W213 Merc E-Class prices revealed in Thailand – E220d Exclusive, AMG Dynamic Line from RM467k

Mercedes-Benz E-Klasse Limousine (W 213) 2016Mercedes-Benz E-Class Saloon (W 213) 2016

Mercedes-Benz Thailand has just revealed its pricing for the new W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class range ahead of the model’s local debut at the 2016 Bangkok International Motor Show.

For now, just two variants of the latest-gen E-Class have been named, being the E 220d Exclusive Line and the E 220d AMG Dynamic Line (a Thai-specific designation, which we assume is a localised term for what we commonly refer to as the AMG Line).

The E 220d Exclusive Line is priced at 3,999,000 baht (RM467k) while the E 220d AMG Dynamic Line is listed at 4,790,000 baht (RM560k). For our Thai readers, you should note that these prices are for the initial units of the imported (CBU) W213 E-Class only — once local assembly begins, these prices are expected to be reduced.

Mercedes-Benz E-Class Exclusive Line.

Comparatively, the previous range of E-Class sedan variants in Thailand were priced from 3,390,000 baht (RM396k) for the E 200 Edition E to 3,790,000 baht (RM442k) for the E 300h BlueTEC Hybrid.

Back to the model at hand, the Mercedes-Benz E 220d is powered by the brand’s new OM654 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel engine which delivers 194 hp and 400 Nm of torque – replacing the previous 2.1 litre OM651. This enables the new E 220d to go from zero to 100 km/h in 7.3 seconds now, besting the variant’s previous time of 8.2 seconds. The brand’s new 9G-Tronic nine-speed torque converter auto transmission is equipped here.

The Exclusive Line features a slightly more elegant look and feel to the E-Class, adding a traditional bonnet-mounted star, a a triple-lourve front grille, and several chrome appointments on the front and rear bumpers.

Mercedes-Benz E-Class AMG Line.

The AMG Line variants get a more aggressive look with a front bumper with larger air intakes and two horizontal fins, a two-bar radiator grille with a central Three-Pointed Star, and a sportier rear bumper with chrome accents as well.

No further details were revealed for the Thai market yet, so we’ll have to wait until the coming Bangkok Motor Show to have a closer look at the vehicles ourselves. For us in Malaysia, the W213 E-Class is expected to launch here some time in the third-quarter of the year. For more details on the car, check out our full global debut report.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Very nice car…for Ah Pek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Hunda on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Its better to ahpek in a mercedes than to be ‘macho guy’ in a bus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Daylight robberies do occur also in Thailand.
    I am not talking about Mercedes this particular brand, in case you are narrow-minded.

• I’m pretty sure the average person can’t tell the diff between the C,E & S class now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Hello on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Anyone thinks this feels like a mini S class?

• Thailand and Indonesia get everything early then us..
    That’s worrying…

• Their population (ie market) bigger than us. If u worry, make more babies lah.

• Saitam on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:29 pm

If those babies grow up like you, it will probably only benefit Proton sales, since people of your credentials can’t afford merc anyway.

• Wah! Ur cristel olabola so accurate can say ur kids grow up become like me and cannot afford Merc. Eh can u oso predict damacai, 4D, toto, magnum & unker lim too for me? If win sure gip u 30%.

• Well, Singapore used to be the fastest to receive everything now they are even slower than us. Anyway, I wouldnt mind the lateness as long as we are getting cheaper then Thai counter part. Which I am very sure it will. Whats d point getting so early but not everyone can afford.

• Saitam on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Who say Merc is for everyone??
        People that want Merc want it faster then others.
        Anyway, I don’t expect you to understand.

• Lol… U are saying I cant afford a Merc dont you? I dont wanna beat around the bush. There is a Macan, 528i and SLK parking at my garage.
          Its ok, i dont expect you to understand.

• MercBoy on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Mercedes-Benz E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid diesel malaysia price is RM348,888.

3,790,000 baht (RM442k) for the E 300h BlueTEC Hybrid.

cheaper to buy in malaysia compared to thai ????

• Luxury car in Malaysia is always cheaper than Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia and of course Singapore. Even our mass market car is getting lower as compared.

Thank You

• why they all look the same??boringgg…

• Kenneth Fook on Mar 14, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Boring as hell. My art director can design better.

• why the sudden influx of thai related news?

• choha on Mar 14, 2016 at 8:49 pm

are their designers running out of ideas?
    now C, E, S class all look the same

• I share your sentiment.
      Merc, BMW, all have this same design and sell it in Small, Medium, Large format.