2016 Ford Mustang spotted in Malaysia – 2.3 litre EcoBoost and 5.0 litre GT V8 variants, in four colours

Ford Mustang Malaysia 6

Stop whatever you’re doing! The new Ford Mustang has been sighted in Malaysia, and it appears we will be getting both flavours of the sixth-gen pony car – the 2.3 litre EcoBoost (310 hp and 433 Nm) and the full-on 5.0 litre naturally-aspirated V8 (435 hp and 541 Nm). The images were posted earlier today on the Malaysia Exotic Car Spotters FB group page.

So, how do you tell the difference between the two S550 models? Well, the top-of-the-line Mustang (seen here wearing a Triple Yellow tri-coat finish) with the V8 will have ‘5.0’ and ‘GT’ badging on the sides and rear of the car. Additionally, the presence of 19-inch ten double-spoke Ebony Black alloy wheels on the unit is a tell-tale sign that the GT Performance Package has been fitted on here.

The GT Performance package tags on a 3.73:1 Torsen helical gear differential, Brembo six-pot front calipers and 380×34 mm vented front discs, a Gauge Pack (oil pressure and boost readouts on the centre console), a front splitter, new front springs and unique chassis tuning, among other things.

As for the blown Mustang (Race Red, Oxford White, Magnetic Grey), there is no ‘5.0’ badging on the side, and the ‘GT’ on the rear hatch is replaced with the Mustang logo instead. Some giveaways that the units are equipped with the EcoBoost Performance Package – the front splitter is a cue, but again, the 19-inch five twin-spoke Ebony Black alloys signify the presence of the add-on kit.

Ford Mustang Malaysia 5

The package replaces the standard 3.15 ratio limited-slip differential of the EcoBoost auto to a 3.55 ratio unit, adds in the Gauge Pack and uprates the brakes to 352 x 32 mm vented front discs (with four-piston 46 mm fixed aluminium calipers) and 330 x 25 mm vented rear discs (with single-piston 45 mm floating iron calipers), the same configuration as seen on the test mule during our international media drive in Los Angeles.

It’s very likely that both the 5.0L GT and 2.3L EcoBoost follow Australian specification models, and thus are Premium specification variants, which adds on a four-gang toggle-switch pack that controls four selectable drive modes (Normal, Sport+, Track and Snow/Wet), but without any interior shots, it’s difficult to verify this.

The Malaysian cars are also likely to be automatics, equipped with the ZF-based 6R80 six-speed SelectShift, with paddle shifters. When first previewed at Publika a year ago, there was no mention of plans to bring in the six-speed Ford/Getrag MT-82-equipped manual variant – we’ll find out soon enough.

The Mustang was originally slated to make its official debut here this year, though there were plans to accelerate that to the end of last year, which of course didn’t happen. Tentative pricing back in June 2015 was RM435k-RM450k for the 2.3 litre EcoBoost and RM550k-RM565k for the 5.0 litre V8. It was said that both the Fastback coupe and Convertible body styles will be offered, but for now, it seems to be only the former.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sewel on Mar 25, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Wow…finally da american horse has arrived..anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 25, 2016 at 4:41 pm

So affordable in the US and Australia. Infact, it is known as the poor man’s sports car compared to Porsche and Ferrari.

But come here, it becomes Rm450k and goes up to RM565k. Something must be wrong in Malaysia.

What happened to Najib’s promise to reduce car prices? Looks like according to Najib, cars like RM450k is supposed to be cheap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 2
      • If u compare 450k Mustang with 1million above Felali, then I wud say Najib did his job very well at 50% lower, when he promised only 30%. Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 62
      • Of course! When you have 2.6bil, RM450k is nothing!

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 25, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Can someone please explain to me also how a car with the exact cost of US$24k can cost RM450,000?

Now USD to RM is about 4.0. So, convert also RM100k. Tax and excise duty maximum also 130%.

Buta buta make clean profit of RM200k per car. Pandai lah Sime Darby!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 9
      • Calvin on Mar 25, 2016 at 5:43 pm

not really. Although that fking jib gor promise to reduce car price but fail to exercise his promise, lets do the maths.

Ford 2.3 EcoBoots
        Price in UK : £29,590
        Forex : £1=RM5.7 (lets make it RM6)
        Price in RM : 29,590*6= 177,540
        Tax (assume max) : +130%
        Price after tax : 177,540 + 130% = RM408,342

they are making at least RM50k per car if every cost are MAX to them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
        • Even if u can afford the car, u cant afford the fuel or the roadtax for V8. The Ecoboost is just a pussy, ignore it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
          • lolpanda on Mar 27, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Ford didn’t build the car with the tax-laden Bolehland in mind..the V8 Coyote preserves the essence of the muscle car; while the 2.3 Ecoboost (which is no slouch) are signs of changing times with stricter emissions regulations and talks of efficiency and whatever Greenpeace can come up with.

• Thomas on Mar 26, 2016 at 1:50 am

The price in uk ady included profit for uk distributor and the margin sure around 20-30%

• cha US car use US price la. US$24k+/- is roughly RM100k. Price with 130% tax is RM230k. Give or take RM20k for the optional bits (shaker audio, nav etc). That’s almost a 100% markup by SDAC. What is this?

Even if you do compare based on UK prices, the EcoBoost is the same price as an entry level BMW 420i with no extras. Whereas here its more expensive than a full spec 428i.

