern applications…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Mark Tan on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Only Honda CVT got issue.

Aisin which is the Worlds No.1 Auto Transmission gives no issue.

Jatco is reliable enough for usage less than 9 years.

• For easier access to information, Honda Malaysia can list the registration numbers of all the cars affected in Paultan webpage. Fun to see who strikes the lottery.

• Honda Fan on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Wonder if Honda Malaysia is serious in this recall. For the Takata airbag recall, my car is confirmed affected and I have updated my details to HM more than 4 months ago. No news at all from HM to date.

• Mark Tan on Sep 23, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Macam proton Quality already…

• Honda with CVT, tak boleh paki.

history repeats, never end.

• Jokovi on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:03 pm

This piece of news will affect their image and future sales.

• tiffany on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Nevermind, Honda thinks Red is the super hero.

the only CVT gearbox with problems in the world.

• Diddy cool on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:40 pm

Hahaha honda red superheros. Buy one to ram petaling street. Oh honda what the hell are u thinking

• CVTNightmare on Sep 23, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Will HRV face the same issue? No wonder Honda skipped CVT in contemporary FB Civic. Nothing is perfect…

• No wonder my Honda Accord 2.4 2014 still 5 AT

• Cheap Honda = Less Quality.
      Simple Business.

More Quality = More Expensive.

• Deann on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:56 am

5 speed auto from previous gen is still the best

• when will the car manufacturers realizes that CVT’s are crap. crappiest of em all!! *whirrs away*

• Lawson on Sep 26, 2015 at 1:14 pm

Looks like my honda jazz 2014 is not in this recall. However its transmission does have higher level of whrilling sound during rapid slow down when compared to my daugther’s 2015 honda city. I think I should get the Jazx CVT oil replaced during 3rd service and check for metal shavings or metal fines in the CVT oil.

• hi do you sell spare part for the honda city 2015 like fender ,front bumper ,steering rack etc

• Thilagawathi on May 13, 2019 at 11:42 am

I bought my city in 2015 and I am facing similar problems. I am going to the service center tomorrow. I am going to see what they have to say. They better admit the fault and do the needful.