TEKS1M drivers welcome move to lower fare rates

innova-teks1m-03

As reported earlier, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is set to introduce a revised lower fare rate for the TEKS1M (Teksi 1Malaysia) service by the end of 2015 – a move that has been much appreciated by the drivers themselves, according to theSun in a report by Bernama.

“Many consumers avoid using TEKS1M because the fares are expensive and I believe the new fares, which are lower than the current rate, will encourage them to use it,” said TEKS1M driver, Wong Chee Chan. He states that such a move could help boost ridership towards the service as consumers will no longer be impeded by high costs. “Due to the lack of customers, I normally get about RM70 per day,” he added.

“If the rates are being standardised, consumers will have more choices and the drivers will provide the best services to them,” commented another TEKS1M driver, S. Samy Vellu Raja. Earlier on, SPAD chairman, Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar, had announced that the revised rates will be made known within the next two months. Additionally, he also revealed that a new “sedan-type car” could join the current lineup of MPV-only taxis.

Currently, a ride in a TEKS1M taxi begins at RM4 with RM0.30 added to the total for every 200 metres travelled. Additionally, an extra RM0.30 is added on for every 36 seconds of the journey. Add it all up and the fare could end a fair bit costlier for most consumers especially when one compares it against a budget taxi. A ride in the latter begins at RM3 with RM0.25 for every 200 metres and RM0.25 for every 36 seconds.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Confession of a White Mat Salleh on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:00 am

This is all “drama and wayang” as you Malaysians call it. Last year, I took a taxi from KL Sentral to KLCC (Suria). The bill came to RM200. I am what you term as Mat Salleh. I had just come from the UK then.

Been living in Malaysia for 1 year now. Malaysian taxis cannot change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • Mugabejib on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:30 am

For me even better. Subang Parade to Mid Valley Mega Mall. Pariah wanted RM120. I told him to mampus, I walk to KTM station beside Parade and took a KTM to Mid Valley for RM1.50

Nobody can touch this pariah cheats because see who own all the teksi company license. Then you will understand how things work in Malaysia

• George Abdul on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:54 am

Most Malaysia industrial were monopolies by cronies… due to this all private sector being bully by the Government departments. .. BEnd will just going to end Rakyat to bankruptcy… and keep blaming private sector except themself !!! Tolls were the best example… Where are the ministers now??? hiding in Longkang???

• BeemerFreak on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Taxis in Malaysia will never change unless an experienced foreign operator and the governments policy comes into play.

Should look at a foreign company like singapore’s comfort delgro to operate in Malaysia while hiring local only drivers to run. Cars are only on a rent basis and constantly being monitored for cleanliness and road worthiness. This eases administration and fines should there be any contravention to the law. Until then we are no better….even Indonesia has such a conglomerate called blue bird and their taxis an run much better than malaysia’s

• uber hardcore... on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:13 pm

please use uber next time… its a shame that the public can’t even rely on the public transport established by the govt. its also a great shame that these damn taxi drivers cant even fix themselves to prepare a good and honest ride… maybe some got angry because they cant do ‘fake taxi’ videos anymore… ahahahahahaha… #boomalaysiantaxi

• mat salleh celup?

• Gargantia on Oct 15, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Same goes to my relatives just comeback for holiday… Just drop from Pavilion to Wisma Genting the taxi cost them “without meter as always” RM50 !!!

When I heard from my mum I was shock “WoW” and I told them Pavilion have a bridge link to KLCC though Wisma Genting just 1 minute by walking… They’re more shock then me when they heard that !!!

• Mari Mari Mari Duit Kopi on Oct 15, 2015 at 11:16 am

Teksi in Malaysia all tipu. When foreigner go into teksi, they use their special modified meter to make big fat figure. Meter can run super fast.

When SPAD or JPJ do spot check, a RM50 angpau will close the case. The SPAD or JPJ officer also happy, can go KFC and eat in the night free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:13 pm

id rather ride a camel to work…during rain , haze and thunderstorms , and still have my dignity attached…
    taxis and politicians are just the worst type of human beings , its like they meant to be monkeys , but somehow freak of nature last minute they became humans..

• Black Dog on Oct 15, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Why they need to introduce a Sedan-type when it suppose to be MPV only service? SPAD is only trying to confuse itself and the public with more and more variants and types of taxis

• On the name of... on Oct 15, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Lower the fare dont make any change. Why so many idiot people work in SPAD. Lower the rental fee or cancel all the cronies taxi permit. Dont think it will happen, in my dream also hard. So better use other option, uber & grab car. All taxi driver, if possible move to other option and it will make all the cronies cant sleep at night because nobody will rent their taxi and they will not making money.

• dontcarenomore on Oct 15, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Lower rates doesnt address d gigantic prob of pathetic state of taxi affairs – old n rundown vehicles, stale/stinky/dank/uncomfortable cabins, rude n rascal drivers, etc. I’m generalising here but you get the point.