A total of 33 roads in the state of Melaka will be closed tomorrow (Wednesday, March 2) to make way for the eighth stage of the 2016 Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL). According to Bernama, Melaka Tengah police chief, ACP Shaikh Abdul Adzis Shaikh Abdullah confirmed that the closures will begin from the Umbai Jasin border to Jalan Merdeka in Dataran Pahlawan between 1pm and 5pm tomorrow.

The closure will be divided into three segments to avoid completely disrupting traffic flow in the affected areas. “On that day, the roads around Zone A will be closed for 45 minutes from 1pm followed by Zone B for 30 minutes from 1.45pm and Zone C for three hours from 2pm,” explained the police chief.

Zone A, closed for 45 minutes from 1 pm, will see road closures along a route from the Umbai border to Lebuh AMJ. Zone B, closed for 20 minutes from 1.45 pm, will see closures from the Lebuh AMJ traffic lights all the way to Jalan Semabok.

A total of 19 roads have been listed for closures along Zone C, which will be closed off to the public for three hours beginning at 2pm. These include the Menara Taming Sari junction, Jalan Merdeka, Dataran Pahlawan, Hatten traffic lights, Jalan Parameswara, Equatorial Hotel, Jalan Parameswara, Banda Hilir police station, Syed Abd Aziz bridge and Kota Laksamana traffic lights.

The police chief also explained that Jalan Merdeka in Dataran Pahlawan will be closed until the end of the competition to accommodate the event’s prize-giving ceremony.