Renault Alpine models to use Mercedes-AMG engines?

Renault Alpine Vision 3

Renault is reportedly open to sourcing engines from Mercedes-AMG for its revived Alpine range of cars. Speaking to AutoExpress, the French automaker’s executive vice president for product and planing, Bruno Ancelin, hinted at the possibility.

“We have two solutions. Either we take one (engine) that is available in the Alliance (Renault-Nissan Alliance) and we fine tune it for more power. Or we can buy on the market. I heard in the presentation of the new DB11 from Aston Martin that they are buying their V8s from AMG. That is possible, too. We have some cooperation with Daimler. We can buy engines on the market – there is no problem to share that,” he said.

The cooperation between Daimler AG and the Renault-Nissan Alliance has just entered its seventh year running. Daimler, the parent company of Mercedes-Benz, has since supplied Nissan with several powertrains and platforms already – particularly for Nissan’s premium brand, Infiniti. Likewise, Nissan has since supplied Mercedes-Benz with its Navara NP300’s platform, on which a Benz pick-up model will be developed.

Renault Alpine Vision 4

The publication suggests that Renault may specifically be interested in Benz’s M276 3.0 litre biturbo V6 engine. Commonly developing 367 hp and 520 Nm of torque in Mercedes-AMG’s “43” range of cars, it is said that the mill would suit the “bigger cars in the Alpine range.”

If so, this would exclude the two-door Alpine Vision Concept-based production model from getting the engine — after all, Mercedes-AMG may not want to hand over the heart of its new AMG SLC 43 to its competitors.

More Renault Alpine models are said to come after the two-seater sports car debuts later this year. “We could have a coupe, cabriolet, we could have a hatchback. We could have everything that is usable in a sporty brand,” Ancelin confirmed.

GALLERY: Renault Alpine Vision Concept

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Megane on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Wow complete set Renault . Eyes , Nostrils and a mouth . Great

• Just use the Nissan GTR engine, Renault. More reliable and easier to tune.

• Renault rebadging AMG engines. So shud Renault oso kolos shop?