SPYSHOTS: Mysterious FCA SUV appears – what is it?

2015-fca-mystery-suv- 006

It’s not very often that we come across a pre-production test mule under so much camouflage that we just can’t tell you what it is. Fresh from our European spy photographers, this mysterious SUV is said to belong to Fiat Chrysler Automobiles (FCA), but there’s no obvious indication of which brand in particular.

Some reports claim that this could be Fiat’s upcoming SUV, while others suggest that it looks too unlike that, and more like a replacement model for the current Jeep Compass and Patriot. It’s no secret that both FCA-owned companies are working on SUVs at the moment, but that still doesn’t answer our question. Here’s a look at what we can gather anyway.

Given Jeep’s new design language, which is quite easily identifiable even under camouflage, it’s clear that this model isn’t likely one that belongs to the American brand. A quick comparison between this mule and a Fiat Toro pick-up truck does reveal more similarities.

For one, there’s a central bonnet-mounted emblem just like the Toro has. The headlamps, DRLs and fog lamps are also similarly found where there are on the Toro. That said, there are notable differences between the two as well. This test mule appears to have door-mounted wing mirrors instead of pillar-mounted ones, and the shape of the doors, belt line and wheel arches appear quite different too.

The photographer only adds that the vehicle is roughly the same size as a Volkswagen Tiguan, Nissan Qashqai and Ford Kuga C-segment SUVs. Could this really be the anticipated Fiat C-segment SUV? Your guess is as good as ours at this point. Think you can help us identify the make and model of this pre-production mule? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 19, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Issit important to discuss abt this vehicle hor…will come out in exam issit…which paper haa…haiyaaa…u make it sound so serious want discuss some more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Amriji on Apr 19, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Must everything be of interest only to you…har? You think that life is only exam oriented…hor? U make it sound that your life is so “paisen” and very nerdy sad…har?

• Anonymous on Jun 06, 2017 at 10:18 am

Chinese Car