2016 Honda Civic to be recalled for faulty engines

2016 Honda Civic Sedan

Honda is set to issue a recall for its 2016 Honda Civic in the US for an issue involving the car’s engine. The automaker has already issued a stop-sale order for some variants of the car since late January, and will issue an official recall statement once the US National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) endorses its recall plan.

According to Bloomgberg Business, news of the impending recall came after CivicX posted a dealer service bulletin dated January 30, 2016 on its forum site, which revealed the fault involving missing or mis-set piston rings, which can result in the engine stalling, failing and in the worst case, an under hood fire.

It also stated that approximately 34,000 2016 Civics are affected, and for the time being, no replacement parts are available. Honda US is expected to begin notifying its customers on the recall in mid-march 2016, according to the service bulletin.

2016 Honda Civic Sedan

Barring the lack of official information from Honda US at the moment, information from Transport Canada revealed that the issue only affects certain vehicles equipped with the 2.0 litre engines, with no mention of the 1.5 litre turbo mills being affected. The recall states that 10,698 Civics are affected.

The Civic sedan for the North American market is produced by two companies – Honda Manufacturing of Greensburg, Indiana, US and the other being Honda of Canada Mfg (HCM) in Alliston, Ontario.

Therefore, the recall should not affect 2016 Honda Civics sold in Thailand and Philippines, as the sedan is only offered with the 1.8 litre SOHC i-VTEC and 1.5 litre turbo powerplants in those markets.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• hailthepurist on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:01 am

wont effect the RV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Burong on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:13 am

Get a 318 is a wiser decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
      • So fast game-over already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:17 am

I give credit to Honda as a responsible car maker to recall whatever they should.

Proton should have recalled their legendary Campro engine 10 years ago. Because of this, the Proton owners either biologically dead or financially dead. Don’t play play with Proton quality.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:56 am

In Malaysia, Proton will never recall any faulty engines. In 30 years, hardly any recall. Why? Because their 1000 over engineers all tidur. They are so lazy, after they sell a car, they don’t continue to test it to find any faults to rectify.

All makan nasi lemak and tidur in Hicom Glenmarie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 70
      • jinggo on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:44 am

Hahahahahah! indah khabar dari rupa, ingatkan panas sampai ke petang, rupanya hujan di tengah hari.. Hahahahahaha!

• MazdaTheAwakening on Feb 23, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Imagine this was Proton? Bashers will hantam them till no tommorow. I think Proton has to do a lot more to improve their brand image.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • danyo31 on Feb 23, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Look at this guy..When Proton don’t recall you bash, when Proton does recall its car you bash too..Seems like u lost your sense of logic…FYI, recently Proton did do a recall for three of its models. Might wanna look into that

• VTEC didn’t kicked in yo?

• carlist on Feb 23, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Civic the legend? I laugh from morning till night.

Please don’t worshipping this Civic too much. This is nothing special but a typical Honda-problem car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • OMG…hope they can faster solved it so that it wont happened here. Then i can buy it peace of mind…hahahah

• Mohd Faiz on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:17 am

honda not reliable these days, skip!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
    • targa on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:23 am

Actually, i agree. My 2012 City repair and service bills are higher than my 2010 Corolla Altis and 2004 Vios.

These 2 cars are both serviced at authorised service centers. Only my 12 year old Vios is serviced outside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • karam singh on Feb 23, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Go check Toyota recall, some recalled cause can cause fire risk, Prius got recall cause by brake issues , seat belt , fuel leak & many more.
      This Honda, engine stalling. Toyota, safety-related issue that can cause lives.
      Go google it. ;)

• karam singh on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:35 am

honda is very good. better than toyota. this civic can be rabadged to be next proton preve in 2019.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Also, change the tagline to:

Proton – The Power of Daydream

• Oi oi on Feb 24, 2016 at 3:04 am

This la example Human division from Malaysia..
      When got salah.. NEVER WANNA MENGAKU… When enter team.. betol or salah.. always your team sajalah betul…
      When Malaysia name rise up.. wahhh Baru mengaku.. If other people brand down wah.. Malaysia also kena ka..

Now honda Servics got lemah jantung “oh.. nvmnd.. lets bring in PROTON to become escape goat of this matter. PROTON bodo.. engine tido… engineer tido..no time to check”… you ever think not enough Manpower ka… all need to devide for NEW RnD to feed pod holes that makes Kiak kiok kiak kiok sound everytime people produce something….

Okay u got son( since too late fr u now).. make sure he study hard… CONTRIBUTE on behalf of You to Make good fr the Nation rather than bashing basins tong tong tong …Make sure he is the engineer who makes ROCKET SCIENCE engine.. then later he monitor and test it again for a recall that daddy want to see… haaa.. so how? U like ur Honda Self and u make sound here and I bring in your Proton son to solve yr kiak kiok kiak problem u like?

For sure u call me names like Proton Supporter Hero bla bla… I x care i x mind… Its still in ny blood of having it as a Malaysian thing. URSELF what leh? U MALAYSIAN mengaku Japanese la… Honda desu ne? I dont faham la u ppl… as if you own a company. Dah.. Honda still ASIAN… go get european.. even better.. can bash even better points.. got free gift…

Sushi Fresh Berulat, Nasi Lemak Fresh Disepak…

• Sushi on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:49 am

Waa.. No yet sold here already got problem aaa. Sushi car so lousy, no wonder only middle-low class people can afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • Not a good start for a highly anticipated car of the year.

• In b4 lousy quality better kolos shop, oh wai… this is jepunis. Jangan persoal. Must worship. Especially to toyota gods

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • walauwehhh Honda on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:04 am

Walauwehhh how come pston ring boleh tinggal!!!

• BananaSkin on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:14 am

Honda don’t seem to carry out enough testing for prior rolled out their tech these days. Please invest into your QC, don’t cut corners, or make to suffer with poor sales or chase away your customers.

• just shortlisted this for my wife next car..
      now wait for what focus 1.5 turbo has in store..

• Nissan on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:22 am

WTF! This give P1 supporter and cronies a chance to bash!

• Kah kah kah…thats why old old folks said..dont talk too big, last last you will get ashamed back at last..condemn local car like japan cars are made by angels..japanese also human lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Ya ya. When jepunis make mistake, must forgip cuz they oso human. But when Malaysia makes mistake, must curse them 7 generations, right?

• MalaysiaMalaysian on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:35 am

Japan quality is always the top 1. Come USA & Canada ruin everything! sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • emanualle on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:59 am

Laaa ape kena dgn Proton nih! Engine faulty pulak! Toyota,honda,nissan takde masalah pun!!!! Haissshhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Pengutuk gila on Feb 23, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Civic ada masalah….protong juga kena tempias….

• Stupid designer born in japan, stupid Honda fans born in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Azhar on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Haha…Honda. The power of dreams. Engine man. Its internal thing. Should have no prob with engine

• I love the design, the rear looks like one of my favorite car in NFS, the front also nice.. if the price within rm 150k i’ll definitely will buy it..

• chin peng on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:40 am

and now,another shitty comment by samelorr..this car is angel..proton is not..ya yaa..i heard vios can drive ah??that tin milo can drift around putrajaya? wth?

• Ahmad al bab on Feb 25, 2016 at 7:16 am

Honda must learn from Puspakom on 20-point check to QC car