SPYSHOTS: 2016 Toyota Fortuner seen in Malaysia

Barely a week in and the new Toyota Fortuner SUV has been spotted yet again. A set of frontal shots were taken and sent in to us by Mohd Syakirin Rusdi. This time, the Fortuner was seen in Tanjung Malim, travelling on the PLUS Highway.

Interestingly, the unit with a clearer view of its face seems to be sporting black surrounds for its fog lamps, as opposed to the chrome pieces the other car (and earlier models) is wearing. This could indicate that it’s a mid-spec or entry-level variant. The chrome bits, different wheels and LED DRLs also prove that the brown unit is a higher-spec variant.

It would make sense as it was previously spotted in Shah Alam, wearing the same wheels and having the same chrome bits as well. Apart from that, it was seen earlier wearing an “Intercooler VNT” badge at the rear, which points to Toyota’s variable nozzle turbodiesel technology.

In Thailand, the Fortuner was unveiled with two new GD series turbodiesel engines – a 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV with 177 hp/450 Nm and a 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV with 150 hp/400 Nm, which replace the previous 3.0 litre and 2.5 litre diesel units. An improved version of the 2.7 litre Dual-VVT-I petrol engine with 166 hp/245 Nm is also being offered there too.

Thailand also gets a new six-speed torque converter automatic transmission, which replaces the previous four-speed automatic. A six-speed manual transmission is available for the lower-specced variants there.

However, it still remains a mystery as to which of the new engines we will receive. The current Fortuner in Malaysia is offered with an ageing 2.7 litre petrol unit or a 2.5 litre turbodiesel unit.

The Fortuner will join the new Hilux pick-up truck and new Innova MPV. All the three models from the IMV range are expected to be launched by the second and third quarter of the year. Similarly, the Toyota Alphard and Vellfire will also be arrive in Malaysia by the third quarter, as revealed earlier.

GALLERY: Toyota Fortuner spyshots in Malaysia

GALLERY: Toyota Fortuner official photos

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Unfortunately, is still one expensive HILUX …

• I want your proton on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:34 pm

Sam Loo please give me your son proton and you can buy this junk

• Matsiuk on Feb 27, 2016 at 7:01 am

Pasti semua loan sudah bayar dan accident free juga. Same Lorrrr sekarang boleh upgrade kereta anak dia kepada persona baru.

• UMW Cheat = Same lorr shit on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:01 pm

The saga must be high rv lor..must be better than heavy coffin dinasour aged engine vios.The grand saga here is same lorr dead brained already bullshitting p1 but own one.What a joke! Stupid same lorr.

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Aiyaa, don’t say Same Lorrrr only, nowadays, most of the UMW Toyota salesperson flock in to Proton showroom and buy Saga for their children (surprisingly all of them order black colour) since their new car sales are so bad (want to buy new ‘dinasour’ Vios, even with staff discount also can’t afford to buy, so have to settle with Saga)

• Steven see on Feb 27, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Sam son car also black and tinted so dark.Why sam you scare to be seen in the car?

• Songlap songlap gila on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Make your own car la idiot! Then i believe u also will songlap our money ma! Got complains?Suggestions? Who care! No money no talk.Just drive your myvi n smoke inside.Vape don’t count.Talk talk talk shit only.Dont want pay tax don’t pay tax bodo! Don’t eat,don’t even shit! This is bolehland multiracial greed & racist races.Little work but want big salary! Ever heard of migrate? Go africa a giraffe is free to ride! Bolehland belong to samseng taikun pirates.Only the liars can survive.Kuli just own little pence here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • UMW is crony of Dear Leader & Party Hard

• john malas on Feb 28, 2016 at 10:24 am

Pls ask your tuan to return the RM2.6 billin and ask his 2 million followers to penalize him and not condone his stealing. Shows that they are into this culture of stealing too if they have not sacked their tuan by now.

