Toyota Yaris hot hatch model considered – report

Toyota_Yaris_facelift_Europe

Toyota does not have a high performance hot hatch in its product range. That, however, might change soon as Tetsuya Tada, chief engineer of Toyota, is considering a performance variant of the Toyota Yaris, CarAdvice reports.

Tada, who is also the man behind the Toyota 86, said at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show that “we need a real hot hatch for the Toyota brand. Because we, Toyota, already announced the comeback to WRC for 2017.” The Toyota Yaris has already been confirmed to be the brand’s official WRC racer.

“Yaris, what do you think about Yaris?” the engineer asked journalists present in Tokyo. Tada however noted that he isn’t too particular as to whether it will be a Yaris or a longer Corolla, reiterating that the creation of a Toyota hot hatch is the main intent. “I don’t mind which base car is better or not. I will make a real competitive hot hatch,” he said.

There was no mention of what outputs the car might have. However, when questioned as to whether the Toyota’s hot hatch would be paired up against the likes of the Ford Fiesta ST and Polo GTI, Tada replied, “we must beat it.”

He also specified as to what he would be looking for in the hatchback. “No big turbo,” he indicated. Tada continued, “nowadays we don’t need any all-wheel drive.” Therefore, the performance hatch would likely be a front-wheel drive, turbocharged car, if that’s any indication to go by.

As to whether the brand’s participation in the 2017 WRC and the future hatch will be associated with each other, Tada acknowledged that they will. However, he felt that such a connection wasn’t entirely needed. “I’ve already got a same kind of question from Akio Toyoda. At that time, I always reply, ‘motorsport and production cross variations is already old fashioned. A long time ago it was real,” he concluded.

2015 Toyota Yaris, European-spec:

Toyota Yaris Hybrid-R Concept:

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 29, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Buy toyota better! Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • does Tetsuya Tada know that UMW in Malaysia does not give VSC and only 2 airbags even for their top range Camry???

Why does Toyota Japan allow this unless they also want to rape Malaysians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • does Tetsuya Tada know you rant like a kid here????

why do you even bother?

• After 5 years sale 25k? Nobody want

• Power window problem, dun buy

• alldisc on Oct 29, 2015 at 4:14 pm

the hottest Toyota family hatch i can remember is the the Corolla GT and the Corolla FX. which was just a different badging. nothing more.

normally the hotter specs were wearing names like Levin and Sprinter.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Well, the AE86 was a Corolla… even if it was a Corolla Levin.

Should be interesting, the Yaris III (not sold in Malaysia, even the new Vios isn’t based on it) is not too bad, and we know Toyota CAN make engaging drivers cars.

The current Aygo would also serve as a cool hot hatch, IMHO. I drove it in the Citroen version, and it felt grown up compared to the old Aygo. Give it something like 130-140 hp to compete with the Twingo RS and they could have something there…

• i thought Corolla is a C-segment? and WRC has been changed to B-segment. Or Tada actually mean Corolla for hot hatch not WRC

• Well if the next Yaris is built with bigger ambitions that would mean that the next Vios will finally let go of it’s decade old powertrain and having something from this decade…….interesting….

• hshhshs on Oct 29, 2015 at 6:27 pm

why comment always full with car salesman bashing their rival..

• azrai on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:28 am

Yes, sure it’s gonna be a hot hatch since the power window will catch fire.

• Rusmah on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:28 am

it seems Malaysia VIOS going to facelift 2016 3rd/4th Q

• ti awni on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:52 pm

If this yaris come to Malaysia at good price and witg specs par with the kimchis samloo hated so much then its a yes yes.. But it its tge ugly yaris based on the vios with shit specs and shitty price then no