Jaguar I-Pace and I-Type, all-electric range coming?

JAGUAR_FPACE_RSPORT_Location 04

A couple of names have been trademarked by Jaguar Land Rover, which confirms that a new range of electric vehicles is in the works, Autocar UK reports. The name ‘I-Pace’ was trademarked in December 2015, while the ‘I-Type’ moniker was trademarked in January this year.

The I-Pace could likely be the name of the Jaguar’s electric SUV. Said vehicle will be the first all-electric model in the line-up, either an offshoot of the F-Pace, or a standalone vehicle, that will be unveiled and available in the market by 2017. While details of the model remains scarce, it’s said the vehicle will be styled closely to the C-X75 and will perhaps come with a 482 km (300 mile) range.

Furthermore, sources indicate that the SUV will sport electric motors at all four wheels. A reveal at the Paris motor show is also said to be a likely case. It is expected to go against the Tesla Model X, Audi Q6 e-tron and an all-electric Volvo XC90 – currently in the pipeline and due in 2019.

As for the I-Type, the model could possibly be an all-electric version of the F-Type. However, it could also reportedly be used for the Jaguar XE and XJ sedans – in all-electric forms. A third name was also trademarked earlier this month – ‘Velar,’ tied to the Land Rover brand, could be used on a Range Rover, as it was originally seen on prototypes in 1969.

GALLERY: Jaguar F-Type in Malaysia

GALLERY: Jaguar F-Pace

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing's better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that's designed and built for that purpose.

• Great Car but Pariah Service on Feb 15, 2016 at 12:00 pm

High class car with low class service in Malaysia. Only 1 place to service, Glenmarie. At the service centre, got no place to sit. You can stand and watch your car being serviced through a glass panel.

No coffee. No water also. Yes, I am not joking. Coffee machine got but rosak. Water also tak ada. Sometimes you get Hwa Tai biskut but most of the time, nothing.

This is what you call pariah company given the dealership.

One may argue it is for drivers to take their bosses cars in but come on, Jaguar owners like to be treated with some class I am sure and the bosses want to drive their car in for service.

Very very low class service. My advice to Jaguar UK, please withdraw your dealership and open yourself here.