2016 Hyundai Tucson launched in Malaysia – 2.0L, Elegance and Executive trims, from RM126k

2016-hyundai-tucson-executive 2

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson has finally been launched in Malaysia at Hyundai Sime-Darby Motors‘ new regional training academy centre in Mutiara Damansara. First things first, the all-new third-generation rival to the likes of the Kia Sportage, Honda CR-V, Nissan X-Trail and Mazda CX-5 will be offered to Malaysian customers in two trim levels – the entry-level Elegance variant and the range-topping Executive model.

Difference are merely on the surface, though. Both variants of the 2016 Hyundai Tucson are motivated by a naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre MPi Nu four-cylinder petrol engine with 155 PS at 6,200 rpm and 192 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Drive gets channeled to the front wheels via Hyundai’s very own six-speed automatic transmission. Fuel consumption has been rated at 7.9 l/100 km on the combined cycle.

Dimensions wise, the 2016 Hyundai Tucson stands at 1,655 mm and is 1,850 mm wide. Overall length is recorded at 4,475 mm whilst the wheelbase spans 2,670 mm. Additional technical details include mentions of a suspension setup consisting of MacPherson struts in front and a multilink layout in the rear. The front brake discs are ventilated whilst the rear units are solid pieces.

On to the way it looks, then. While both models put Hyundai’s latest Fluidic Sculpture 2.0 design language to good use, a few details help mark them out from one another. On the entry-level Elegance variant, the front grille is treated to a silver finish while the Executive model gets chrome coating. Both models are equipped with halogen projector headlamps but the Executive gets LED guide lights and daytime running lights.

2016-hyundai-tucson-executive 58

The Executive model is also equipped with fog lamps both front and rear as standard while the base model only features rear fog lights. Elsewhere, both models get 17-inch alloy wheels wrapped in 225/60 Continental ContiMax Contact MC5 tyres while the Executive variant is further differentiated via the inclusion of chrome door handles, mirror-mounted repeater lamps, puddle lights and electrically-operated folding side mirrors.

At the rear, there’s not much to differentiate the two with both units arriving on the scene with a tailgate spoiler which houses the LED third brake lamp. Below, two bevel-cut chrome-tipped “exhausts outlets” are to be found embedded into a silver-coloured diffuser-like element – said layout is purely cosmetic, though. A true single exhaust pipe is to be found hidden below.

Inside, the cabin features black leather seats with a honeycomb design and red stitching although customers can option out white nappa (RM1,988 option) or red leather (RM1,288 option) seats. Both are equipped with a leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel that features manual telescopic-tilt adjustment. The Drive Mode Control which offers three driving modes (normal, sports and eco) is standard on the Executive.

2016-hyundai-tucson-executive 34

The Executive variant gets an eight-way power adjustable driver’s seat with lumbar support while the Elegance model has to make do with manual adjustment. The reclinable rears seats feature 60:40 split-folding capabilities (boot capacity is 488 litres) on both variants. The Executive is also equipped with a Super Vision 4.2-inch TFT LCD instrument cluster while the Elegance model has a 3.5-inch mono TFT LCD unit.

Additional goodies to be found on the Executive model include an electronic parking brake, electrochromic rear view mirror with compass, rear air-con vents and a driver’s side window with auto-up/down functionality – the latter on the Elegance features auto-down capability. Elsewhere, the Executive also gets an eight-inch Audio Visual Navigation infotainment system. A reverse camera is standard on both variants.

As for added driver convenience, the Executive variant adds on a Smart Key with a start-stop button (keyless entry is standard on both models), automatic cruise control and front and rear parking sensors. However, both models feature manual air-conditioning.

Safety kit on both variants include ABS with ESC, Hillstart Assist Control, Downhill Brake Control, Brake Assist System and Vehicle Stability Management. The Elegance model gets dual airbags while the Executive variant adds on side and curtain airbags for a total of six. A Safe Drive Recorder is standard on the Executive. Also, the bodykit (silver-coloured panels on the front and rear bumper and side skirts) is priced at RM1,988.

The Tucson is available in seven different hues – Pure White, Sepia Topaz, Pepper Grey, Platinum Silver, Ruby Wine, Ara Blue and Phantom Black. The CKD Hyundai Tucson 2.0L Elegance is priced at RM126,101 while the Executive variants goes for RM139,715, both prices include on-the-road costs sans insurance – prices are expected to increase by RM3,000 in January 2016.

A 300,000 km/five-year (whichever comes first) warranty is standard with each purchase. Additionally, Hyundai Sime-Darby Motors is also offering a 50,000 km free service package with a validity of three years with every purchase of the new 2016 Hyundai Tucson.

2016 Hyundai Tucson 2.0L Elegance

2016 Hyundai Tucson 2.0L Executive

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• gaviny on Nov 12, 2015 at 3:48 pm

i dunno why auto up down windows is a feature that is like ‘exclusive’ to high line model?

i mean my wira 1997 has that function already.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • Dont ever trust Hyundai. They are bunch of liars. I had a Tucson. I bought Rm140k 2 years ago. For whole 2 years, SC cannot solve knocking sound that came when I turned right.

