New police task force set up to improve road safety

2015-pdrm-police-car-2

Malaysian Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak, has introduced a new Investigation and Traffic Enforcement Department (JSPT). According to The Sun Daily, the new division aims to reduce the ever-increasing number of road deaths each year by better enforcing the law and promoting road safety.

In 2015 alone, the PM said that there were a total of 489,606 road accidents across the nation, from which 6,193 deaths were accumulated. Najib revealed the figures at the recent 209th Malaysia Police Day parade.

“If you add up the fatality figures in 2015 it will be able to fill up Stadium Negara. This is too high,” he said. “We hope this (JSPT) will help the police to carry out enforcement on highways more effectively.”

Karak-highway-01

According to The Star, Bukit Aman Internal Security and Public Order director, Comm Datuk Muhammad Fuad Abu Zarim, elaborated further on the new division’s tasks. “It is time that we take traffic offences and its consequences seriously and hopefully, this step will allow the police to focus on this area more,” he said.

“We see it every day on our way to work with people beating red lights and driving on emergency lanes. The problem is getting worse with fatalities increasing every year,” he added. As previously reported, the commissioner also confirmed that increasing the maximum traffic fine is being considered.

“I think a stiffer penalty will deter road users from taking chances with their lives,” he said. The commissioner added that drivers without licenses would also face stiff punishment under the coming Kejara demerit points system (AWAS).

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Hantu punya lorry on Mar 28, 2016 at 11:32 am

Do something about heavy vehicles hogging the middle and fast lanes. They disrupt smooth flow of traffic causing jams. Put the drivers AND the lorry or bus owners in jail if they cause accidents because of dangerous driving of the drivers or poor maintenance of the vehicles; brakes not working, retread tyres bursting, etc.
    These task forces and road safety campaigns always overlook the accidents and fatalities caused by the heavy vehicles and only go after the usually law abiding car drivers who sometimes just exceed the speed limit by 15kmh only because of trying to overtake the express bus that is hogging the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Everyday in KL. The police creates deadlock in many junctions. Much worse than using the traffic lights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Speaker on Mar 28, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Keselamatan jalanraya memang amat penting, kami patut sokong & beri peruntukan tambahan $500juta untuk inisiatif rakyat ini.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 28, 2016 at 12:11 pm

In Malaysia now, there are officially 2 million drivers and riders with no licence. this figure is shocking because for 10 million road users, 20% of them have no licence.

Biggest question we must ask is, how has this figure balooned up to 2 million. The answer is very simple. For 20 years now, polis officers apprehending cars will settle the matter the duit kopi way. So, year after year, the figure has ballooned up to 2 million now.

This is why there are so many lorry hantu in Malaysia. the JPJ and Polis everytime stop them, take duit kopi and let them off. In a year, thousands of people are run down by lorry hantu.

NFA and No prosecution. Even when the driver run away, polis will never prosecute the company who owns the lorry. You and me know why. Company is some big GLC for sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • George Abdul on Mar 28, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Rakyat always just wait for improvement from Police Malaysia… in the end everything start good but turn back to point 1! Next year 2017 same thing implant new task force over this 2016 task force and goes on… What its really does improve???

• Old horse on Mar 28, 2016 at 7:17 pm

We should have recycle names, tash force 2016, 2017 then not effective become 2018-1H, 2018-2H …

• Waste of Rakyat's Money on Mar 28, 2016 at 11:35 am

There’s no need to waste more taxpayers’ money to establish a new task force. Just make video footage captured by any mobile devices of any dangerous and reckless driving admissible as evidence for JPJ to suspend the driver’s license.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 28, 2016 at 4:48 pm

In Finland, they have a system in which traffic offenders caught on dashcams or phone cameras can be used as evidence to charge the offenders in court. Upon a successful sentencing, the person that reported the offender will get a monetary reward. Every single day, people will be actively trying to make money and unsurprisingly, the rate of traffic offenses is very low over there. We should implement the same system in Malaysia.

• U dun know that MY pipu very “creative” in making money. They might just “make” u get into accident with them. China alredi pioneered this money making scheme.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 28, 2016 at 11:45 am

Has the Government considered of setting up a task force to ensure all car brands give us VSC and minimum6 airbags in every car sold in Malaysia?

