TMJ’s stunning purple LaFerrari makes an appearance

TMJ LaFerrari 3

It’s no surprise that the Johor royal family has an exquisite car collection. If you need a refresher of that, do head on over here to witness the Tunku Mahkota Johor, Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim, as he toured Kuala Lumpur while being accompanied by a bevy of exotic machinery. Now however, we’re being introduced to the latest addition to that impressive fleet, a stunning purple LaFerrari.

Several photos of Ferrari’s latest and finest were uploaded to the Johor Southern Tigers official Facebook page. In the photos, we see His Royal Highness TMJ arriving at the Tan Sri Dato’ Haji Hassan Yunos Stadium in the rare supercar, of which only 499 will ever exist.

One third of the so-called holy trinity of hybrid supercars, which includes the Porsche 918 Spyder and McLaren P1, “The Ferrari” packs a potent hybrid powertrain within its carbon-fibre body. The main element here is the Ferrari F140 6.3 litre naturally-aspirated V12 engine that produces 789 hp at 9,000 rpm and 700 Nm at 6,750 rpm.

TMJ LaFerrari 4

The engine is supplemented by Ferrari’s 161 hp HY-KERS system, which provides short bursts of extra power. The F1-derived system brings the total system output to 950 hp and a combined torque of 900 Nm. Transferring all the power to the rear wheels is the job of a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission.

All that power is used to propel a car that weighs (1,585 kg) less than a Toyota Camry Hybrid (1,600 kg) at the kerb. This is partly because of the extensive use of carbon-fibre in the car’s construction, including the monocoque structure that is claimed to offer 27% more torsional rigidity and 22% more beam stiffness than the Enzo.

LaFerrari is equipped with carbon-ceramic Brembo discs on the front (398 mm) and rear (380 mm). It also rides on double wishbone suspension in the front and a multi-link suspension in the rear, with Pirelli P Zero Corsa tyres that measure 265/30R19 at the front, and a massive 345/30R20 at the rear.

TMJ LaFerrari 5

The car’s grunt is equally matched by its brains. There’s no shortage of electronic controls to keep things in check here, including EF1-Trac F1 electronic traction control, Ferrari’s third-gen E-Diff electronic differential, SCM-E Frs magnetorheological dampers and active aerodynamics.

As is the case with most LaFerrari purchases, the buyer can partake in Ferrari’s Personalisation Programme, where a wide variety of customisation options are available. As you can tell, TMJ has opted to bypass the classic Rosso Corsa for a deep shade of purple, matched with a black roof and wheels. No images of the interior were uploaded but we expect more personalisation to take place there.

Quite a stunner then. And if you’re lucky enough to see the car up close and live, it’ll certainly be an experience to remember.

GALLERY: Ferrari LaFerrari

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• spongewai on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:44 am

wow, he own 2 hybrid supercar

but i think he is planning to get one more hybrid car which is PORCSCHE 918 Spyder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Guan yin maaaa on Jan 27, 2016 at 12:27 pm

WOW. Nth special.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • komarad on Jan 27, 2016 at 12:32 pm

so can JDT players borrow this car for a spin??

• Daddy, I want a LaFerrari.

Sure son, here’s my debit card. Make sure you draw extra money for petrol, ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
  • GREAT on Jan 27, 2016 at 12:49 pm

its a Left hand drive unit??….

• Woow ! period.

• Not sure football club insta acc or personal insta acc hahaha

• shawal on Jan 27, 2016 at 1:51 pm

gordon ramsay has one in grey…
    epic ferrari…

dunno if that purple is a factory option, or he repainted d car after delivery….

but i think with enough cash ferrari cn tailor made your ride…

• Gold Avanza on Jan 27, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Download tongku!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Ollie on Jan 27, 2016 at 3:57 pm

When criticising, the first thing people would say is envy. Yes, obviously, if he was a self-made billionaire, I would be envious. But as someone just using rakyat’s money, how much more hideous of a character is this guy? Someone gonna say he has own business – eh kawan, he sold land to China. Whose land? We rakyat gave him the land. He sold the Malaysian land that rakyat gave him to foreigners. And now showing off wealth. Eh, wake up la bros and sis of Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 16
    • nabill (Member) on Jan 27, 2016 at 5:51 pm

I oso feel ppl are abit scared to comment wat they really feel…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • So much hate in ur heart…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Omong Kosong on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:30 pm

What do you mean by showing off? He deserved for what he is contributing for. Atleast he has proved he is successful , kau boleh? Well let the small lizard in your mentality and attitude to continue to discourage and demotivate your life. End up you prove nothing yet continue to tag the basher and critic title.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • alldisc on Jan 27, 2016 at 4:07 pm

As this is a super limited, only Ferrari owners are given privileged to purchase this model. If one of us bought a used testarossa or mondial, no way he will be offered so.

And as the numbers are small, while most of the world are using the right way of drive (we are using left way) Ferrari sees no reason to make it in RHD form. Probably several units sold to UK, sultan Brunei and Malaysia.

But other parts of the world are all LHD. Europe, Asia, Africa, middle East and China.

• wow!

• Vinegar on Jan 27, 2016 at 5:53 pm

I don’t think he should be proud of this car thing. If someone worked hard and can afford this thing by himself, we all should give him credit for that. But by using rakyat’s money, of coz he can get whatever he wants to. With the money he got from citizens I think he can even get a personal spaceship to the moon. Successful person don’t rely on people, they work hard and buy things with their own cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • donno on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Unlike our current politicians, the Johore royal family has accumulated wealth for hundreds of years. They practically don’t need rakyat’s money to buy all.those fancy stuff (remember the sultan even banned all johore state departments and town councils from charging any gst to the johorean people)

• stasta on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:21 am

don’t be so naïve . the Johor royal family sold off Johor land to foreigners in 2014 and pocketed 4 billion . if anyone else committed the act of selling Malaysian land to foreigners for personal profit, this act would be considered treason.

• Melvin on Jan 27, 2016 at 10:27 pm

While we condemn Najib and his government, we always overlook the fundamental corruption in this country–The Royalty.

Well it’s Malaysia so this will remain as a rant.

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 02, 2016 at 1:34 am

You are wrong. Life is unfair. You are a peasant. So suck it up.

• sewel on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Xpayah ckp org lain la wei.klu ko kerabat diraja clap2 msuk news paper kot..