VIDEO: W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class interior detailed

Yesterday, we brought you the full interior reveal of the new W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class, and today, the car maker has revealed a new video tour of the cabin. A cheeky way of teasing us and spreading out the hype, wouldn’t you say?

Essentially, there are three clips here. The first takes you through an extended tour, so to speak, of the new W213’s interior — it’s almost as good as being there. There’s a detailed walkthrough of the 12.3-inch instrument panel as well as a thorough look through the central 12.3-inch display screen’s functions and updated graphics as well.

Yes, there are two massive display screens just like there are in the S-Class, but do remember that this is only something you’ll find in the higher-range E-Class variants. The base variants will have to settle for twin analogue gauges with a seven-inch colour display in between, along with an 8.4-inch centre display.

Not sped through as quickly as your typical highlight reel, the video gives you enough time to appreciate the subtle nuances in the W213’s craftsmanship and materials. Combining the upper half of the S-Class’ dashboard and the lower half from a C-Class, the E-Class here strikes a perfect middle ground.

The video also brings you up close to the new touchpads on the three-spoke steering wheel, positioned on the left and right spokes within the usual array of car control buttons there. The centre console notably features the brand’s palm rest cum touchpad controller, linked to the COMAND Online infotainment system.

Several seat options are also toured, including a range of colours and contours unique to Mercedes-Benz’s different design lines. The Avantgarde models get sportier shapes, while AMG line models receive extended side bolsters and a wider shoulder section for more lateral support. The Exclusive line gets you longitudinal seat stripes; the designo seats are quilted and feature the lateral support of the sports seats.

The second video listed here is a highlight reel of the W213 E-Class model’s development phase. The car is seen put through its paces on different surfaces, and even on the infamous Nordschleife circuit. And, was that the new AMG E63 we see at 0:14 in the clip?

You’ll also be briefly shown the car undergoing several autonomous driving tests, including autonomous braking and lane changes. Remember that the new E-Class also features a new Active Lane Change System. Best of all, you get to see the car drift on snow like a bat out of hell.

The third video is essentially a shortened version of the first, quickly running through the key features of the car. Potential buyers may be more interested in watching the first video instead. The full unveil of the W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class is set for January 11, 2016, so stay tuned for more.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• The interior looks really nice and classy.

• Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Dec 11, 2015 at 7:14 am

the lcd panel can withstand our hot climate if parked under the sun for half days?

• TOO BLING BLING….mata sakit!!!!

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 11, 2015 at 9:32 am

ppl who bought this car was too afraid of Hot weather in Malaysia, Aircond vent opening are over provided.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2015 at 11:44 am

All my 4 Lexus at home have better interior and of course better RV than this sausage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
  • gaviny on Dec 11, 2015 at 2:03 pm

that one piece LCD has to be the smartest way of saving costs in building the car. One piece from taiwan i’m sure costs less than 1/4 the price of mechanical gauges with binnacle,

• Everything is nice except that long display…*facepalm*

• Macromedia on Dec 12, 2015 at 10:17 am

What a nice place to be. Now this is what makes a Mercedes, a mercedes

• Niceman on Dec 13, 2015 at 12:01 am

White steering..pretty..not ugly in a merc but not if it is in a perdana

• Mindbogglingly fantastic. Merc can still keep the ‘Maker of the Best Car in the World’ title.

• SlumberMerc on Dec 14, 2015 at 9:25 am

The display looked way too after market. Not very keen.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 14, 2015 at 1:45 pm

uncles love this

• mr_em on Dec 28, 2015 at 4:25 pm

will those screens last as long as manual instruments?