In 2015 alone, there were 489,606 road accidents across the nation and 6,193. This is a huge figure considering our nation has about 10 million vehicles.

I am sure if all our cars have at least 6 airbags, deaths will reduce from 6193 to maybe about 1000

I am sure also if all our cars had VSC, accidents will drop also from 489k to maybe about 200k accidents.

Government has no incentive to make the car brands give us VSC and 6 airbags because the Government themselves own the car companies and the government will then earn less money from their “car business”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 28, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Lori tanah vs any car with 6-12 airbags = Lori tanah always wins. Any car with any number of airbags being driven at excessive speed vs center divider, pole, side divider etc = Car always loses.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 28, 2016 at 11:56 am

Typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. After the money burnt, nothing is improved.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 28, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Every few yrs , thy convince the G for road safety and bla bla, create a big budget to buy new cars n equipment, and the end result is, MORE DEATHS ON THE ROAD!
    Lets get the balance sheet out, who is benefiting??

• RBAs & Dear Leader says if follow road rules, means we kowtow to polis means we r BN lapdog. So MY pipu break laws, dun gip a damn about those who adhere to the laws, and blame Gov when kena caught.
    Yes, its never their faults, its alwiz Gov.

• Mr too ambitious on Mar 28, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Ughh.. And how much money is wasted here… Isnt the fatality number rising because the number of registered driver is rising proportionally?… Why not spend the same amount of money on bringing google driverless technology here, allow them to do some test here, and make it cheap for pipul?.. If executed succesfully long term, roads are safer, less accident, no need driving license, jpj can relax eat gaji buta, no need taxi and uber, less parking space needed. Etc2…

• Put more police traffic on road. Now days many drivers dont care road law bcos most of the time when they break the law nothing happen to them eg run through red light!

• Consumer on Mar 28, 2016 at 2:47 pm

If no one to review the effectiveness and efficiency of each created task force, it not going to change anything. On highway itself, sometime it happen that those big trucks and buses that overtake vehicles, they simply need more times to up to speed for overtake, and there come a lot of highspeed cars have to do a sudden brake and usually causing the wave effect, if lucky only a wave jam happen, otherwise the high speed crash definitely happens here. Frequent travelers understand this. We as well understand the important of their services of those lorries and buses, but the drivers just have to well trained. Personally i support if they focus on making a heavy vehicle lane.

• UMW TOYOTA on Mar 28, 2016 at 3:15 pm

stop money under table first before talk anything

• saladin on Mar 28, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Breaking the laws and accident are two different things. Accident happens is not becos people always breaking laws. Example accidently slept while driving is not breaking the laws. Using emergency lane does not gurantee accident. Brake suddenly not working dont break the law. I personally have 3 accident. None of them breaking the laws either me or the other driver. One of the worse one is when i emergency brake when a motorcycle fell off. Lucky i didnt hit him but a massive 5 car pile up.

• Driver on Mar 28, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Good on you for avoiding the motorcycle and saving his life. May you be rewarded in your afterlife.
      However, I will beg to differ that accidentally sleeping while driving is not breaking the law. It’s a driver’s responsibility to ensure enough rest before doing any driving. Just like avoid driving if under the influence of alcohol, drugs, etc. All these little, trivial details is the big difference between getting to your destination safely or ending up as an accident statistic

• alldisc on Mar 28, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Malaysia sell 600,000 new cars every year. 500,000 new motorcycles. Every year there will be 300,000 new road users between 16-20.

The increment is hard to avoid.

• funky dori on Mar 28, 2016 at 7:01 pm

I guess there will be more police rider escorts too….

I havent see much police vehicles to chase down criminals…….but more police vehicles serve as escort to some so-called VIPP….

There goes my tax contribution…..

• Old horse on Mar 28, 2016 at 7:12 pm

We got hit and run so many that traffic polis in PJ don’t want to take unless either going to their appointed repair shops or your turn totally smashed…it’s a joke for this “another name” enforcer , waste money in buying new protong cars obviously

• Stop tailgating my car on Mar 28, 2016 at 8:47 pm

I hope they’ll summon people who use HID bulb in a standard housing, it’s irritating