BMW M not keen on hardcore hatch or 4-cyl engines

bmw-m135i-facelift-a

While its competitors are bringing out an onslaught of hardcore hothatches, BMW isn’t keen on entering the fray, neither does it want a four-cylinder model under its BMW M range, CarAdvice reports.

Although it already has the BMW M135i hatch with a twin scroll-turbocharged 3.0 litre six-cylinder making 326 hp and 450 Nm, the competition has much more to offer, including all-wheel drive. As a comparison, the Mercedes-AMG A 45 has a total of 381 hp and 475 Nm, the Audi RS3 Sportback with 367 PS and 465 Nm, while the Ford Focus RS has 350 PS and up to 470 Nm of torque.

Despite that, members from the M division told the portal that the hatchback segment isn’t necessarily one of the segments that it’s looking to enter. Furthermore, an all-wheel drive hot-hatch is far from what the brand wants, according to BMW M head of product management, Carsten Pries.

bmw-m135i-facelift-d

“As long as we have a rear-wheel drive basis, it matches so perfectly with what we want to bring across as an experience, as a feeling” Pries said, adding “motorsport is still rear-wheel-driven.” A six-cylinder engine is still very much something that the M division wants to keep alive, according to Pries.

To add to that, Pries said that a four-cylinder BMW M model is not what is expected of the company, neither is there a desire to have one. “I hope not. Because we obviously like in-line six-cylinder engines at BMW – they’re part of our DNA. They create a lot of excitement, they generate all the power you need, and also this hallmark sound that we have,” Pries said.

BMW M2 chief engineer Frank Isenberg concurred, but didn’t deny that it could happen eventually. “At the moment I would say no,” he said. “In five, eight years? I can’t say. I don’t believe, and I don’t hope. But as you’ve seen in the last couple of years, we’ve expanded to other cars – so it would be wrong to say no,” Isenberg concluded.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 26, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Never say never. With tighter emission controls worldwide they might need to offer it in the future

• Fook emission crap here. Motorsport is always about power thus pollution! Drive your 316i and sh*t up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 27, 2016 at 11:17 am

Only a real idiot would encourage higher emissions. Don’t you care for your children to breathe cleaner air?

Or you just think about your own gain, gratification and joy?

• Beemer on Feb 27, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Uncivilized person are like that

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 28, 2016 at 2:23 am

Of course he’s an idiot. He doesn’t realise that some of his bullsht abt pakatan is actually embarrassing the bn govt that he loves.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Feb 26, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Sat on in-line 6 F30 first batch, all I can say is: Superb & creamy engine…… You can’t feel it in a 4-pot. Unfortunately & very sadly in Malaysia the price is RM490K 335i compare to RM309K 328i (almost RM200K) and haven’t plus Road Tax. And too M’sian can dream on or forget it BMW Malaysia will CKD F30 3.0L here!!!!

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 26, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Not to say downsizing to 4-cylinder engine (or 2.0 liter based on ideal engine displacement of 500cc per cylinder) is a bad thing (at least they can save quite a lot on road tax payment especially those countries that imposed road tax based on engine displacement including Malaysia), but the 4-cylinder engine might be highly stressed to achieve such high horsepower compared with 6-cylinder engine.

Perhaps, a 6-cylinder engine with cylinder deactivation technology still the good idea in order to reduce the emission output further into compliance level.

• BMW_Is_Wanker on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Talk crap lar this german folks. Still recall they says they will never do a fwd car. Tada….BMW soccer mom car 2 series is FWD and the next 1 series will follow suit.

The world is going for smaller more efficient engine. Now 3 series poor man wanker using 3 cyclinder engine like perodua….(kelakar lar).

• Jeng jeng jeng on Feb 26, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Haha it means they’re smart marketers that’s all

• Still remember when they said there will never be a forced induction M. Or when nobody thought they would ever make an SUV M.

Sorry Mr Chief Engineer, but the money people seems to always win in the end.

• BMW can talk all they want. Nobody is going to believe them after they made a big u-turn on front-wheel drive.

Case in point: the BMW 2-series Active Tourer is a car that is perfectly what a BMW shouldn’t be.

• Tanker on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:55 pm

Hallmark sound? More like the lack of it.

• contiandmalaysialover on Feb 27, 2016 at 11:11 pm

so this is what BMW proud to be rear wheel than quattro . awd/.. come onnn. all crash at nurbugring https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wClYhdiCSHs