• karam singh on Feb 27, 2016 at 10:51 am

I say Toyota will bring the 6 speed transmission to Malaysia. this is the reason they are changing tag line from Moving Forward to Its About The Drive.

I adore Toyota cars now. Kudos to UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Mau gaji tinggi tapi makan gaji on Feb 27, 2016 at 11:46 am

Woi bodoh nye kau ni.P1 gov owned,P2 pun gov owned lah.Collaboration with daihatsu! Daihatsu belong to toyota! In bolehland toyota belong to umw which is under gov/cronies share holders.How bout all other brands? Honda?Mitsu?TanChong?Merc?Bmw? Semua tu under gov cronies lah.By what u said gov owned company mesti 2airbags ke? Itu under local company’s management punya decision.Mau untong lebih kurang la specs! They can make customers believe rv can save life,minimise injuries itu customers decision(bodoh nye customer). Mau sales lebih offer more & better lah.Peace of mind.Discount kaw kaw.Mcm hyundai,volks semua 5star rating.Jgn tipu la not reliable as toyota shit,vios pun dashboard rattled,altis masuk sungai pun tenggelam lah.After sales pun 3-4 jam belum tentu siap.Itu pun car wash cincai.Nowadays people’s need & concern of their own life as more cars on roads mean more stupid & idiot peoples drive car like the road bapak dia punya.Whats wrong drive a 6 airbags Iriz with lower price tag than foreign make? Camry langgar pokok pun burnt on fire lah.Important here drive as advised speed limits,passenger cars for human not for furniture.Shock absorber rosak boleh pulak compare elantra dengan hilux! Idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Oppress the unfortunate. on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Why don’t u buy an Iriz? Preve? 6 airbags n full specs.Not reliable? How do u know? U not even an NCAP entity.

• WT Fuchhh on Feb 27, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Looks ugly due to small window, front n back.

• Minum minyak manyak on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Ugly taillight & definitely drink more fuel.. New Mitsubishi Outlander much nicer,no doubt more generous in specs offered.Babai umw,but don’t worry force sales by gomen will buy fleet sales this unfortunate badak

• shawal on Feb 26, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Dump the old petrol engine and just sell the 2.4 litre turbodiesel in 3 trims

• potong sucks..toyota better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • TRD16 on Feb 27, 2016 at 9:01 am

Waiting lists 6 months for 2.4 diesel in Thailand. So we have to go for 2.8 diesel, shorter list.
    My friend got his 2.8 4×2 and he said it consume less compare with his 2.5 previous model.

• Your friend la,your neighbor la,your untie la,your grandma la.Just drive your axia & keep mouth shut! U think people don’t know? present one must be better than previous la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Typical toyota owners response…always look down on others & karma will always ensure this guy/ Hmm will fall to umw toyota trap forever bec toyota malaysia owners is not so bright

• Sam Loo on Feb 27, 2016 at 9:12 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Same lorr liar! on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Liar! What’s the point high rv but little discount? Little specs? Lower rv but can get more/better discount on new Hyundai car! What’s the different? Service for Toyota average 4-5hours also.No free service,expensive parts & labour charge!

• Hahahaaaahaha butthurt toyota owner… fyi you already paid for the rv

• goldfish on Feb 27, 2016 at 9:47 am

OMG..Can it get any uglier. Toyota head designer should be killed for the camry fugly design and now this..such an eye sore

• Painter on Feb 27, 2016 at 10:33 am

My year 2010 model still looks the part.

• UMW Cheat = Same lorr shit on Feb 27, 2016 at 11:55 am

OMG! OMG! The gap between tyre n body so big even a pregnant Rottweiler dog can lay n give birth to a dozen puppies.Very small tyre! Jimat cost ke umw? Look at new Mitsu outlander very neatly perfect tyre size n body! OMG! Until now umw still want to cheat people!

• cc poh on Feb 27, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Where 2.8 ?