ETC has reduced traffic congestion by 30%; all tolls in Malaysia to go cashless by 2018 – Rosnah

Toll

The recent implementation of the Electronic Toll Collection (ETC) has directly reduced traffic jams on Malaysian roads, according to deputy works minister, Datuk Rosnah Abdul Majid Shirlin. She says that traffic congestions along toll routes has been reduced by as much as 30%, The Sun Daily reports.

Touching on the average transaction time of each vehicle that halts and passes through toll booths – SmartTAG users require an average of three seconds, while Touch’n Go users requires approximately six seconds. Cash transactions however, require a total of 15 seconds, Rosnah said at the Dewan Rakyat.

Rosnah states that 21 toll plazas have since gone fully electronic, the remaining toll plazas around the nation is expected to follow suit by the year 2018. Elsewhere, an RFID tracking system by the Road Transport Department (JPJ) is expected to be integrated into the ETC system in the same year as well.

On a similar but separate note, the deputy minister says that toll concessionaires have offered a number of incentives for motorists. These include offering Touch’n Go cards with a minimum of RM5 credit without added charges, along with 24-hour top-up booths and extended customer service hours at the toll plazas.

Earlier, SMART Tunnel’s COO, Mohd Fuad Kamal Ariffin mentioned that the ETC system has been gaining traction among the public. The quantitative measurement used to gauge the findings were through the sales of Touch’n go cards and SmartTAGs.

So guys, what do you think of the mass conversion to Electronic Toll Collection systems at all toll plazas by 2018? Share with us your thoughts on this.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• George Abdul on Dec 15, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Hope that the ministry will reduce to 30% or more. Rakyat will finally be free from less corrup… “donation” !!!

• applegreen on Dec 15, 2015 at 12:41 pm

But plaza toll abolishment will reduce traffic congestion by more than 50%…better than ETC maa!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Same L0rrrr on Dec 15, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Congestion reduced is because of the toll hike, not the cashless toll, BODOH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • demolish on Dec 15, 2015 at 1:04 pm

If the toll is abolished completely, average users require 0 second. How about that, Datuk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • thepolygon on Dec 15, 2015 at 1:06 pm

It’s good I guess. Reduce traffic congestion at the gates. A step forward it is.

• Rusmah on Dec 15, 2015 at 2:35 pm

More gates more profit.
      All user paid money before use,
      Great!!!!
      Even no use, money still go into pocket.
      It’s big money! big money!

• Rusmah on Dec 15, 2015 at 2:29 pm

That’s my good girl!

• Those who visit Klang valley from outstation all have to buy Card at last minute, so can use once a year!!??

Those tourist who rent cars also have to buy??

As usual all the dumbos making decisions. No wonder country in dire straits.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 15, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Another typical shiok sendiri statement.

They have done nothing but to move the congestion further upstream, into the main roads after exiting the highway.

If they maintained the roads at constant flow with no additional lanes (and bottlenecks) and no toll gates at all (where people don’t need to slow down, congestion would be less than before they had built the highways in the first place.

• Jobless on Dec 15, 2015 at 10:42 pm

Bs…show us the scientific studies tat proved 30% reduction, else shut up…today at Damansara to Midvalley toll (formely rm1.50 toll charge) me stucked 5 minutes plus entering at the TNGo lane, and mind u in front of me just a few cars and not even rush hour..the main culprit was the main purely TNGo lane was closed (as always) and only the Cash lane and Hybrid Cash/TnGO lane (two out of three) lane open..and the BAtu Tiga toll still jam due to vehicles requring resits..same wit toll entering NKVE from Damansara enter no jam but once pass the toll cannot move die to massive jam..pls dont talk rubbish without any evidence

• Rizal Khan on Dec 16, 2015 at 9:40 am

I think our tol system is a waste of time. They should study how it’s done in other countries. In Dubai, one just drives past the toll. Kinda like Singapore. No need to stop. You have a maximum charge daily. I believe it was 12 but I could be wrong. Once you hit the rate, passing the toll again and again has no charge. If you have no balance in your toll card, you will be sent SMS reminder and fined if you don’t top up within X days. This system will reduce the current said 3 seconds using smart tag. Last time tol booths were needed for job creation at the expense of customer (road user) experience. If they are removing cash at tol booth, why even have the booths anymore!