Two whole years. Call technical Team also, they bodoh maximum.

I had to sell my Tucson. Oh guess what, 2 years later I had to sell my Tucson for RM70k. My brother who bought a Mazda CX5 same time, can still sell his car for RM110k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 32
      • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Hyundai bodoh, u also bodoh ma…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 11
      • John is Otak Batu on Nov 12, 2015 at 7:08 pm

U deserve it…keep it up! Don’t forget to patronise kim chee meal everyday also!

• Sammy Loo on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Very kind person that offers you 70k for a 2 year old Tucson.

If you beg me to take it for 25k also I have to consider for such a junk.

That is why I always said, you will never go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
      • Ashraf on Nov 12, 2015 at 9:03 pm

I also had a knocking sound for months, until I found a WD40 can in the left corner compartment in the boot…

• Big Liar Company - Tipu 5 Years on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:59 pm

I had a Tucson 2014 model. In 18 months, I did about 65,000km. Shockingly my aircon kaput. The compressor kaput.

Hyundai refused to replace the compressor. But I asked what happened to the big bull about 5 years warranty and 300,000KM, they said, once you exceed 60,000KM, the only thing covered in engine.

Everything else you pay. Huh??? My car not even 1 and half years old, they can tell me to FO.

Went outside to repair the aircon, the aircon guy told me, most Japs cars, aircon compressor last 4 years plus. Only Hyundai can kaput in 1 and half years.

And now the bill RM3000. Just to replace compressor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
      • Buyer BEWARE on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Hyundai parts are super expensive. Now you buy cause you like the shape but everytime you send for service, minimum RM800 each time. And if you change parts, nothing less than few thousands each

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • sick&tired on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:10 pm

i am driving a korean car, and I have never replaced my compressor since the day i bought my car. price of spare parts are mostly the same with japanese cars. Even if it’s higher, usually not more than 20%. Try sourcing from a company called Kia Power Parts. There are a lot of Korean car parts stockist at segambut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • iampro on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:57 pm

you are just a bloody idiot.
        hyundai uses denso. japanese car uses denso.

why your one 3k?

stupid. sendiri bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
    • The rock on Dec 07, 2015 at 1:37 pm

the auto down window feature is the function that will auto down the window once meet obtruct or object such as hand to minimise your hand being hurt by closing window. i think u never drive a korea car so u don understand what is the feature. Wira got the feature haha, even toyota camry don’t have la brother.

• wiwiwiwiw on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:03 pm

dear car companies, what’s the point of showing or exhibit your cars if you’re gonna lock them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Datuk Lawrence (Motors) on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Don’t bother with this junk. Drinks fuel like crazy. I used to own one. Every 3 days I fill up Rm120. In a month RM1200 just on minyak. I drive about 70KM per day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
  • RM75k for this?
    better buy Toyota Avanza the New 5 Seater with 2 decoration seat, Dual VVt-i with RWD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 53
  • calvin_ng on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Bad safety rating by NCAP and no Turbo….

No thank you…. Koreans used to be one of those rare company in Malaysia that push the boundaries that Japs are slow to adapt… not looking at it… not much difference from the japs now… I will hold on until Turbo existed… disappointed….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • This Tucson has nice Perodua Axia Gear Up Leather seat.

http://paultan.org/2015/04/16/perodua-launches-gearup-bodykit-and-accessories-for-both-axia-faces-standard-and-se-myvi-next-month/perodua-gearup-accessories-7/

• Same L0rrr on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Good good.. go buy all you want. In 2017 many dai lan ngongs will queue up in front of my showroom and trade in their kimchi junk for 25k just to buy our Rush.

As I always say, buy Toyota you will never regret with the high RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 51
  • Same L0rrrr on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:02 pm

As long as it is a kimchi, it won’t have RV. Don’t waste your hard earned money on car depreciation, buy from me better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • John Trollvolta on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:45 pm

As long as it’s Same L0rrr, he’ll have the same shit lor.

• Rokuth on Nov 13, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Same L0rrrrr ry,

after all your talk, you will be the LAST person I would ever buy a car from…ANY car! Too negative… So many lies! So how to believe all the good things you say about your sushi cars? If you lie about other cars, how to believe you about your own sushi cars?

• OMG…another alien car in town….Hahaha…Expensive crapsss…puihhh

• Disappointed on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Useless Price and Unwanted Suv. Seriously CX-5 and the Hideous Cr-v are better choices. Hyundai vehicles are horrible in this current generation of cars. Looks hideous and poor resale values. Not many people would want their vehicles here in bolehland, especially the stupid Sam LOOSER

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • cendol (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:16 pm

People buy more BMW and Mercedes compared to Hyundai.
    Something must be wrong somewhere

• Zoom Zoom on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Base model at 126k is too expensive.. ppl will still go for CX-5 GL with 6 airbags/auto dual zone aircond/ etc. Unless this new tucson can drive better & more fuel economy than CX-5.. Wait for few months Hyundai will give 10-15k discounts.. just like their new sonata.. hardly see one OTR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Winter Sonata on Nov 14, 2015 at 10:50 pm

even sonata discount 10k hardly see on the road nowadays- new version…something is wrong??

