Toyota ready for Thai EV investment, but needs infrastructure support from government

make-car-630

Toyota is ready to invest in electric vehicle production in Thailand, but first needs infrastructure support from the government, Bangkok Post reports. The market leader made its stand after Thailand seeked support from Japan to build up the Kingdom as a manufacturing hub for pick-up trucks, hybrids and EVs.

Soichiro Okudaira, Toyota’s senior managing officer and chief technical officer for Asian Oceania and China, said the company was confident of building a manufacturing facility in Thailand for hybrids and EVs, but it needs to know the Thai government’s policy on the matter. Thailand has yet to develop an electric charging station network.

Okudaira said Toyota established its regional R&D unit in Thailand in 2007 with an investment of 1.3 billion baht to support its production of pickup trucks, passenger cars, hybrids and EVs. Toyota Motor Asia Pacific Engineering and Manufacturing Co (TMAP-EM), is located in Samut Prakan and can develop 52% of parts for Toyota’s hybrids that are made in Thailand such as the Prius and Camry Hybrid.

“TMAP-EM is efficient enough to support Thailand’s automotive industry in the long term. We know this because our pick-up truck Hilux Revo now uses 95% local content, up from 87% in 2007,” he said.

The now revealed fourth-generation Toyota Prius was snapped testing in Bangkok in June

The idea was hatched following Thai PM Prayut Chan-o-cha’s visit to Japan earlier this year. After his visit, Prayut authorised the National Economic and Social Development Board (NESDB) to work closely on joint development with the Japan External Trade Organization (Jetro) office in Bangkok. Both parties have since organised seven meetings with Japanese companies in Thailand.

Progress has now been made beyond talks – a record of discussions (RD) was signed earlier this week between the NESDB and the Science and Technology Ministry with Jetro. The NESDB is set to propose the details of the RD to a meeting of the National Innovation Development Committee, chaired by Gen Prayut.

According to NESDB’s secretary-general, Arkhom Termpitayapaisith, Japanese companies are willing to promote Thailand as a production hub for one-tonne pick-up trucks, hybrids and EVs if the Thai government was willing to waive import tariffs and excise tax on imported car prototypes and auto parts that had yet to be made in Thailand, the report said.

He added that Japanese firms also suggested that Thailand begin development of automotive testing centres for crash, high-speed, wind-tunnel, durability and emissions tests. Executives of Japanese firms with regional headquarters in Singapore have reportedly given their full support for the joint development.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam loo please pujuk toyota to invest ev here!

• Asian Detroit on Oct 07, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Syabas tahniah kepada Dr.M, MITI selaku bapa industri otomotif Thailand!! Clap::clap::clap::

• makko on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:46 am

They close shop when they want, what left for Thai then?

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Just because they may leave Thailand one day, you don’t want their investment at all?
          Just because your wife might die earlier than you, you don’t want to marry at all?

• George Abdul on Oct 07, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Self-proclaim like Malaysia Govt BN ASEAN EV main station… Where it heading right now?? Longkang EV??
    Toyota choose Thailand even the Government yet to support… Malaysia Government just self-proclaim yet NO INVESTOR interested in your LOUSY AP system protection !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • apsys on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:53 am

Why so salty? You dun legible to get one ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • fast5 on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:34 am

Just asking the Govt if can’t handle it don’t even self-praise like DUmno ministers always do…

• Toyota should ask Malaysia Gov to support. If we can support Proton, we can support Toyota right?

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Now you got use brain. If we can give up Proton, Malaysians won’t have to suffer high non-national car price and poor Proton quality long long time ago.
      To keep a company survive, just because someone has an impractical dream.

• bad Govt on Oct 07, 2015 at 8:34 pm

What are the ministers doing right now? Keep counting their own salary kah?

• Power on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:36 pm

minister waiting for new projects…

we periodically see those cronies idiotic projjects from one cctv to catch to another cctv to catch again, recycle project with different theme

• Power on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:34 pm

have we cry enough for such foreign investment losing in a new high tech industry?

oh wait, we got our Protong EV thats why we need to block others so can monopolize! t. f.

• brianxyz on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:44 am

I thought our EEV Strategy is not really working looking at the type of new investment Thailand is getting now. The car brands are simply not interested to invest further in Malaysia if things are status quo. All the local assembly Hybrids will disappear from the Showroom once the incentive is over. Agree that Proton is a genuine national brand with own technology but they will ask why preference is still given to Daihatsu aka Perodua?

• When i read this, and I imagine if Japan invested in Malaysia instead, all the BN cronnies will salivating at this statement….. “infrastructure support from the government”.