More bicycles lanes needed in Kuala Lumpur – MP

Kuala Lumpur Bicycle Path

A local politician is looking to introduce more bicycle lanes in and around Kuala Lumpur, especially to public transport stations. In a report by The Sun Daily, Setiawangsa Member of Parliament, Datuk Ahmad Fauzi Zahari said such a move will encourage the use of bicycles as an alternative mode of transport.

This will also help reduce traffic congestion and air pollution in the federal capital. “If more bicycle lanes are built, it will make it easier for city folks to cycle to the bus and LRT stations to work. It also creates a healthy lifestyle as cycling can invigorate one’s body and mind,” said Ahmad Fauzi.

Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) in August last year, announced that it will spend RM5 million to expand cycling paths in the federal capital. The expansion includes two more bike paths – a four-kilometre route from Wangsa Maju to Taman Melati and another two-kilometre stretch from Wangsa Maju to Taman Batu Muda.

It was also reported that a masterplan was also in place to expand the network of cycling paths in Cheras and Wangsa Maju. The move to promote the cycling culture among Malaysians also includes the ‘Kuala Lumpur Car-free Morning’ campaign, which was initiated by DBKL earlier this year. During the first and third Sunday of every month, from 7.30 to 9.30 am, several stretches of roads are opened to cyclists.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sgt Scoop on May 30, 2016 at 12:04 pm

When MPs start cycling and taking the bus to work then so will I.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Kunta Kinte on May 30, 2016 at 1:11 pm

In overseas, even Minister will take tube to go to work. Full Minister. But in Malaysia, now everybody using outrider escort.

Malaysian Ministers must start taking the LRT or cycle to work. I think it is too much for Ministers to have big fancy cars, drivers and outriders to go anywhere

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • KL Has Fallen (2017) on May 31, 2016 at 12:51 am

would only practical if it’s a covered aircond bicycle lane…else so damn hot ..

• 4G63T DSM on May 30, 2016 at 12:05 pm

I have been on this lane and I can tell you, while the intentions may have been good, the execution is horrible.

Plenty of built-in hazards to keep a cyclist alert.

Yes, I do look forward to more green lanes, but could they at least consult with users that would actually use them?

• Kunta Kinte on May 30, 2016 at 1:39 pm

what do you expect? The contract is given to some crony. Like PJ New Town one way system, it has taken 3 years plus and 18 stop orders.

When you give the contract to some RM2 company, this what happens. They got no clue to make a bicycle lane safe. Then make the lane for RM10 mil but charge DBKL Rm100 mil

• donno on May 30, 2016 at 12:27 pm

If I am living in Europe, I would gladly commute to the nearest LRT/underground station by bicycle. But in KL’s high humidity? I would be drenched in sweat just a few blocks away from home. Introduce some sort of licencing for 50cc/small electric motorcycles and that could be workable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • eucrider on May 30, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Just use the electric unicycle will do. Mobile enough to carry into lrt and to the office. Google the InMotion V3. Very convenient.

• SureRock on May 30, 2016 at 2:57 pm

another way if there is a public toilet for me to shower….or paid membership at gym just for showering….I dont mind cycling. Its faster for me actually….Ampang to my office in selangor dredging by bicycle is only 25-30 minutes at 8am….by car is 5-10 minutes more…

• kzm (Member) on May 30, 2016 at 8:51 pm

7-8am is still not that hot, same after 5pm.

• orang biasa on May 30, 2016 at 12:29 pm

With build bicycle lane is good for all citizen. But got some concern that maintenance, safety and rules. If found motorcycle rider use the lane, what the action taken? Like Pg, not action taken, some more can do business on the lane.

• Why follow Penang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • MP 3.85 on May 30, 2016 at 1:01 pm

From donkey years till today, there are thousands of motorbikes in KL and so much problem with motorbikes. Motorbikes hounded road users for so many freaking years. So, please look into Motorbike first.

NOT bicycle lane lah.

These MP and the govt goons always look at the wrong thing, all the time. Really stupid of them….Pretty much makan gaji buta…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • john is otak batu on May 30, 2016 at 1:10 pm

not just KL, but the whole M’sia need more cycle path!

• people who can afford a car not really into cycling to work.. enjoy the aircond while crawling as usual in the traffic.

• rider on May 30, 2016 at 3:55 pm

need more bike lanes, so bikers can travel safely separate from bodoh car drivers who using handphone while driving, never give signal, change lanes without check side mirrors. Who ever never did the mentioned things while driving are good drivers.

• Clear car lanes for rempit first according to source.

• Ben Yap on May 30, 2016 at 5:18 pm

yes! i agree to have more bicycle lanes…. i need to ride my Cervelo as often as I can.

• GTi-R on May 30, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Cycling to from work or even to train stations in a hot n humid climate? Sangat great lah idea ni.

• Andrekua on May 30, 2016 at 10:13 pm

If they were to built one, it will come with a toll booth.

• Waste of Money, Bicycles doesn’t work here, just accept it, stop copying westerners, it doesn’t make sense here

• Give the projects to cronies……

• the driver on May 31, 2016 at 9:14 am

Agreed 100%, given the other alternatives of more cars or more public transport – it is the cheapest solution and the benefits are many fold. A bit like fitting low wattage light bulbs, you not only save in electricity but the room becomes cooler, etc. As for the inconvenience of high humidity ie sweating, companies can retrofit shower rooms. Heck, in KL after going through traffic, you need a bath too; sweating in your car even with the aircon on.

• Syoik Tiru Tiru Malaysia on May 31, 2016 at 10:31 am

probably some VVIP and their cronies went holiday, shopping and lastly study-trip at some European countries……and suddenly inspired to provide KL bicycle lane…

This, as usual is shiok-sendiri syndrome….then hot-hot chiken-shit project and lastly million dollar-half-baked, half completed white elephant project thta dotted KL too many times.