• lokal GLC on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:30 pm

1 more car for Sime Darby execs and also their Hertz sewa kereta..
    Gerenti boost monthly sales macam BMW

• Jamal on Nov 12, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Overpriced for ckd. Selling below RM80K in 90% of the countries worldwide but comes to Dr M Proton land becomes starting RM129K. Najib and BN we don’t care about the billions of money in questioned or ringgit dropping to 6 to a dollar, as long as you can close down Proton and reduce car price by another 30-40% WE WILL MAKE SURE YOU WIN EVERY ELECTION!! We had enough of Proton and the high car prices!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • youaredreamer on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Dun think so. Turbo diesel ady 170k in Thai. You get 80k?
      In your dream

• JB_KIA on Nov 12, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Not only that. Many distributors still practice “metallic paint add RM500”. WTF is this? Isn’t this 70’s?

• pengguna proton kecewa on Nov 12, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Wow..judging by the comments,it seems the mazda,honda n toyota’s salesman finally join hands in demonizing future class leader..the tuscon…any joint directive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • In Malasyia, Always buy a car with higher RV. Honda Toyota Nissan. Some might argue that buying a car isn’t an investment. But you pay almost triple the price over an American paid for a same model. Be smart, young horn. You live in Bolehland, dont apply your Chinaman thinking here (U buy a car for investment MEH)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Kenny on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:03 pm

You sure that is LED combination taillight? It’s just normal bulb.

• huehuehue on Nov 12, 2015 at 9:34 pm

stupid specs.. like why hyundai?? why?? for that price u still offer manual aircond and even 2 airbags for that price ah?? even the top spec one also… no panoramic, ugly wheels, no driver aid even as option.. and still… stop it with the stupid china third party system la bro.. very disappointed with the specs coming from what i see as a future segment leader if was well spec and priced…

• chum chim on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:07 pm

HyunDAI – you will DAI one day when you buy expensive sparepart and service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • intermilan on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:51 pm

2WD only? Not even AWD like Sportage?

• Hyundai Lover on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Dear Hyundai,
    Time to make a wise decision. please don’t waste time and just withdraw from this unfavorable market and focusing on other countries who love your car. Unfortunately it seems that no one here likes you.

• Hyundai Lover on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:31 pm

dear Hyundai, time to make a wise decision. please don’t waste time and just withdraw from this unfavorable market and focusing on other countries who can love your car. it seems that no one here likes you.

• blast off on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:50 am

hahaha….so many japs car dealers here trying their best against korean car makers….obviously

• Aiman hakim on Nov 13, 2015 at 7:04 am

Korean car are always pretty but it service is the worst than japanese and european

• Victor Gan on Nov 13, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Hmm…looks good on the outside, but spec wise big disappointment. Where is the trademark Panaromic moonroof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • for prospect buyers.. if u plan to buy or consider this car (or any car).. please don’t read comments… there are so many salesman of competitors giving false negative comments.. some may not a salesman but just giving comment by hearsay.. when they can’t even validate and never experience it themselves..
    the best way is to take your own test ride and read review of that particular car as many as possible..

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Why is this new Tucson TL STILL NOT UPDATED in Carbase.my?

Lexus RX series launched same day updated why Tucson TL Ignored?

By the way, the Old Tucson Sport have Panoramic sunroof. That time people said “Malaysian Don’t need sunroof, impractical”. Hyundai Sime darby listened, took out Sunroof NOW ppl like “Victor Gan” asked “WHY NO SUNROOF?”.

Malaysians are Hard to pleased…

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Nov 26, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Diesel 2.0R CRDI with 178ps and 402Nm torque is Coming. I heard HSDM brought 1 unit in for testing to see if the engine can adapt to our fuel quality. Earliest April next year. Priced around RM170k. It will have Panoramic Sunroof, Smart Elec tailgate etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • maria on Dec 02, 2015 at 12:56 pm

how did you know that??

• apamau on Dec 31, 2015 at 7:50 pm

hi, sure boh ? if 2.0 diesel, would be great, but consider RM170k, then no so great liao..
      if RM150 to rm155k then would be great again.

tested the 2.0, ended up not buying as it’s really no power at all with such a big body. Also, not 4wd.

hopefully sime brings in 2.0 diesel, 4WD, rm155k, then a good option for those who’s interested.

• Limited 1.6 Turbo go where liao? Why bolehland dun hv?

• Vengeful Vengeance on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:36 pm

I applied for Non-Technical Assistant Manager Trainer at Hwontai principal, they didn’t bother to read my CV despite I’m the best strategist, now I’ll show them my skill again by giving free strategy to competitor.

The battery is blocked by air intake manifold. If battery suddenly faulty, most owners can’t replace the battery personally. If let mechanic replace, how careful are they to remove the air intake and refit back without losing bolts nuts or keeping everything clean? No practicality in this Tucson means RV also gone since those who bought 2nd hand look heavily into this. Next, the electronic parking brake, if power loss or suddenly failed, will have to use key to lock/unlock. Imagine on hill slope and in dark area, is this suicidal if it rolls backward while trying to get the key in the dark?