• Sounds legit!

• BeemerFreak on Mar 27, 2016 at 12:36 am

Err wrong 24k US is a bog standard 3.7L v6 with next to no spec on it. Spec it to the car we are seeing about it goes nearly 37k that’s over RM130k before the infamous blehland tax. The cheapest you can get it even if it is built in Thailand with the AFTA duties is still way over RM200k….this made in USA model should be getting almost 150% in taxes and duties so Stop your nonsense and start voting for the opposition, perhaps we get a chance of cheaper cars.

• john is otak batu on Mar 27, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Any challenge from Evo fans for fourth coming street race??!!! Pls voice your challenge!

• when they cover the bonnet, the red one look like taxi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • Chenga on Mar 25, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Totally agree on that….but the passenger will cry though…2 reasons, 1,how scary the performance…2, the premium price that you gotta payback….lol jkjkjkjk

• thinking about amount to pay for roadtax on 5.0 litre engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • good luck selling them with your ludicrous prices SDAC & horrible after sales

• gaviny on Mar 25, 2016 at 5:20 pm

the v8 5.0 failed the australian new police car validation test after 3 minutes because the gearbox overheated and went into limp mode.

google it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • paparadzi (Member) on Mar 25, 2016 at 5:47 pm

USA price for a Ford Mustang Ecoboost is about 30K USD. At 1 USD = RM 4.5, that is RM 135K.

With 100% tax, that will be RM 270k.

Ford will be selling the Mustang Ecoboost in Malaysia for RM 435k. Sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Sudharshn on Mar 25, 2016 at 6:32 pm

This is at westports giga

• gundam mama on Mar 25, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Really good luck to the new owners of this Mustang.

• Huge Tax on This Taxi Colour on Mar 25, 2016 at 6:59 pm

This horse at 300% excise duty.Seriously,why taxi colours? Metallic paint so expensive isit?

• Kaler macam teksi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • SDAC ruining Ford on Mar 25, 2016 at 8:38 pm

I own a ford ranger t6. I loveee my car. But i HATEEEE sending it in for service. nothing less then 4hours for a bog standard service and i m currently into month 2 of my waiting for a bumper replacement. AND RM11130 yearly roadtax for the 5.0l Pony will make any aspiring owner think a million times lol

• Ootai on Mar 26, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Buy under company’s name. Use the company as lessor. Let the money works for u. All expenses charge to lessor company.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 26, 2016 at 6:11 am

This moment harks back to the 1950s and 60s in Malaysia. Back then, we used to officially import huge American and Australian muscle cars. There was the Canadian-built Ford Galaxie, both hardtop and convertible, and the Australian-built Ford Falcon, the Holden Commodore etc.. They never sold well, but they were special.

Back in the day, we had an assembly plant called Associated Motor Industries Malaysia (AMIM), it was one of the most prestigious assembly plants we had. AMIM assembled a whole host of so-called ‘Continental’ cars. To be more specific, AMIM assembled mostly British Leyland and Ford Group cars, and we must remember, this was a time when Ford was no.1 in Malaysia.

The Ford Cortina was top dog here in the latter 1960s (and also Singapore if I’m not mistaken). But the Cortina was from British Ford, it was nothing like the huge American and Australian Fords. The Cortina was something like the Datsun 120Y or Corolla, it was more in line with our tastes and demands. Even today, it still looks absolutely rad… those rear lights are especially striking. Later, the cheaper Japanese cars would eat up much of Ford Malaysia’s market share. By 1970, Ford Malaysia was overtaken by Datsun.

Singapore also had a Ford assembly plant at Bukit Timah, built in 1941. Briefly, when Singapore was part of Malaysia, this plant became Malaysia’s oldest. The Singaporean plant would close down much earlier, sometime in the 80s if I’m not mistaken. AMIM, the Malaysian Ford plant in Shah Alam, would close down in 2007, and was sold off to Tan Chong Motor Holdings.

Just thought I’d share some history behind Ford in Malaysia. This would be the first time, in a long time, that we will be officially importing actual American Fords. No doubt, the new Mustang is definitely far more sophisticated than the American Fords of the 60s, but does it have the same charm and character ? We’ll see.

• lolpanda on Mar 27, 2016 at 4:44 pm

I’m gonna give you a plus one solely for mentioning the Cortina!

• The white bonnet is a white plastic protector sheet lah

• melvin on Mar 26, 2016 at 10:28 am

looking for 4th-hand mustang

• In the UK, A45 AMG cost £40k and the Mustang 5.0V8 cost £33k. Here A45 cost RM350K and the Mustang 5.0V8 cost RM565k. Do the maths and tell me which one you will buy!

• Tamau itu macam on Mar 26, 2016 at 7:20 pm

it is not the fault of this mustang that the sales will be poor ….blame the business man and the govt for pricing this car like day-light robbery.

When the buying stops, the cronies business will collapse…

So, refrain from buying such cars….

• Where can I view these mustang in Malaysia ? Anyone knows ?

• kumar on May 11, 2016 at 1:08 pm

done.. drove it from las vegas to grand canyon by myself.. awesome grip, power & comfort.. but just fit for 2…

• ThatDAMNGuy on Jun 12, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Beware crowds in Malaysia. The crowd-killer is coming!